A study conducted in Australia by scientists at the School of Public Health of the University of Sydney, which has been published in Archives of Internal Medicine, has shown that there is a dose-dependent relationship between the scarcity of physical activity and the increased risk of dying from any cause. This means that the longer you stay at rest, the greater the chances of dying and that, in addition, that risk begins to increase after four hours of inactivity per day, and triggers if the sedentary reaches or exceeds eight hours.

The researchers analyzed the lifestyles of 222,497 people, who were 45 or older, followed by a period of more than four years (February 2006 to December 2010), and discovered that inactivity was directly related to 6.9% of the 5,405 deaths that occurred in this period. They also observed that the fact of suffering from cardiovascular diseases, obesity, diabetes or even presenting overweight they were risk factors that, associated to the lack of physical activity, increased even more the probabilities of dying prematurely.

The risk of death begins to increase after four hours of inactivity per day, and is triggered if the sedentary lifestyle reaches or exceeds eight hours

The authors of the study explain that it has been demonstrated that inactivity causes alterations in metabolic function, and that this has as a consequence an increase in the levels of triglycerides in the blood and a decrease in 'good' cholesterol and sensitivity to insulin, and could also affect the metabolism of carbohydrates.

The problem is that most of the time we stay awake we spend sitting, or doing actions that involve minimal energy expenditure, and even work activity is for many people have to sit for hours, which is clearly harmful to health. Therefore, the recommendation of the World Health Organization (WHO) to practice moderate or intense exercise a minimum of 150 minutes per week is being questioned as insufficient, taking into account that the rest of our daily activity is excessively relaxed.

In the opinion of the scientists who have carried out the study, the data obtained confirm the urgent need to modify the lifestyle of the population to establish a better balance between rest and physical activity, and recommend that doctors ask their patients to pass less time sitting.

Prolonged sitting: Longer bouts of physical inactivity linked to greater risk of death - TomoNews (November 2019).

Une étude menée en Australie par des scientifiques de la School of Public Health de l’Université de Sydney a été publiée au Archives de médecine interne, a montré qu'il existait une relation dose-dépendante entre la rareté de l'activité physique et le risque accru de décès, quelle qu'en soit la cause. Cela signifie que plus vous restez au repos, plus les chances de mourir sont grandes et que, en outre, ce risque commence à augmenter après quatre heures d'inactivité par jour et se déclenche si le sédentaire atteint ou dépasse huit heures.

Les chercheurs ont analysé les modes de vie de 222 497 personnes de 45 ans et plus, suivis d'une période de plus de quatre ans (de février 2006 à décembre 2010), et ont découvert que l'inactivité était directement liée à 6,9% des 5 405 décès survenus au cours de cette période. Ils ont également observé que le fait de souffrir de maladies cardiovasculaires, d'obésité, de diabète ou même de présenter en surpoids c'étaient des facteurs de risque qui, associés au manque d'activité physique, augmentaient encore plus les probabilités de mourir prématurément.

Le risque de décès commence à augmenter après quatre heures d'inactivité par jour et se déclenche si le mode de vie sédentaire atteint ou dépasse huit heures.

Les auteurs de l’étude expliquent qu’il a été démontré que l’inactivité provoque des altérations de la fonction métabolique, ce qui entraîne une augmentation des niveaux de triglycérides dans le sang et une diminution de bon cholestérol et sensibilité à l'insuline, et pourrait également affecter le métabolisme des glucides.

Le problème est que la plupart du temps, nous restons éveillés, que nous passions assis ou que nous menions des activités qui nécessitent une dépense énergétique minimale, et même les activités professionnelles obligent de nombreuses personnes à rester assises pendant des heures, ce qui est clairement nocif pour la santé. Par conséquent, la recommandation de l'Organisation mondiale de la santé (OMS) de pratiquer des exercices modérés ou intenses à un minimum de 150 minutes par semaine est jugée insuffisante, en tenant compte du fait que le reste de nos activités quotidiennes est excessivement relâché.

Selon les scientifiques qui ont mené l’étude, les données obtenues confirment l’urgente nécessité de modifier le mode de vie de la population afin d’établir un meilleur équilibre entre repos et activité physique et de recommander aux médecins de demander à leurs patients de passer le test. moins de temps assis.

L’incidence des statistiques sur les décès dans l’amélioration des conditions de vie (Août 2019).