During the Christmas holidays triple the amount of alcohol consumed during the rest of the year, and folk remedies against hangovers lack scientific basis, although some improve symptoms. Therefore, if you do not want to suffer from a hangover, experts recommend you drink in moderation, and drink plenty of fluids to prevent dehydration.

There is never a lack of advice when looking for ways to fight against the discomfort associated with excessive alcohol. Some of the tricks that circulate as "eating before bedtime", "drinking a coffee" or even "taking anti-inflammatories" have no scientific basis. Doctors agree that the only way to avoid a hangover is to refrain from drinking, or ingest small amounts.

It is true that at this time, plagued by family and social commitments, in which alcohol intake is very common, it is difficult to be aware of abstinence. According to data from the Spanish Federation of Spirits, in our country 62 million liters of distillates are consumed annually (equivalent to 1.4 liters per inhabitant). If you add to this figure the rest of alcoholic beverages, such as wine or cider, you would exceed 100 liters.

With rapid or slow metabolism, alcohol is responsible for the subsequent discomfort that occurs with vasodilation (explaining the increase in skin temperature and redness of the face), stomach upset, increased heart rate, dry mouth, headache ...

How the hangover occurs

When alcohol is ingested, the stomach absorbs a fraction that corresponds approximately to 20% of the total, while the rest passes to the small intestine. From the bloodstream, a small part is excreted in the urine and the rest is metabolized in the liver by an enzyme called alcohol dehydrogenase.

The amount that the liver metabolizes is always the same and ranges between seven and ten grams per hour (which is equivalent to a beer), regardless of what has been drunk, as explained by the Alcoholism Program coordinator of the Mental Health Services of the Retiro district of Madrid, Gabriel Rubio.

As the body only has the capacity to metabolize a small amount every hour, if the volume of alcohol that has been ingested exceeds this capacity, intoxication occurs, which we know as drunkenness, which manifests itself initially with a comfortable euphoria that gets worse. As it increases the level of alcohol in the blood.

Alcohol (ethyl) among other functions inhibits the action of vasopressin, a hormone that causes the kidneys to save water to increase the amount of urine. When absent, the body excretes 10% more than usual, and the meninges (three thin wrappings that cover the brain) are one of the tissues most affected by this dehydration, which causes a headache.

Antoni Gual, of the Alcohology Unit of Hospital Clinic of Barcelona, ​​points out that although many people think that alcohol is an exciting substance, in reality it is a central nervous system depressant.

Rubio warns that vomiting, drinking coffee, or using drugs such as cocaine do not relieve alcohol poisoning.

recommendations

To prevent hangover, Gual recommends drinking moderately and slowly, not forgetting that drinking on an empty stomach, increasing physical activity and being dehydrated are factors that can contribute to worsening symptoms the next morning.

The Catalan specialist says that the determining factor is dehydration, since the headache and other signs, such as muscle cramps, are due to the lack of water in the body.

Gabriel Rubio says that to improve symptoms it is necessary to drink plenty of fluids, get enough sleep and, the next day, eat and exercise.

The Drink to Help Your Hangovers (November 2019).

Pendant les vacances de Noël, tripler la quantité d'alcool consommée pendant le reste de l'année et les remèdes populaires contre la gueule de bois manquent de fondement scientifique, même si certains améliorent les symptômes. Par conséquent, si vous ne voulez pas souffrir de la gueule de bois, les experts vous conseillent de boire avec modération et de boire beaucoup de liquide pour prévenir la déshydratation.

Il n’ya jamais de manque de conseils dans la recherche de moyens pour lutter contre le malaise associé à l’abus d’alcool. Certaines des astuces qui circulent comme "manger avant d'aller au lit", "boire un café" ou même "prendre des anti-inflammatoires" n'ont aucune base scientifique. Les médecins conviennent que le seul moyen d'éviter une gueule de bois est de s'abstenir de boire ou d'ingérer de petites quantités.

Il est vrai qu’en ce moment, en proie à des engagements familiaux et sociaux, dans lesquels la consommation d’alcool est très courante, il est difficile d’être conscient de l’abstinence. Selon les données de la Fédération espagnole des spiritueux, 62 millions de litres de distillats sont consommés chaque année dans notre pays (soit 1,4 litre par habitant). Si vous ajoutez à ce chiffre le reste des boissons alcoolisées, telles que le vin ou le cidre, vous dépassez les 100 litres.

Avec un métabolisme rapide ou lent, l’alcool est responsable de la gêne occasionnée par la vasodilatation (explication de l’augmentation de la température de la peau et des rougeurs du visage), maux d’estomac, augmentation du rythme cardiaque, sécheresse de la bouche, maux de tête ...

Comment se passe la gueule de bois

En cas d'ingestion d'alcool, l'estomac absorbe une fraction correspondant à environ 20% du total, le reste passant dans l'intestin grêle. Dans le sang, une petite partie est excrétée dans l'urine et le reste est métabolisé dans le foie par une enzyme appelée alcool déshydrogénase.

La quantité que le foie métabolise est toujours la même et se situe entre 7 et 10 grammes par heure (ce qui équivaut à une bière), quel que soit ce qui a été bu, comme l'explique le coordinateur du programme sur l'alcoolisme. des services de santé mentale du district du Retiro à Madrid, Gabriel Rubio.

Comme le corps n'a que la capacité de métaboliser une petite quantité toutes les heures, si le volume d'alcool ingéré dépasse cette capacité, il se produit une intoxication, que l'on appelle l'ivresse, qui se manifeste initialement par une euphorie confortable qui s'aggrave. Comme il augmente le niveau d'alcool dans le sang.

L'alcool (éthyle), entre autres fonctions, inhibe l'action de la vasopressine, une hormone qui permet aux reins d'économiser de l'eau afin d'augmenter la quantité d'urine. En cas d'absence, le corps excrète 10% de plus que d'habitude et les méninges (trois enveloppements minces qui recouvrent le cerveau) sont l'un des tissus les plus touchés par cette déshydratation, qui provoque un mal de tête.

Antoni Gual, de l'unité d'alcoologie de la clinique hospitalière de Barcelone, souligne que, bien que beaucoup de gens pensent que l'alcool est une substance intéressante, il s'agit en réalité d'un dépresseur du système nerveux central.

Rubio avertit que les vomissements, la consommation de café ou la consommation de drogues telles que la cocaïne ne soulagent pas l’empoisonnement à l’alcool.

Recommandations

Pour éviter la gueule de bois, Gual recommande de boire modérément et lentement, sans oublier que boire à jeun, augmenter l'activité physique et se déshydrater sont des facteurs pouvant contribuer à aggraver les symptômes le lendemain matin.

Le spécialiste catalan affirme que le facteur déterminant est la déshydratation, car les maux de tête et autres signes, tels que les crampes musculaires, sont dus au manque d’eau dans le corps.

Gabriel Rubio dit que pour améliorer les symptômes, il est nécessaire de boire beaucoup de liquide, de dormir suffisamment et, le lendemain, de manger et de faire de l'exercice.

Tu bois du light ? T’es foutu ! (Août 2019).