The United Nations (UN) for Food and Agriculture (FAO) has advised increasing surveillance and control mechanisms to cope with a possible outbreak of a variant of the epidemic. 'H5N1' virus of the bird flu "highly pathogenic", after verifying that the virus is spreading through various Asian countries and that, for the moment, it has "an unpredictable risk to human health".

Specifically, the veterinary services of Vietnam are already on alert and would be considering carrying out a new vaccination campaign directed this autumn, since the circulation of the virus in Vietnam poses a direct threat to Cambodia, Thailand Y Malaysia, while also endangering the peninsula of Korea already Japan.

"The general trend since the progressive decline of the virus observed in 2004-2008 could mean a resurgence of H5N1 this fall or winter, with people unexpectedly finding the virus in their own home," the Chief Veterinary Officer has warned. FAO, Juan Lubroth.

"The countries in which the 'H5N1' is firmly established - Bangladesh, China, Egypt, India, Indonesia and Vietnam - will probably face more problems, but there is no country that can be considered safe"

"The countries in which the 'H5N1' is firmly established - Bangladesh, China, Egypt, India, Indonesia and Vietnam - will probably face more problems, but there is no country that can be considered safe," he added. time that has explained that "it is not time to ignore the danger" and that "nobody can lower the guard before the H5N1".

FAO is reminded that, according to data published by the World Health Organization (WHO), the H5N1 virus has infected 565 people since it first appeared in 2003, killing 311 of them. The last death occurred at the beginning of the month in Cambodia, where eight cases of infection in humans have been recorded this year, all of which are fatal.

Since 2003, H5N1 has also caused the death - or forced to sacrifice - to more than 400 million poultry, causing losses amounting to more than 13,000 million euros (20,000 million dollars) around the world until it could be eliminated in most of the 63 affected countries at the peak of the epidemic, in 2006.

A virus resistant to vaccines

The virus has become endemic in six countries, although the number of outbreaks in domestic poultry and in the wild bird population decreased markedly from an annual maximum of 4,000 to only 302 in mid-2008. But outbreaks have increased progressively since then, with about 800 cases registered in 2010-2011.

The renewed geographical expansion of the 'H5N1' virus in 2008, both in poultry and among wild birds, according to Lubroth, could be related to the movements of migratory birds, which contribute to the virus being able to travel long distances, so that, in the last 24 months, the 'H5N1' has appeared in poultry or wild in countries that had remained free of the virus for years. However, the expert says that "wild birds can introduce the virus, but the performance of people in poultry production and marketing make it spread."

Among the countries where the affected areas were recently detected are Israel, Palestine, Bulgaria, Romania, Nepal and Mongolia, although the new variant has only been detected in China and Vietnam, where it has been found that "it is able to dodge defenses that provide the existing vaccines. "

UN warns of mutated bird flu (November 2019).

Les Nations Unies pour l'alimentation et l'agriculture (FAO) ont recommandé de renforcer les mécanismes de surveillance et de contrôle afin de faire face à une éventuelle épidémie d'une variante de l'épidémie. Virus 'H5N1' de la grippe aviaire "hautement pathogène", après avoir vérifié que le virus se propageait dans divers pays asiatiques et qu'il présentait pour le moment "un risque imprévisible pour la santé humaine".

Plus précisément, les services vétérinaires de Vietnam sont déjà en alerte et envisageraient de réaliser une nouvelle campagne de vaccination dirigé cet automne, car la circulation du virus au Vietnam constitue une menace directe pour Cambodge, Thaïlande et Malaisie, tout en mettant en danger la péninsule de Corée et un Le japon.

"La tendance générale observée depuis le déclin progressif du virus observé entre 2004 et 2008 pourrait signifier une résurgence du virus H5N1 cet automne ou cet hiver, alors que des personnes découvriraient le virus de façon inattendue chez elles", a averti le vétérinaire en chef. FAO, Juan Lubroth.

"Les pays dans lesquels le 'H5N1' est fermement implanté - Bangladesh, Chine, Égypte, Inde, Indonésie et Vietnam - feront probablement face à davantage de problèmes, mais aucun pays ne peut être considéré comme sûr"

"Les pays dans lesquels le 'H5N1' est fermement établi - le Bangladesh, la Chine, l'Egypte, l'Inde, l'Indonésie et le Vietnam - seront probablement confrontés à davantage de problèmes, mais aucun pays ne peut être considéré comme sûr", at-il ajouté. Le temps a expliqué qu'il "n'est pas temps d'ignorer le danger" et que "personne ne peut baisser la garde avant le H5N1".

Il est rappelé à la FAO que, selon les données publiées par l'Organisation mondiale de la santé (OMS), le virus H5N1 a infecté 565 personnes depuis son apparition en 2003, faisant 311 morts. Le dernier décès est survenu au début du mois au Cambodge, où huit cas d'infection chez l'homme ont été enregistrés cette année, tous étant mortels.

Depuis 2003, le virus H5N1 a également causé la mort - ou a été contraint de sacrifier - plus de 400 millions de personnes. volaille, causant des pertes d’un montant supérieur à 13 milliards d’euros (20 milliards de dollars) dans le monde entier, jusqu’à ce qu’il soit possible de l’éliminer dans la plupart des 63 pays touchés au plus fort de la décennie. épidémieen 2006.

Un virus résistant aux vaccins

Le virus est devenu endémique dans six pays, bien que le nombre d'épidémies chez les volailles domestiques et les oiseaux sauvages ait considérablement diminué, passant d'un maximum annuel de 4 000 à 302 seulement à la mi-2008. progressivement depuis, avec environ 800 cas enregistrés en 2010-2011.

Selon Lubroth, la nouvelle expansion géographique du virus "H5N1" en 2008, tant chez les volailles que chez les oiseaux sauvages, pourrait être liée aux mouvements des oiseaux migrateurs, qui permettent au virus de parcourir de longues distances, de sorte que, au cours des 24 derniers mois, le «H5N1» est apparu chez des volailles ou à l'état sauvage dans des pays qui étaient restés indemnes du virus pendant des années. Cependant, selon l'expert, "les oiseaux sauvages peuvent introduire le virus, mais les performances des personnes dans la production et la commercialisation de la volaille le propagent".

Parmi les pays où les zones touchées ont été récemment détectées sont Israël, la Palestine, la Bulgarie, la Roumanie, le Népal et la Mongolie, bien que la nouvelle variante n'ait été détectée qu'en Chine et au Vietnam, où il a été constaté qu '"il est capable d'esquiver les défenses qui fournissent les vaccins existants ".

You Bet Your Life: Secret Word - Door / Paper / Fire (Août 2019).