In a study conducted by members of the School of Public Health at Harvard University (Boston, USA), and published in the journal British Medical Journal, the costs and benefits of vaccinating only girls against the papillomavirus, or extending the administration of the vaccine to all preadolescents are compared.

Since the approval of the first vaccine against Human Papilloma Virus (HPV) in 2006, it has been included in the vaccination calendar of the different Autonomous Communities, because this virus causes the majority of cases of cervical cancer in many countries. , including Spain.

Knowing that this infection, also responsible for genital warts, is transmitted sexually, the researchers wanted to know if it would reduce the risk of infection by also vaccinating men.

As a result, it was found that the benefits in quality and price do not increase or improve when vaccinating men as well. Therefore, according to the study, it is not worthwhile to immunize men as well.

What is relevant is that preadolescent girls around the world are vaccinated, since more than 80% of cervical cancers occur in developing countries, where the population at risk has very limited access to the vaccine.

Why experts recommend vaccination

The Spanish Association of Pediatrics introduces the HPV vaccine in the vaccination calendar of 2008, and recommends vaccinating all girls from 11 years of age and at least until 16, at first. The reasons that the experts adduce to vaccinate the minors are the following:

  • Using condoms does not completely prevent infection.
  • It is more likely to get the infection if sexual intercourse starts early.
  • Teenagers are more susceptible to infection, and to that it becomes chronic, than adult women.
  • The vaccine is more effective in children under 15 years of age than in adults.
  • There is better compliance with the vaccination calendar in children, than in adolescents and adults.

HPV Vaccine For Girls (November 2019).

Dans une étude menée par des membres de la School of Public Health de l’Université Harvard (Boston, États-Unis) et publiée dans le journal British Medical Journal, on compare les coûts et les avantages de la vaccination du virus du papillome seulement chez les filles et de l’extension de l’administration du vaccin à tous les préadolescents.

Depuis l'approbation du premier vaccin contre le virus du papillome humain (VPH) en 2006, il est inclus dans le calendrier de vaccination des différentes communautés autonomes, car ce virus est à l'origine de la majorité des cas de cancer du col utérin dans de nombreux pays. , y compris l'Espagne.

Sachant que cette infection, également responsable des verrues génitales, est transmise sexuellement, les chercheurs ont voulu savoir si elle réduirait le risque d'infection en vaccinant également les hommes.

En conséquence, il a été constaté que les avantages en termes de qualité et de prix n’augmentaient pas ni ne s’amélioraient également lors de la vaccination des hommes. Par conséquent, selon l'étude, il ne vaut pas la peine de vacciner les hommes également.

L’important, c’est que les préadolescentes du monde entier sont vaccinées, car plus de 80% des cancers du col utérin surviennent dans des pays en développement, où la population à risque n’a qu’un accès très limité. au vaccin.

Pourquoi les experts recommandent la vaccination

L'Association espagnole de pédiatrie introduit le vaccin contre le VPH dans le calendrier de vaccination de 2008 et recommande de vacciner toutes les filles âgées de 11 ans et au moins jusqu'à l'âge de 16 ans. Les raisons avancées par les experts pour vacciner les mineurs sont les suivantes:

  • L'utilisation de préservatifs ne prévient pas complètement l'infection.
  • L'infection est plus probable si les rapports sexuels commencent tôt.
  • Les adolescentes sont plus sujettes aux infections et à ce qu'elles deviennent chroniques que les femmes adultes.
  • Le vaccin est plus efficace chez les enfants de moins de 15 ans que chez les adultes.
  • Le calendrier de vaccination est mieux respecté chez les enfants que chez les adolescents et les adultes.

Enquête vaccination N°5-Vaccins grippe & pneumocoque entre épidémie et stratégie de communication (Août 2019).