The use of genomic chips at birth will become a common method to predict diseases in about ten years, according to the experts gathered last weekend at the Cicerone conference, organized by the Spanish Society of Cardiology (SEC) and the National Center for Cardiovascular Research (CNIC) at the Casa del Corazón (Madrid).

In this meeting, specialists have focused on the great revolution that new technologies in genetics are assuming for cardiology and medicine in general, getting, step by step, transform it into predictive, preventive, personalized and participatory, instead of reactive, "as it has been until now in most cases", explain .

The genomics, which studies the mutations of our genes, is the most advanced technology. At this time, thanks to it, it is already possible to detect millions of genetic variations in each individual and analyze their association with the risk of cardiovascular diseases or any other type of common disease.

Using genomic chips, the ability to predict risk is very high (70%) for diseases caused by the mutation of a single gene, such as, for example, hypercholesterolemia. For the other common forms of cardiovascular disease: obesity, diabetes, etc., current knowledge only predicts 10% of genetic risk.

"This is due to the fact that we are still using genetic screening for the identification of relevant mutations that are not very dense (between one and two million mutations)," explains the researcher from the National Center for Cardiovascular Research (CNIC) and director of the Nutrition and Nutrition Laboratory. Genetics from Tufts University (United States), José María Ordovás.

These chips will allow sequencing the genome of any individual and detect all the mutations present, predicting in a fairly accurate way their genetic risk of cardiovascular diseases (or other genetic contribution)

In about ten years, these chips will allow sequencing the genome of any individual and detect all the mutations present, predicting in a fairly accurate way their genetic risk of cardiovascular diseases (or other genetic contribution).

At this time it is estimated that the genomic study will be routine at birth, forming part of the patient's medical record, in order to have this information when making many therapeutic decisions in the future, as the sequence of our genome does not It varies with age. "However, for this to take place, it is necessary to level not only technical and cost aspects, but also the ethical aspects of access to that personal information," says Ordovás.

The genomic chips are used experimentally as a research method, although in some less common pathologies they also have clinical application. Currently, this service can only be obtained in specialized centers in our country, since its use is still not extended to general hospitals.

How the risk of disease is detected

The operation of this technique is very simple, since the individual only has to provide a little saliva in a cotton, impregnating it with cells inside the mouth. From this sample, the DNA that is subsequently introduced into the chip containing tens, hundreds, thousands or millions of probes is extracted (depending on the model) and, from here, the risk of suffering from a disease is analyzed.

"These genetic analyzes should be limited to those with a family history or with a high risk detected by more classical methods," says Ordovás.

Even so, the expert considers important to consider that genetics does not work in isolation in terms of providing risk or protection over a disease, but interacting with environmental factors such as diet, physical activity or stress.

"Genomics and other omics will be used to select those most likely to suffer from the disease and to perform a more intense and personalized prevention on them, and in the case of other less common heart diseases, it will be possible to detect them before their clinical manifestation. act accordingly with prevention, with drugs or with surgical interventions ", says Ordovás.

According to the expert, "all these advances will change the way in which new generations of researchers will carry out their work". For this to happen in a solid and orderly manner, "it is essential that the programs of the faculties include training in these new technologies and their applications, especially strengthening the area of ​​preventive medicine," he concludes.

Source: EUROPE PRESS

Genetically Altered Humans Were Born in China, Now What?! (feat. Hank Green) (November 2019).

L’utilisation de puces génomiques à la naissance deviendra un moyen courant de prédire les maladies dans une dizaine d’années, selon les experts réunis le week-end dernier à la conférence Cicerone, organisée par le Société espagnole de cardiologie (SEC) et le Centre national de recherche cardiovasculaire (CNIC) à la Casa del Corazón (Madrid).

Au cours de cette réunion, les spécialistes se sont concentrés sur la grande révolution que nouvelles technologies En génétique, on suppose que la cardiologie et la médecine en général la transforment, étape par étape, en prédictive, préventive, personnalisée et participative, au lieu de réactive, "comme cela a été jusqu'à présent dans la plupart des cas", explique .

Le génomique, qui étudie les mutations de nos gènes, est la technologie la plus avancée. À ce stade, grâce à elle, il est déjà possible de détecter des millions de variations génétiques chez chaque individu et d’analyser leur association avec le risque de maladies cardiovasculaires ou de tout autre type de maladie commune.

En utilisant des puces génomiques, la capacité de prédire le risque est très élevée (70%) pour les maladies causées par la mutation d'un seul gène, comme par exemple l'hypercholestérolémie. Pour les autres formes courantes de maladies cardiovasculaires: obésité, diabète, etc., les connaissances actuelles ne prédisent que 10% du risque génétique.

"Cela est dû au fait que nous utilisons encore le dépistage génétique pour identifier les mutations pertinentes peu denses (entre un et deux millions de mutations)", explique la chercheuse du Centre national de recherche cardiovasculaire (CNIC) et directrice du Laboratoire de nutrition et nutrition. Génétique de l'Université Tufts (États-Unis), José María Ordovás.

Ces puces permettront de séquencer le génome de tout individu et de détecter toutes les mutations présentes, en prédisant de manière assez précise leur risque génétique de maladies cardiovasculaires (ou autre contribution génétique).

Dans environ dix ans, ces puces permettront de séquencer le génome de tout individu et de détecter toutes les mutations présentes, en prédisant de manière assez précise leur risque génétique de maladies cardiovasculaires (ou autre contribution génétique).

À l'heure actuelle, on estime que l'étude génomique sera systématique à la naissance et fera partie du dossier médical du patient afin de disposer de ces informations lors de nombreuses décisions thérapeutiques à l'avenir, car la séquence de notre génome ne le permet pas. Cela varie avec l'âge. "Cependant, pour que cela se produise, il est nécessaire d’aligner non seulement les aspects techniques et financiers, mais également les aspects éthiques de l’accès à ces informations personnelles", a ajouté M. Ordovás.

Les puces génomiques sont utilisées à titre expérimental comme méthode de recherche, bien qu’elles aient également une application clinique dans certaines pathologies moins courantes. Actuellement, ce service ne peut être obtenu que dans des centres spécialisés de notre pays, son utilisation n’étant toujours pas étendue aux hôpitaux généraux.

Comment le risque de maladie est détecté

Le fonctionnement de cette technique est très simple, car il suffit à l’individu de fournir un peu de salive dans un coton, en l’imprégnant de cellules à l’intérieur de la bouche. (A partir de cet échantillon, l'ADN introduit dans la puce contenant des dizaines, des centaines, des milliers ou des millions de sondes est extrait (selon le modèle) et, à partir de là, le risque de souffrir d'une maladie est analysé.

"Ces analyses génétiques devraient être limitées aux personnes ayant des antécédents familiaux ou un risque élevé détecté par des méthodes plus classiques", déclare Ordovás.

Malgré tout, l'expert estime qu'il est important de considérer que la génétique ne fonctionne pas de manière isolée en termes de risque ou de protection contre une maladie, mais en interaction avec des facteurs environnementaux tels que le régime alimentaire, l'activité physique ou le stress.

"La génomique et d'autres sciences omiques seront utilisées pour sélectionner les personnes les plus susceptibles de souffrir de la maladie et pour effectuer une prévention plus intense et personnalisée, et dans le cas d'autres maladies cardiaques moins courantes, il sera possible de les détecter avant leur manifestation clinique. agissez en conséquence avec la prévention, avec des médicaments ou avec des interventions chirurgicales ", dit Ordovás.

Selon l'expert, "toutes ces avancées vont changer la manière dont les nouvelles générations de chercheurs effectueront leurs travaux". Pour que cela se fasse de manière solide et ordonnée, "il est essentiel que les programmes des facultés incluent une formation à ces nouvelles technologies et à leurs applications, renforçant tout particulièrement le domaine de la médecine préventive", conclut-il.

Source: EUROPE PRESSE

Juan Enriquez: The life-code that will reshape the future (Août 2019).