After lung cancer, prostate cancer is the second most frequent tumor among Spanish men. As stated in the Meeting 'What's new on Prostate Cancer?, it is estimated that by 2015 the incidence of prostate cancer in Spain will be approximately 16,000 cases. On the other hand, it is observed that each time affects younger men, specifically, around 50 years. "Although the diagnostic peak is between 60 and 80 years, a second peak has been identified that begins to stand out in the young male population," explained Dr. Almudena Zapatero, specialist in Radiation Oncology at the University Hospital of La Princesa ( Madrid).

"The prevalence is increasing, probably due to the influence of environmental factors and lifestyles, as well as the development of screening programs in primary care centers and specialties and the increase of social awareness," he said. Dr. Zapatero. "Every time there is a clearer awareness in our environment about the value of PSA in blood, a test to detect the presence of prostate cancer, but we are still far from what happens in the United States," he added. However, he added, "what is clear is the need to identify the most at risk patients, mainly first-degree relatives, such as siblings and children, to undergo early screening."

On the other hand, Dr. Zapatero recalled that 85-90% of cases are diagnosed in non-metastatic stages and the curability index is high (above 75%). "It is also a long evolution, even in cases of relapse, so we can say that we are facing a chronic disease," he said. Since the end of the 1980s, mortality has stabilized or declined in countries where the PSA test and curative treatments have been widely applied. This is consistent with a possible moderate effect of curative treatments for prostate cancer diagnosed early, along with better treatments for more advanced cancers. This specialist clarified that "the risk of relapses in localized disease depends on the associated risk factors, thus, in a patient with precocious disease of low risk, the 10-year survival is superior to 90%, and in a patient with cancer of High-risk localized prostate treated with the best RT technology at high doses and androgen deprivation is greater than 75%. "

In terms of prevention, although today there is no clear consensus or definitive results on preventive treatments, "undoubtedly a healthy life with regular physical exercise and a balanced diet rich in vitamins A, E and D are basic recommendations," Dr. Zapatero.

Prostate Cancer in Younger Men (November 2019).

Après le cancer du poumon, le cancer de la prostate est la deuxième tumeur la plus fréquente chez les hommes espagnols. Comme indiqué lors de la réunion 'Quoi de neuf sur le cancer de la prostate?, on estime qu’en 2015, l’incidence du cancer de la prostate en Espagne sera d’environ 16 000 cas. D'autre part, il est observé que chaque fois affecte les hommes plus jeunes, en particulier, environ 50 ans. "Bien que le pic diagnostique se situe entre 60 et 80 ans, un deuxième pic a commencé à apparaître chez la population masculine jeune", a expliqué le Dr Almudena Zapatero, spécialiste en radio-oncologie à l'hôpital universitaire de La Princesa ( Madrid).

"La prévalence est en augmentation, probablement en raison de l'influence de facteurs environnementaux et de styles de vie, ainsi que du développement de programmes de dépistage dans les centres de soins primaires et des spécialités et de la sensibilisation accrue de la société", a-t-il déclaré. Dr. Zapatero. "A chaque fois, notre environnement est de plus en plus conscient de la valeur du PSA dans le sang, un test permettant de détecter la présence d'un cancer de la prostate, mais nous sommes encore loin de ce qui se passe aux Etats-Unis", a-t-il ajouté. Cependant, a-t-il ajouté, "il est clair qu'il est nécessaire d'identifier les patients les plus exposés, principalement les parents au premier degré, tels que les frères et sœurs et les enfants, pour un dépistage précoce".

De son côté, le Dr Zapatero a rappelé que 85 à 90% des cas étaient diagnostiqués à des stades non métastatiques et que l’indice de curabilité était élevé (supérieur à 75%). "C'est aussi une longue évolution, même en cas de rechute, nous pouvons donc dire que nous sommes confrontés à une maladie chronique", a-t-il déclaré. Depuis la fin des années 1980, la mortalité s'est stabilisée ou a diminué dans les pays où le test PSA et les traitements curatifs ont été largement appliqués. Ceci est compatible avec un éventuel effet modéré des traitements curatifs du cancer de la prostate diagnostiqué tôt, ainsi que de meilleurs traitements pour les cancers plus avancés. Ce spécialiste a précisé que "le risque de rechute dans une maladie localisée dépend des facteurs de risque associés. Ainsi, chez un patient présentant une maladie précoce à faible risque, la survie à 10 ans est supérieure à 90%, et chez un patient Prostate localisée à haut risque traitée avec la meilleure technologie RT à doses élevées et privation androgénique supérieure à 75%. "

En termes de prévention, bien qu’il n’existe pas aujourd’hui de consensus clair ou de résultats définitifs sur les traitements préventifs, "il est incontestablement recommandé de mener une vie saine avec des exercices physiques réguliers et une alimentation équilibrée riche en vitamines A, E et D" Dr. Zapatero.

Algérie : Le cancer de la prostate (Août 2019).