The assistance in childbirth and the follow-up of the entire gestation by a midwife reduces the risk of complications in pregnancy and decreases the percentage of premature births and the need to administer epidural anesthesia, perform an episiotomy, or use instruments such as forceps during delivery.

These are the main conclusions drawn from a review of 13 studies -with data from more than 16,000 women- conducted in the United Kingdom by researchers from King's College London, and that has been published in The Cochrane Library.

Five of the studies reviewed included pregnancies with a high risk of complications, while the other eight involved low-risk pregnancies. According to the results of the research, it is more beneficial for both the mother and her baby to be the midwife who follows the pregnancy, than the gynecologist or the family doctor.

Women attended by midwives during their pregnancy had a 23% lower chance of premature birth

In addition, women attended by midwives had a 19% lower chance of losing the baby before 24 weeks of pregnancy, and 23% less of having a preterm delivery.

The authors of the study have explained that the studies included only births in hospitals and professional midwives, and although they have recommended that all pregnant women be allowed access to the services of a midwife, they believe that special care should be taken in the case of women presenting gynecological complications.

Reducing fear of birth in U.S. culture: Ina May Gaskin at TEDxSacramento (November 2019).

L’assistance à l’accouchement et le suivi de toute la gestation par une sage-femme réduit le risque de complications pendant la grossesse et diminue le pourcentage d'accouchements prématurés et la nécessité d'administrer une anesthésie épidurale, d'effectuer une épisiotomie ou d'utiliser des instruments tels que des forceps lors de l'accouchement.

Telles sont les principales conclusions tirées d'une revue de 13 études - avec les données de plus de 16 000 femmes - conduites au Royaume-Uni par des chercheurs du King's College de Londres, et publiées dans la Cochrane Library.

Cinq des études examinées incluaient des grossesses présentant un risque élevé de complications, tandis que les huit autres concernaient des grossesses à faible risque. Selon les résultats de la recherche, il est plus bénéfique pour la mère et son bébé d'être la sage-femme qui suit la grossesse que le gynécologue ou le médecin de famille.

Le risque d'accouchement prématuré était 23% plus faible chez les femmes que les sages-femmes pendant leur grossesse

En outre, le risque de perdre son bébé avant 24 semaines de grossesse était 19% moins élevé chez les femmes que chez les sages-femmes et 23% moins avant l'accouchement prématuré.

Les auteurs de l’étude ont expliqué que les études ne portaient que sur les accouchements dans les hôpitaux et les sages-femmes professionnelles, et bien qu’ils aient recommandé que toutes les femmes enceintes aient accès aux services d’une sage-femme, ils estiment qu’il faudrait prendre des cas de femmes présentant des complications gynécologiques.

Accouchement par voie basse VS Accouchement par Césarienne : Que choisir ? (Août 2019).