A new treatment to combat hepatitis C infection, which has been effective in up to 80% of patients afflicted by this disease, has just been approved by the Spanish Agency for Medicines and Health Products for use in our country.

Currently, people suffering from chronic hepatitis C - in Spain it is estimated that there are around 700,000 patients - follow a treatment that combines two medicines: ribavirin and alpha pegylated interferon, but it is only effective in half of the patients and, even in these cases, many suffer a relapse later.

The new drug is administered along with conventional therapy and, in the tests performed, has cured 79% of patients who had not received prior treatment, and 84% of those who had suffered a relapse

The telaprevir, the new drug, is administered orally along with conventional therapy and, in the tests performed, it has cured 79% of patients who had not received prior treatment, and 84% of those who had suffered a relapse in the illness.

According to Dr. Rafael Esteban Mur, Head of the Hepatology Service of the Hospital Vall d'Hebrón, in Barcelona, ​​this drug is able to eliminate the virus, which will be a great benefit for patients, since chronic hepatitis C can degenerate into cirrhosis and Liver cancer, both very serious pathologies.

Among the advantages of the new therapy, in addition to its great effectiveness, specialists have stressed that it acts very quickly, so the treatment could last only six months, approximately half of what lasts that has been applied so far .

Update on Hepatitis B and C (November 2019).

Un nouveau traitement contre l’infection à l’hépatite C, efficace chez 80% des patients atteints de cette maladie, vient d’être approuvé par notre agence espagnole des médicaments et des produits de santé.

Actuellement, les personnes souffrant d'hépatite C chronique - en Espagne, on estime à environ 700 000 le nombre de patients - suivent un traitement combinant deux des médicaments: ribavirine et interféron alpha pégylé, mais il n’est efficace que chez la moitié des patients et, même dans ces cas, nombre d'entre eux présentent une rechute plus tard.

Le nouveau médicament est administré avec un traitement conventionnel et, selon les tests effectués, il a guéri 79% des patients qui n’avaient jamais reçu de traitement et 84% de ceux qui avaient subi une rechute.

Le télaprévir, le nouveau médicament, est administré par voie orale en association avec un traitement conventionnel et, dans les tests effectués, il a guéri 79% des patients qui n’avaient pas reçu de traitement antérieur et 84% de ceux qui avaient subi une rechute. la maladie.

Selon le Dr Rafael Esteban Mur, chef du service d'hépatologie de l'hôpital Vall d'Hebrón, à Barcelone, ce médicament est capable d'éliminer le virus, ce qui sera un grand avantage pour les patients, car l'hépatite C chronique peut dégénérer en la cirrhose et cancer du foie, deux pathologies très graves.

Parmi les avantages de la nouvelle thérapie, outre sa grande efficacité, les spécialistes ont insisté sur le fait qu’elle agit très rapidement, de sorte que le traitement ne dure que six mois, soit environ la moitié de la durée qui a été appliquée jusqu’à présent. .

De nouveaux espoirs pour le traitement du Sida (Septembre 2019).