Themicroaxial phacoemulsification is a type of surgery that uses microincision techniques with a high level of precision, which is used to operate cataracts, and has just been incorporated into the Ophthalmology Unit of the Virgen del Rocío Hospital in Seville.

This microsurgery allows, by means of an incision of only 2.2 millimeters, to undo and aspirate the lens -what is known as phacoemulsification-, to then introduce the intraocular lens that returns the view to the patient undergoing surgery.

It is a new technique that minimizes the complications that may arise after surgery, and which may benefit around 3,500 patients each year, according to estimates in the hospital itself.

Dr. Juan Ramón Del Trigo, ophthalmologist at the hospital center explained that microincision has the property of decreasing the inflammatory process that occurs naturally in any surgical intervention, and that as the aggression suffered by the eye is less, the patient recovers before the sight. In addition, adds this specialist, it is also possible to reduce the risk of developing an infection as a result of surgery, as is the case of endophthalmitis.

According to Dr. Del Trigo, thanks to the new technique, astigmatism is less likely to be induced because the damage to the patient's cornea is less and its focused function is less affected.

The ophthalmological surgery has advanced a lot and in the last two decades the incision that was practiced to operate the cataracts has decreased no less than five millimeters -from seven to two millimeters-, which has allowed to incorporate the technique of microaxial phacoemulsification.

EUROPE PRESS
Photo: EP / JUNTADEANDALUCIA

Regional Anthem of Andalusia (Spain): "Himno de Andalucía" (First Version 1977) (November 2019).

Lephacoémulsification microaxiale C’est un type de chirurgie qui utilise des techniques de microincision avec un haut niveau de précision, qui est utilisée pour opérer une cataracte, et vient d’être intégrée à l’unité d’ophtalmologie de l’hôpital Virgen del Rocío de Séville.

Cette microchirurgie permet, par le biais d’une incision de 2,2 millimètres seulement, de défaire et d’aspirer le cristallin (ce qu’on appelle la phacoémulsification), puis d’introduire le cristallin intraoculaire qui rend la vue au patient opéré.

Il s'agit d'une nouvelle technique qui minimise les complications pouvant survenir après une intervention chirurgicale et qui pourrait bénéficier à environ 3 500 patients chaque année, selon les estimations de l'hôpital même.

Le Dr Juan Ramón Del Trigo, ophtalmologiste du centre hospitalier, a expliqué que la microincision avait la propriété de réduire le processus inflammatoire se produisant naturellement lors de toute intervention chirurgicale, et que l'agression subie par l'œil étant moins intense, le patient recouvrait avant la vue. En outre, ajoute ce spécialiste, il est également possible de réduire le risque de développer une infection à la suite d'une intervention chirurgicale, comme c'est le cas de l'endophtalmie.

Selon le Dr Del Trigo, grâce à la nouvelle technique, l'astigmatisme est moins susceptible d'être induit, car les dommages causés à la cornée du patient sont moins importants et sa fonction focalisée moins affectée.

La chirurgie ophtalmologique a beaucoup progressé et, au cours des deux dernières décennies, l’incision pratiquée pour opérer la cataracte a diminué d’au moins cinq millimètres - de sept à deux millimètres -, ce qui a permis d’intégrer la technique de phacoémulsification microaxiale.

EUROPE PRESSE
Photo: EP / JUNTADEANDALUCIA

HDL Hospital Virgen del Rocio - Salud (Août 2019).