Recent research has shown that children who live in institutions such as orphanages, and those who suffer adversities such as abuse, abuse, abandonment or poverty, have alterations in the development of their brain and have cognitive deficits, which are likely to reverse if positively modify the circumstances of their environment.

The authors of the study, from the Cognitive Neuroscience Laboratories of the Children's Hospital of Boston, had access to magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) performed on Romanian children included in the Bucharest Early Intervention Project, which analyzes the impact of institutionalization has on the smallest. Thus, the researchers were able to compare three different groups of children who were between 8 and 11 years of age. The first group consisted of 29 children who had been raised in the institution in which they were still living, another 25 children were randomly selected to go to foster homes, and 20 children had never lived in an institution.

Magnetic resonances showed that institutionalized children had a smaller volume of gray matter than children who lived with host families

Magnetic resonances showed that institutionalized children had a smaller volume of gray matter than children living with host families, and also showed a decrease in the volume of white matter compared to non-institutionalized children; however, the children who lived in foster homes did not show differences in the volume of white matter with children who were never institutionalized.

The data of this study, together with those obtained in previous studies, which show that institutionalized children suffer from cognitive deterioration, support the thesis of the researchers, who explain that the peaks of gray matter growth throughout childhood indicate that the type of environment in which children are raised and the difficulties they face significantly influence the development of their brain.

In most of the institutions that take care of minors, the attention they receive is low and children are exposed to serious psychological and physical negligence. The good news is that improvements have also been seen in the children who moved from the institution to a host family, and this is explained, according to the scientists, because the white matter develops slowly and it is easier for the therapy to reverse the negative impacts.

The Impact Of Environment On Child Development (November 2019).

Des recherches récentes ont montré que les enfants qui vivent dans des institutions telles que les orphelinats et ceux qui vivent des épreuves telles que la maltraitance, la maltraitance, l'abandon ou la pauvreté modifient le développement de leur cerveau et présentent des déficits cognitifs susceptibles de s'inverser modifier positivement les circonstances de leur environnement.

Les auteurs de l'étude, des laboratoires de neurosciences cognitives de l'hôpital pour enfants de Boston, ont eu accès à une imagerie par résonance magnétique (IRM) réalisée sur des enfants roumains inclus dans le projet d'intervention précoce de Bucarest, qui analyse l'impact de l'institutionnalisation a sur le plus petit. Les chercheurs ont ainsi pu comparer trois groupes d'enfants âgés de 8 à 11 ans. Le premier groupe était constitué de 29 enfants élevés dans l’institution dans laquelle ils vivaient encore, 25 autres enfants ont été choisis au hasard pour être placés dans des familles d’accueil et 20 enfants n’avaient jamais vécu dans une institution.

Les résonances magnétiques ont montré que les enfants placés en institution avaient un volume de matière grise moins important que les enfants des familles d’accueil

Les résonances magnétiques ont montré que les enfants placés en institution avaient un volume de matière grise moins important que les enfants vivant dans des familles d’accueil et qu’ils présentaient également une diminution du volume de matière blanche par rapport aux enfants non placés en institution; Cependant, les enfants qui vivaient dans des familles d'accueil ne montraient pas de différences dans le volume de substance blanche avec des enfants qui n'étaient jamais placés en institution.

Les données de cette étude, ainsi que celles obtenues lors d'études précédentes, qui montrent que les enfants institutionnalisés souffrent de détérioration cognitive, confortent la thèse des chercheurs, qui expliquent que les pics de croissance de la matière grise au cours de l'enfance indiquent que le type d’environnement dans lequel les enfants sont élevés et les difficultés qu’ils rencontrent influencent considérablement le développement de leur cerveau.

Dans la plupart des institutions qui prennent en charge des mineurs, l'attention qu'ils reçoivent est faible et les enfants sont exposés à une grave négligence psychologique et physique. La bonne nouvelle est que des améliorations ont également été constatées chez les enfants qui sont passés de l’institution à une famille d’accueil, ce qui s’explique, selon les scientifiques, car la substance blanche se développe lentement et que le traitement est plus facile à inverser. impacts négatifs.

Le développement de l'enfant en 8 phases - Selon Eric Erikson (Août 2019).