The Nobel Prize in Medicine in 1993, Richard Roberts, advises farmers, after the outbreak of E. coli in Germany, "that do not use so many antibiotics", since, as he explained, they use them with the "idea of ​​improving the productivity" of the animals, but "what they do is resistance" of the bacteria to these drugs.

At a press conference on the occasion of his participation in the ConCiencia Program of the University of Santiago (USC), Roberts commented that the problem at present is "how farmers use antibiotics" because "they use small amounts with the idea of ​​improving the productivity of the animals and, in this way, make the bacteria resistant to the antibiotics ", which causes fragments of DNA that "carry that resistant information are distributed everywhere".

After specifying that he does not know the details in relation to the origin of the alert, he has recognized that it is "very difficult" in general to know "where this type of bacteria comes from" such as E. coli, because "bacteria come from everywhere; some are good and others are bad, "he stressed, adding that" most of the time the good overcome the bad and, in some cases, the bad do damage. "

To fight against bacteria like E. coliRoberts has encouraged people to look for ways to "find new antibiotics" and to use public resources in research and to offer "incentives to private industry", and has recommended that existing antibiotics be used "with caution and wisely "

The key is to share information   

There will always be epidemics of influenza, "the key is to share information" to fight them

Roberts has commented that in the agri-food industry "there are problems" but "not very serious" and has admitted that, in his opinion, "probably" can not be avoided. "They will always have epidemics of influenza," he warned, in relation to the recent swine and avian crises, so he insists that "the key is to share information" to fight them.

"In the past it was a problem that some countries did not want to be identified as the source of the problem, when you hide information, the world does not have time to prepare properly," he said.

In the specific field of agriculture, he points out that "the essential thing" is that the approved regulations "are met", and admits that "in many cases the surprise is that we do not have more problems".

The scientist has stressed that sharing information between countries contributes to being "reasonably prepared for these epidemics", but that "if people hide it, there will be problems", and denounces that "countries are not sharing the information they should and they are late. "

In this regard, he recalled that in the past China was one of the "slowest" countries in sharing information, but now it does, while Mexico is not "very good" at this.

2014 Demystifying Medicine - Worldwide Emergence of Drug-Resistant Infections (November 2019).

Le prix Nobel de médecine en 1993, Richard Roberts, conseille les agriculteurs, après le début de E. coli en Allemagne, "qui n'utilise pas autant d'antibiotiques", car, comme il l'a expliqué, ils les utilisent avec "l'idée d'améliorer la productivité" des animaux, mais "ce qu'ils font est une résistance" de la bactérie à ces médicaments.

Lors d'une conférence de presse à l'occasion de sa participation au programme ConCiencia de l'Université de Santiago (USC), Roberts a déclaré que le problème actuel est "la manière dont les agriculteurs utilisent les antibiotiques" car "ils utilisent de petites quantités dans le but d'améliorer la productivité des animaux et ainsi rendre les bactéries résistantes aux antibiotiques ", ce qui provoque des fragments de ADN qui "portent que des informations résistantes sont distribuées partout".

Après avoir précisé qu'il ne connaissait pas les détails de l'origine de l'alerte, il a reconnu qu'il était "très difficile" en général de savoir "d'où provient ce type de bactérie", telles que E. coli, parce que "les bactéries viennent de partout; certains sont bons et d'autres sont mauvais ", a-t-il souligné, ajoutant que" la plupart du temps, le bon l'emporte sur le mal et, dans certains cas, le mal fait des dégâts ".

Pour lutter contre les bactéries comme E. coliRoberts a encouragé les gens à rechercher des moyens de "trouver de nouveaux antibiotiques", d'utiliser les ressources publiques dans la recherche et d'offrir des "incitations au secteur privé", et a recommandé que les antibiotiques existants soient utilisés "avec prudence et sagesse "

La clé est de partager des informations   

Il y aura toujours des épidémies de grippe, "l'essentiel est de partager des informations" pour les combattre

Roberts a commenté que dans l'industrie agroalimentaire "il y a des problèmes" mais "pas très sérieux" et a admis que, à son avis, "probablement" ne peut pas être évité. "Ils auront toujours des épidémies de grippe", a-t-il averti à propos des récentes crises porcine et aviaire. Il a donc souligné que "l'essentiel est de partager des informations" pour les combattre.

"Dans le passé, certains pays ne voulaient pas être identifiés comme étant la source du problème. Lorsque vous cachez des informations, le monde n'a pas le temps de se préparer correctement", a-t-il déclaré.

Dans le domaine spécifique de l'agriculture, il souligne que "l'essentiel" est que les réglementations approuvées "soient respectées", et admet que "dans de nombreux cas, la surprise est que nous n'avons plus de problèmes".

Le scientifique a souligné que le partage d'informations entre pays contribue à être "raisonnablement préparé à ces épidémies", mais que "si les gens le cachent, il y aura des problèmes", et dénonce que "les pays ne partagent pas les informations qu'ils devraient et ils sont en retard. "

À cet égard, il a rappelé que par le passé, la Chine était l'un des pays les plus "lents" à partager ses informations, ce qu'elle fait maintenant, alors que le Mexique n'est pas "très bon" dans ce domaine.

Our Miss Brooks: Magazine Articles / Cow in the Closet / Takes Over Spring Garden / Orphan Twins (Août 2019).