Research on applications of stem cells they do not stop happening and conquer new milestones. Some of the most profitable ones are demonstrating hematopoietic stem cells, which are extracted from the umbilical cord blood (SCU). They are blood cells that are located in the bone marrow and have the ability to self-renew, proliferate and differentiate to give rise to mature blood cells, such as erythrocytes (red blood cells), granulocytes and lymphocytes (white blood cells), and platelets.

In fact it is not something so novel, since for more than 15 years they have been used for transplantation in the treatment of various neoplastic and non-tumoral diseases. In fact, the results obtained thanks to them are similar and, even, superior to those achieved through bone marrow transplantation (BM) in the same pathologies.

This type of transplant can be done in two ways, either from one relative to another (usually brothers), or thanks to those stored in public banks of SCU, distributed throughout the world, belonging to unrelated donors, and that have allowed that this type of transplants can be carried out more easily.

Babies medicine

The data analyzed to date indicate that the first option has higher success rates. When the donor is a brother whose cells are compatible, survival one year after transplantation is 73%, compared to about 30% in those SCU transplants from a donor unrelated to the patient.

In spite of this, the number of transplants performed with a family donor since the beginning of this technique, in 1988, is very low. The problem is that it is difficult to have a family donation at the time it is necessary, in addition to the probability of histological identity between siblings is 25%. For this reason there are many parents who resort to having a new baby with the hope of a possible transplant thanks to the umbilical cord blood collected during delivery. It is what is known as "Medicine babies".

Many parents, preventively, decide to collect the SCU of their newborns for store it in case they might need it in the future if a brother of the baby is affected by a pathology that needs these cells for a transplant. It is what is called allogeneic intrafamily donation.

Cord cells: medicine of the future

The umbilical cord blood transplant It has proven to be clinically effective in a myriad of pathologies. The estimated risk of suffering from a neoplastic disease with indication for a transplant before 21 years of age, in addition to the overall incidence of hemoglobinopathies (sickle cell anemia or transfusion-dependent thalassemia), spinal cord aplasia, immunodeficiencies or metabolic diseases of deposit, all they are disorders in which SCU transplantation is a potentially curative treatment (particularly if the donor is a compatible sibling), amounts to approximately 0.3% (Johnson FL, 1997).

For this reason, talk about the specific applications of the SCU in the family, contemplating its cryopreservation (conservation of the cells extracted from the SCU in a frozen state, introducing them in containers with liquid nitrogen, at a temperature of -196º), carried out To this end, as a transplant product in reserve for any member of the family that may need it in the future, it is not an entelechy but a reality contrasted by medical literature.

On the other hand, in addition to those already mentioned, in the umbilical cord blood there are other non-hematopoietic cells. This type of cells can be manipulated in vitro for what is known as regenerative medicine and cell therapy. That is, it can be expanded to be used in the regeneration of damaged tissues and organs, be they bones, cartilage, the skin itself, neuronal tissue, liver, pancreas, endothelial cells, muscle, cardiac cells, respiratory ... Respect to others types of cells have the advantage that they are unlimited, they can be obtained from the patient (although also from another donor), do not require too much manipulation and their use is not subject to ethical controversies.

At present they are already carrying out clinical studies, in which they are investigating its possible application in cases of diabetes, cerebral palsy, peripheral vascular diseases, spinal cord injuries ... In addition, there is hope that this type of cells can be used in the next few years to treat problems related to vision, the nervous system, bones and cartilage, heart attacks, COPD or Parkinson's.

Clinical Trials for MS and Rheumatoid Arthritis with Umbilical Cord Mesenchymal Stem Cells (November 2019).

Recherche sur applications de cellules souches ils n'arrêtent pas d'arriver et conquièrent de nouveaux jalons. Certains des plus rentables démontrent cellules souches hématopoïétiques, qui sont extraits de la sang de cordon ombilical. Ce sont des cellules sanguines situées dans la moelle osseuse et capables de se renouveler, de proliférer et de se différencier pour donner naissance à des cellules sanguines matures, telles que des érythrocytes (globules rouges), des granulocytes et des lymphocytes (globules blancs) et des plaquettes.

En réalité, ce n’est pas une nouveauté, car ils sont utilisés depuis plus de 15 ans pour la transplantation dans le traitement de diverses maladies néoplasiques et non tumorales. En effet, les résultats obtenus grâce à eux sont similaires et même supérieurs à ceux obtenus par greffe de moelle osseuse dans les mêmes pathologies.

Ce type de greffe peut se faire de deux manières, soit d’un parent à un autre (généralement des frères), soit grâce à celles stockées dans des banques publiques de SCU, réparties dans le monde entier, appartenant à des donneurs indépendants, et qui ont permis que ce type de greffes puisse être effectué plus facilement.

La médecine des bébés

Les données analysées à ce jour indiquent que la première option présente des taux de réussite plus élevés. Lorsque le donneur est un frère dont les cellules sont compatibles, la survie un an après la transplantation est de 73%, comparée à environ 30% pour les greffes de SCU provenant d'un donneur non apparenté au patient.

Malgré cela, le nombre de greffes effectuées avec un donneur familial depuis le début de cette technique, en 1988, est très faible. Le problème est qu’il est difficile d’obtenir un don de la famille au moment où cela est nécessaire, en plus de la probabilité d’identité histologique entre frères et sœurs est de 25%. Pour cette raison, de nombreux parents ont recours à un nouveau-né dans l’espoir d’une greffe possible grâce au sang de cordon ombilical recueilli lors de l’accouchement. C'est ce qu'on appelle "Bébés de médecine".

De manière préventive, de nombreux parents décident de collecter le SCU de leurs nouveau-nés pour le stocker au cas où ils en auraient besoin à l'avenir si un frère du bébé est affecté d'une pathologie nécessitant ces cellules pour une greffe. C'est ce qu'on appelle don allogénique intra-familial.

Cellules du cordon: médicament du futur

Le greffe de sang de cordon ombilical Il s'est révélé cliniquement efficace dans une multitude de pathologies. L'estimation du risque de souffrir d'une maladie néoplastique avec indication du greffon avant 21 ans, en plus de l'incidence globale des hémoglobinopathies (drépanocytose ou thalassémie dépendante de la transfusion), de l'aplasie médullaire, des déficits immunitaires ou des maladies métaboliques du dépôt, tous il s’agit de troubles pour lesquels la greffe de SCU est un traitement potentiellement curatif (en particulier si le donneur est un frère compatible), s’élevant à environ 0,3% (Johnson FL, 1997).

Pour cette raison, parlons des applications spécifiques de la SCU dans la famille, en envisageant sa cryoconservation (conservation des cellules extraites de la SCU à l'état congelé, en les introduisant dans des conteneurs à l'azote liquide, à une température de -196º), réalisées À cette fin, en tant que produit de transplantation réservé à tout membre de la famille susceptible d’en avoir besoin à l’avenir, il ne s’agit pas d’une entéléchie mais d’une réalité contrastée par la littérature médicale.

D'autre part, en plus de ceux déjà mentionnés, dans le sang du cordon ombilical, il existe d'autres cellules non hématopoïétiques. Ce type de cellules peut être manipulé in vitro pour ce qu'on appelle la médecine régénérative et la thérapie cellulaire. En d'autres termes, il peut être étendu pour être utilisé dans la régénération de tissus et d'organes endommagés, que ce soient des os, du cartilage, la peau elle-même, le tissu neuronal, le foie, le pancréas, les cellules endothéliales, les muscles, les cellules cardiaques, les voies respiratoires ... Respect des autres les types de cellules ont l'avantage d'être illimitées, qu'elles peuvent être obtenues du patient (bien que d'un autre donneur également), ne nécessitent pas trop de manipulation et que leur utilisation ne soit pas sujette à des controverses éthiques.

À l'heure actuelle, ils mènent déjà des études cliniques dans le cadre desquelles ils étudient son éventuelle application dans les cas de diabète, de paralysie cérébrale, de maladies vasculaires périphériques, de lésions de la moelle épinière ... De plus, il est à espérer que ce type de cellules utilisé au cours des prochaines années pour traiter des problèmes liés à la vision, au système nerveux, aux os et au cartilage, aux crises cardiaques, à la MPOC ou à la maladie de Parkinson.

CordSavings enceinte de bébé conservez le sang de cordon en Suisse (Août 2019).