Doubt has always been there. Now it seems that the World Health Organization (WHO) goes a step further and just announced that using mobile phones can increase the risk of suffering certain types of brain cancer in humans. The organization also recommends users to think about how to reduce their exposure to these devices.

The review of all available scientific evidence, carried out by 31 scientists from 14 countries, suggests that electromagnetic radiofrequency fields that occur in the use of mobile phones could be classified as "possibly carcinogenic" to humans. According to the head of the IARC group, Jonathan Samet, some evidence suggests a link between an increased risk of glioma, a type of brain cancer, and the use of mobile phones.

This could lead to the United Nations health authorities reviewing their recommendations on mobile phones, according to experts at the International Agency for Research on Cancer (IARC). However, they recognize that more research will be necessary before confirming the link.

For their part, telephone operators defend themselves by saying that there are no clear scientific conclusions that could lead to alarm.

Reasonable doubts

The controversy that the WHO has just reopened is not new, since it has been going on for years and there still seems to be no definitive studies that corroborate it to 100%. Regarding the statement of the WHO, the president of the Spanish Society of Medical Oncology (SEOM), Emilio Alba, said that "does not bring anything new or relevant," as he believes that there is still "not enough studies" to certify that using a mobile phone could increase the risk of developing certain types of brain tumors.

In addition, Alba believes that even if it were true "there is no quantitative assessment of whether this is bad, how many hours are negative or how much time passes until it occurs." On the classification, which puts the use of mobile phones at the same level of cancer risk category of the IARC as lead, chloroform, saccharin and coffee, has explained that it does not imply a precautionary attitude greater than the that is followed with these products and "common sense indicates".

Source: Reuters / EP

Why Can't You Use Phones On Planes? (November 2019).

Le doute a toujours été là. Il semble maintenant que l'Organisation mondiale de la santé (OMS) aille plus loin et vient d'annoncer que l'utilisation du téléphone portable peut augmenter le risque de souffrir de certains types de cancer du cerveau chez l'homme. L'organisation recommande également aux utilisateurs de réfléchir à la manière de réduire leur exposition à ces appareils.

L'examen de toutes les preuves scientifiques disponibles, effectué par 31 scientifiques de 14 pays, suggère que les champs de radiofréquences électromagnétiques apparaissant lors de l'utilisation de téléphones mobiles pourraient être classés comme "potentiellement cancérogènes" pour l'homme. Selon le chef du groupe IARC, Jonathan Samet, certaines preuves suggèrent un lien entre un risque accru de gliome, un type de cancer du cerveau, et l'utilisation de téléphones portables.

Selon les experts du Centre international de recherche sur le cancer (CIRC), les autorités sanitaires des Nations Unies pourraient revoir leurs recommandations sur les téléphones portables. Cependant, ils reconnaissent que davantage de recherches seront nécessaires avant de confirmer le lien.

Pour leur part, les opérateurs téléphoniques se défendent en affirmant qu’il n’existe aucune conclusion scientifique claire susceptible de déclencher une alarme.

Doutes raisonnables

La controverse que l’OMS vient de rouvrir n’est pas nouvelle, car elle dure depuis des années et il ne semble toujours pas y avoir d’études définitives la corroborant à 100%. À propos de la déclaration de l'OMS, Emilio Alba, président de la Société espagnole d'oncologie médicale (SEOM), a déclaré que "n'apporte rien de nouveau ni de pertinent", estimant qu'il n'y a toujours "pas assez d'études" pour certifier l'utilisation d'un téléphone mobile pourrait augmenter le risque de développer certains types de tumeurs cérébrales.

En outre, Alba estime que même si c'était vrai "il n'y a pas d'évaluation quantitative de savoir si c'est mauvais, combien d'heures sont négatives ou combien de temps s'est écoulé jusqu'à ce qu'il se produise". La classification, qui place l’utilisation des téléphones portables au même niveau de risque de cancer du CIRC que le plomb, le chloroforme, la saccharine et le café, a expliqué qu’elle n’impliquait pas une attitude de précaution supérieure à la cela est suivi avec ces produits et "le bon sens indique".

Source: Reuters / EP

1947 ou la nouvelle réalité du monde moderne (Août 2019).