In the last 13 years the risk of suffering arterial hypertension It has increased by 27% among children and adolescents, according to the conclusions of a study conducted in the United States, which has been published in Hypertension: Journal of the American Heart Association. According to the authors of the study, this situation could be a consequence of the high body mass indexes (BMI) and the accumulation of fat in the abdomen of children, together with a diet with excess sodium.

To carry out the research, more than 3,200 children were compared to the National Health and Nutrition Examination Survey III (NHANES), from 1988-1994, with more than 8,300 children included in the NHANES from 1999-2008. It was observed that in the second study a greater number of children presented overweight, and that those whose BMI or waist circumference were 25% higher than those corresponding to their age group, were twice as likely to have high blood pressure.

Children who consumed more sodium were 36% more likely to have high blood pressure than those whose diet was lowest in sodium

Researchers also found in both studies that children who consumed more sodium were 36% more likely to have high blood pressure than those whose diet was lower in sodium. This data is significant because Americans ingest an average of 3,400 milligrams of sodium per day, which is more than double the 1,500 milligrams or less recommended by the American Heart Association.

In the case of children and adolescents, the levels considered as normal blood pressure vary depending on age, sex, height, and even race, since the African-Americans evaluated in this study, for example, had a 28% higher risk of hypertension than non-Hispanic whites. However, the high pressure readings observed by the researchers, and the fact that 80% of the children in both analyzes exceeded the recommended daily sodium intake, indicate the need to prevent childhood obesity and control salt intake in children. the minors.

Primer on Pediatric Hypertension (November 2019).

Au cours des 13 dernières années, le risque de souffrir hypertension Il a augmenté de 27% chez les enfants et les adolescents, selon les conclusions d’une étude menée aux États-Unis et publiée dans Hypertension: Journal de l'American Heart Association. Selon les auteurs de l'étude, cette situation pourrait être une conséquence des indices de masse corporelle élevés (IMC) et de l'accumulation de graisse dans l'abdomen des enfants, ainsi que d'une alimentation avec un excès de sodium.

Pour mener la recherche, plus de 3 200 enfants ont été comparés à l'Enquête nationale de santé et de nutrition III (NHANES) de 1988 à 1994, avec plus de 8 300 enfants inclus dans la NHANES de 1999 à 2008. Il a été observé que dans la deuxième étude, un plus grand nombre d’enfants présentant en surpoidset que ceux dont l'IMC ou le tour de taille étaient 25% plus élevés que ceux correspondant à leur groupe d'âge étaient deux fois plus susceptibles de souffrir d'hypertension.

Les enfants qui consommaient plus de sodium étaient 36% plus susceptibles de faire de l'hypertension que ceux dont le régime alimentaire était pauvre en sodium

Les chercheurs ont également constaté dans les deux études que les enfants qui consommaient plus de sodium étaient 36% plus susceptibles de faire de l'hypertension artérielle que ceux dont le régime alimentaire était pauvre en sodium. Ces données sont importantes car les Américains ingèrent en moyenne 3 400 milligrammes de sodium par jour, soit plus du double des 1 500 milligrammes ou moins recommandés par l'American Heart Association.

Dans le cas des enfants et des adolescents, les niveaux considérés comme une pression artérielle normale varient en fonction de l'âge, du sexe, de la taille et même de la race, étant donné que les Afro-Américains évalués dans cette étude, par exemple, présentaient un risque plus élevé de 28%. de l'hypertension que les blancs non hispaniques. Cependant, les lectures de pression élevées observées par les chercheurs et le fait que 80% des enfants dans les deux analyses dépassaient l'apport journalier recommandé en sodium suggéraient la nécessité de prévenir l'obésité chez les enfants et de contrôler leur consommation de sel. les mineurs.

L'hypertension artérielle touche aussi les jeunes et les femmes enceintes (Août 2019).