After the severe cases of cholera in Haiti that have been occurring since the 2010 earthquake until the last weeks in the devastated Central American country, it seems that this disease has no barriers. In recent days, there have been up to 37 cases of cholera in Venezuela and 35 in Côte d'Ivoire.

The cholera situation in Venezuela

Regarding the South American country, the Minister of Health, Eugenia Sader has declared that the focus of the infection could be a macro party that took place in Santo Domingo where more than 450 Venezuelans attended. In this way, it is also explained that there have been cases of affected Venezuelans in the US, Mexico, the Dominican Republic and Madrid, where two affected have been counted.

Although the detected patients seem to be under control and already in treatment, the authorities have deployed a preventive and informative sanitary device in the country's ports and airports.

Seven dead in Ivory Coast

On the other hand, UNICEF has sounded the alarm after verifying that there has been an outbreak of cholera in Abidjan, one of the main cities of the Ivory Coast. Despite the fact that tablets have already been distributed for their treatment and informative posters to promote hygiene measures in schools, the cases have already risen to 35, and seven deaths have been recorded as a result of the infection.

The authorities have asked to act as quickly and effectively as possible, since cholera is a preventable disease if they take appropriate measures. On the other hand, as we can read in Europa Press, UNICEF remembers that cholera causes cases of acute diarrhea and can cause death in a matter of hours. However, more than 80 percent of patients can be treated successfully thanks to the administration of rehydration salts that cost less than ten cents per treatment.

European colonialism | Wikipedia audio article (November 2019).

Après les graves cas de choléra en Haïti qui se sont produits depuis le séisme de 2010 jusqu'aux dernières semaines dans ce pays d'Amérique centrale dévasté, il semble que cette maladie ne soit pas un obstacle. Ces derniers jours, il y a eu jusqu'à 37 cas de choléra au Venezuela et 35 en Côte d'Ivoire.

La situation du choléra au Venezuela

En ce qui concerne le pays d'Amérique du Sud, la ministre de la Santé, Eugenia Sader, a déclaré que l'infection serait au centre d'une fête organisée à Saint-Domingue où plus de 450 Vénézuéliens ont assisté. De cette manière, il est également expliqué qu'il y a eu des cas de Vénézuéliens affectés aux États-Unis, au Mexique, en République dominicaine et à Madrid, où deux personnes affectées ont été comptées.

Bien que les patients détectés semblent être sous contrôle et déjà en traitement, les autorités ont déployé un dispositif sanitaire préventif et informatif dans les ports et les aéroports du pays.

Sept morts en Côte d'Ivoire

D'autre part, l'UNICEF a tiré la sonnette d'alarme après avoir vérifié qu'il y avait eu une épidémie de choléra à Abidjan, l'une des principales villes de la Côte d'Ivoire. Bien que des comprimés aient déjà été distribués pour leur traitement et des affiches informatives pour promouvoir les mesures d'hygiène dans les écoles, le nombre de cas est déjà passé à 35 et que sept décès ont été enregistrés à la suite de l'infection.

Les autorités ont demandé à agir aussi rapidement et efficacement que possible, le choléra étant une maladie évitable si elles prenaient les mesures appropriées. En revanche, comme on peut le lire dans Europa Press, l’UNICEF se souvient que le choléra est la cause de diarrhées aiguës et peut entraîner la mort en quelques heures. Cependant, plus de 80% des patients peuvent être traités avec succès grâce à l’administration de sels de réhydratation d’un coût inférieur à 10 centimes par traitement.

???????? Mozambique: Cholera cases reach 271 in cyclone-hit Beira | Al Jazeera English (Août 2019).