With the aim of training the doctors of Primary Care so that they prescribe to their patients the practice of physical activity as a preventive treatment more in front of numerous diseases and, especially, to avoid the appearance of cardiovascular disorders, the Superior Council of Sports (CSD), with the collaboration of Novartis and the support of the Ministry of Health, has developed a guide that will help these doctors in this mission.

Cardiovascular diseases are the cause of three out of ten deaths that occur in Spain and, in 65% of cases, could be avoided by promoting healthy lifestyle habits such as a balanced diet or sports.

It is necessary to evaluate the physical conditions of the patient first and perform some tests, to determine the group appropriate to their characteristics, and prescribe the most appropriate physical activity

The guide aims to help doctors to recommend exercise practice taking into account the characteristics of the patient. It is, as explained by Dr. Fernando Gutiérrez Ortega, director of the Sports Medicine Center, that the exercise is prescribed as any other treatment, and the doctor is not limited to simply advise your patient to exercise.

This specialist points out that it is necessary to first assess the physical conditions of the patient, and for this, they must check their clinical history and family history, in addition to performing tests that determine cardiovascular health. With all these data, you can now include the patient in the group best suited to their characteristics and already prescribe the most appropriate physical activity for him.

Cardiovascular risk and exercise

The guide divides patients into five groups based on cardiovascular risk, and the recommended exercise may consist of a walking or running time, which can be combined with isometric or isotonic physical fitness exercises.

Each program consists of several phases, and the first would last for 24 weeks. The frequency and duration of the exercises would be gradually extended depending on the improvement experienced by the patient.

Dr. Gutiérrez Ortega warns that physical exercise may also have contraindications, as with drugs, and that it is necessary to have the advice of a medical professional to determine the intensity and frequency with which the patient to perform the activity.

The expert explains that, for example, a patient suffering joint problems or osteoarthritis, it is not advisable to make a run or jump and, where appropriate, swimming is much more appropriate, an activity that is not harmful to the joints. And he adds, that it is also important to dose the sport.

Source: EUROPE PRESS

Day three of Brett Kavanaugh’s Supreme Court confirmation hearing (November 2019).

Dans le but de former les médecins de Soins primaires afin qu'ils prescrivent à leurs patients la pratique de l'activité physique comme traitement préventif face à de nombreuses maladies et, surtout, pour éviter l'apparition de troubles cardiovasculaires, le Conseil Supérieur des Sports (CSD), avec la collaboration de Novartis et le soutien ministère de la santé, a élaboré un guide qui aidera ces médecins dans cette mission.

Les maladies cardiovasculaires sont la cause de trois décès sur dix en Espagne et pourraient être évitées dans 65% des cas en favorisant des habitudes de vie saines telles qu'un régime alimentaire équilibré ou le sport.

Il est nécessaire d’évaluer d’abord les conditions physiques du patient et de réaliser certains tests, de déterminer le groupe correspondant à leurs caractéristiques et de prescrire l’activité physique la plus appropriée.

Le guide vise à aider les médecins à recommander des exercices en tenant compte des caractéristiques du patient. Comme l’a expliqué le Dr Fernando Gutiérrez Ortega, directeur du Centre de médecine du sport, l’exercice est prescrit comme tout autre traitement et le médecin n’est pas tenu de conseiller au patient de faire de l’exercice.

Ce spécialiste souligne qu’il est nécessaire d’évaluer d’abord les conditions physiques du patient. Pour ce faire, il doit vérifier ses antécédents cliniques et familiaux, ainsi que pour effectuer des tests qui déterminent la santé cardiovasculaire. Avec toutes ces données, vous pouvez désormais inclure le patient dans le groupe le mieux adapté à ses caractéristiques et lui prescrire déjà l'activité physique la plus appropriée.

Risque cardiovasculaire et exercice

Le guide divise les patients en cinq groupes en fonction du risque cardiovasculaire et l'exercice recommandé peut consister en une durée de marche ou de course à pied, qui peut être combinée à des exercices de condition physique isométriques ou isotoniques.

Chaque programme comprend plusieurs phases et la première durerait 24 semaines. La fréquence et la durée des exercices seraient progressivement étendues en fonction de l'amélioration ressentie par le patient.

Le Dr Gutiérrez Ortega avertit que l'exercice physique peut aussi avoir des contre-indications, comme pour les médicaments, et qu'il est nécessaire de demander conseil à un professionnel de la santé pour déterminer l'intensité et la fréquence avec lesquelles le patient exerce l'activité.

L'expert explique que, par exemple, un patient souffrant de problèmes articulaires ou d'arthrose, il est déconseillé de courir ou de sauter et, le cas échéant, de nager est beaucoup plus approprié, une activité qui ne nuit pas aux articulations. Et il ajoute qu'il est également important de doser le sport.

Source: EUROPE PRESSE

Food as Medicine: Preventing and Treating the Most Common Diseases with Diet (Août 2019).