Four out of ten Spaniards have difficulty falling asleep, and more than 50% of those who suffer from insomnia say that the unemployment and economic difficulties are the primary reasons that take away the dream, according to the data obtained with a survey carried out by the Research Center on Phytotherapy (INFITO), which has collected the testimony of more than two thousand people.

Seven out of ten participants, in addition, consider that medicinal plants are a help at the time of falling asleep, and almost 75% of the respondents opt for pharmaceutical products of plant origin against synthetic.

Other methods that Spanish people use to relax and sleep better are: watching television (60%), listening to music (20%), reading a book (8%), and having sex or taking a sleeping pill (5%).

The people most affected by insomnia are women, especially housewives, and the unemployed, although the reasons for losing sleep are different according to the population group

Women are the most affected by insomnia, especially housewives and the unemployed. Unemployment is what most worries those who have been left without work, but also for people who are in the range of between 30 and 39 years (41%) or between 40 and 49 years (37%), and for the self-employed (37%). The latter are also among those most affected by another sleeplessness, the lack of economic resources (35%), followed by those between 30 and 39 years old (33%) and by women (25%).

Health is another issue that takes away sleep, especially elderly people and retirees (40%), as well as women (37%).

In the case of young people between 18 and 29 years old, almost half confess to going to bed later than the account to stay to watch TV (21%) or use the computer (17%), which alters their circadian rhythms and harms the quality of sleep.

What the experts say

The specialists insist that in order to recover a regular and pleasant sleep, the first thing to do is establish appropriate habits. Practicing physical exercise (although never before going to bed) is essential, as well as having a fixed time to go to bed and also to get up and, of course, avoid stimulants such as caffeine, alcohol or nicotine. Dr. Rosa Peraita, head of the Sleep Unit of the Gregorio Marañón General University Hospital in Madrid, recommends to follow a cognitive-behavioral therapy if necessary, or to consume medicinal plants available in pharmacies. Sometimes it is necessary to prescribe a treatment with hypnotics, but the expert warns that they can cause withdrawal symptoms when their administration is suppressed, so it advises to opt for natural products whenever possible.

Concha Navarro, Professor of Pharmacology at the University of Granada and president of INFITO, states that preparations of medicinal plants sold in pharmacies, which are especially recommended to treat cases of transient insomnia, are safe and can be used for a long time. time without presenting adverse effects. Among these products stand out the well-known valerian, which decreases anxiety and facilitates the conciliation of sleep, California Poppy, which has similar effects, and the passionflower, which intervenes on the phases of deep sleep, prolonging them, and thus preventing the patient from waking up during the night.

Source: INFITO

Cutting Back: Spain Hits Hard Times (November 2019).

Quatre Espagnols sur dix ont du mal à s’endormir et plus de 50% de ceux qui souffrent d’insomnie disent que le le chômage et les difficultés économiques sont les principales raisons qui enlever le rêve, selon les données obtenues lors d'une enquête réalisée par le Centre de recherche sur la phytothérapie (INFITO), qui a recueilli les témoignages de plus de deux mille personnes.

De plus, sept participants sur dix considèrent que les plantes médicinales sont une aide au moment de s'endormir et près de 75% des répondants optent pour des produits pharmaceutiques d'origine végétale contre des produits de synthèse.

Les autres méthodes utilisées par les Espagnols pour se détendre et mieux dormir sont les suivantes: regarder la télévision (60%), écouter de la musique (20%), lire un livre (8%), avoir des relations sexuelles ou prendre un somnifère (5%).

Les personnes les plus touchées par l'insomnie sont les femmes, en particulier les femmes au foyer, et les chômeurs, bien que les causes de la perte de sommeil soient différentes selon le groupe de population.

Les femmes sont les plus touchées par l'insomnie, en particulier les femmes au foyer et les chômeurs. Le chômage est ce qui inquiète le plus ceux qui se sont retrouvés sans travail, mais aussi les personnes âgées de 30 à 39 ans (41%) ou de 40 à 49 ans (37%), et pour les indépendants (37%). Ces derniers font également partie des personnes les plus touchées par une autre insomnie, le manque de ressources économiques (35%), suivies par celles âgées de 30 à 39 ans (33%) et par les femmes (25%).

La santé est un autre problème qui empêche le sommeil, en particulier les personnes âgées et les retraités (40%), ainsi que les femmes (37%).

Près de la moitié des jeunes de 18 à 29 ans avouent s'être couchés plus tard que le compte client pour regarder la télévision (21%) ou utiliser l'ordinateur (17%), ce qui modifie leurs rythmes circadiens et leur nuit. la qualité du sommeil.

Ce que disent les experts

Les spécialistes insistent sur le fait que pour retrouver un sommeil régulier et agréable, la première chose à faire est d’établir des habitudes appropriées. Il est essentiel de faire de l'exercice physique (bien que jamais avant d'aller au lit), ainsi que de disposer d'une heure fixe pour se coucher et aussi pour se lever et, bien sûr, éviter les stimulants tels que la caféine, l'alcool ou la nicotine. La D re Rosa Peraita, chef de l'unité de sommeil de l'hôpital universitaire général Gregorio Marañón de Madrid, recommande de suivre une thérapie cognitivo-comportementale si nécessaire ou de consommer des plantes médicinales disponibles en pharmacie. Parfois, il est nécessaire de prescrire un traitement avec des hypnotiques, mais l’expert avertit qu’ils peuvent provoquer des symptômes de sevrage lorsque leur administration est inhibée. Il est donc conseillé d’opter autant que possible pour les produits naturels.

Concha Navarro, professeur de pharmacologie à l'Université de Grenade et présidente d'INFITO, indique que les préparations de plantes médicinales vendues en pharmacie, particulièrement recommandées pour traiter les cas d'insomnie transitoire, sont sans danger et peuvent être utilisées pendant une longue période. temps sans présenter d'effets indésirables. Parmi ces produits se distingue la valériane bien connue, qui diminue l’anxiété et facilite la conciliation du sommeil, Pavot de Californie, qui a des effets similaires, et la passiflore, qui intervient sur les phases de sommeil profond, les prolonge, empêchant ainsi le patient de se réveiller pendant la nuit.

Source: INFITO

Cameroun : les Anglophones de Bamenda en colère (Août 2019).