Children's language development may be impaired when they use a pacifier or suck their thumbs for too long. These are the conclusions reached by a team of researchers from the Club of Rehabilitation Club de Leones Cruz del Sur in Chile, led by Clarita Barbosa, who evaluated the relationships between sucking behaviors, leaving aside breastfeeding, and language disorders, in 128 preschool children from La Patagonia (Chile), aged between three and five years.

During the study, published in the journal "Biomed Central Pediatrics," the scientists gathered information from parents about their babies' feeding and sucking behaviors, and evaluated the children's spoken language, discovering that those children who used a pacifier or they sucked their finger for more than three years were three times more likely to present complications in language development. They also observed that delaying the use of a bottle until the child was at least nine months old reduces the risk of developing language disorders later on.

According to these data, Clarita Barbosa affirms that suction, independently of breastfeeding, can be harmful for the correct development of language in young children, and that it is necessary to take into account the results of the study because in recent decades has extended the use of pacifiers and baby bottles.

Thumb sucking, a bad habit (kids’ edition) - Lapointe dental centres (November 2019).

Le développement du langage chez les enfants peut être compromis lorsqu'ils utilisent une sucette ou sucent leur pouce trop longtemps. Telles sont les conclusions auxquelles est parvenue une équipe de chercheurs du Club de rééducation Club de Leones Cruz del Sur au Chili, dirigée par Clarita Barbosa, qui a évalué les relations entre les comportements de succion, en dehors de l'allaitement maternel, et troubles du langage chez 128 enfants d’âge préscolaire de La Patagonia (Chili) âgés de trois à cinq ans.

Au cours de l'étude, publiée dans la revue "Biomed Central Pediatrics", les scientifiques ont rassemblé des informations auprès des parents sur les comportements d'alimentation et de succion de leur bébé, et ont évalué le langage parlé des enfants, découvrant que ceux qui utilisaient une sucette ou bien ils ont sucé leur doigt pendant plus de trois ans et étaient trois fois plus susceptibles de présenter des complications lors du développement du langage Ils ont également observé que le fait de retarder l'utilisation d'un biberon jusqu'à ce que l'enfant ait au moins neuf mois réduit le risque de développer ultérieurement des troubles du langage.

Selon ces données, Clarita Barbosa affirme que la succion, indépendamment de l'allaitement, peut nuire au bon développement du langage chez les jeunes enfants et qu'il est nécessaire de prendre en compte les résultats de l'étude car ces dernières décennies a étendu l'utilisation des sucettes et des biberons.

NOUVEAU : APPLI pour TRADER sur SMARTPHONE #Cryptos (Août 2019).