Infertility is a problem that, in Spain alone, affects up to 20% of couples, and in many cases can be linked to chromosomal alterations.

Thus, as Javier Porta, director of Genoclinics - a company specialized in the genetic diagnosis for the prevention of diseases and that also allows to optimize the treatments according to the personal characteristics of the patient - explains, couples that suffer from fertility problems have a greater probability of presenting chromosomal alterations, which are the origin of their difficulties to conceive or for the pregnancy to come to fruition.

Couples with fertility problems are more likely to suffer chromosomal abnormalities, which are the source of their difficulties to conceive or for the pregnancy to come to fruition

The expert points out that while in the case of men it can be about alterations in the karyotype -Microdelecciones Y-chromosome, or cystic fibrosis, which can also cause serious fertility problems due to lack of sperm (azoospermia), in women infertility is genetically associated with alterations in the karyotype, with the X-fragile syndrome and with hereditary thrombophilias. These disorders can cause them to suffer repeat abortions or have a poor ovarian reserve.

Therefore, continues the specialist, in couples who need to undergo techniques of assisted reproduction, the karyotype is a very important diagnostic test, which is indicated especially when there is seminal alteration, or ovarian failure, or in those couples who have suffered failures. implantation or several abortions. In these cases it is convenient to carry out genetic tests, which analyze the CFTR gene, with the aim of identifying mutations that may be the origin of infertility problems.

Source: GenoClinics

Neanderthal Among Us? Science Meets Fiction - A Discussion of Tim Disney's Motion Picture William (November 2019).

L'infertilité est un problème qui touche, pour la seule Espagne, jusqu'à 20% des couples et peut souvent être liée à des altérations chromosomiques.

Ainsi, comme l'explique Javier Porta, directeur de Genoclinics - une société spécialisée dans le diagnostic génétique pour la prévention de maladies et qui permet également d'optimiser les traitements en fonction des caractéristiques personnelles du patient -, les couples souffrant de problèmes de fertilité ont davantage probabilité de présenter des altérations chromosomiques, qui sont à l’origine de leurs difficultés à concevoir ou à faire fructifier leur grossesse.

Les couples ayant des problèmes de fertilité sont plus susceptibles de souffrir d'anomalies chromosomiques, qui sont à l'origine de leurs difficultés à concevoir et à la grossesse à venir

L’expert souligne que, même s’il s’agit d’hommes, il peut s’agir de modifications de la caryotype -Microdelecciones Y-chromosome, ou fibrose kystique, qui peut également causer de graves problèmes de fertilité en raison du manque de sperme (azoospermie), chez les femmes, la stérilité est associée génétiquement à des altérations du caryotype, au syndrome X-fragile et à des thrombophilies héréditaires. Ces troubles peuvent les amener à subir des avortements répétés ou à avoir une réserve ovarienne médiocre.

Par conséquent, poursuit le spécialiste, le caryotype est un test de diagnostic très important pour les couples nécessitant des techniques de procréation assistée, particulièrement indiqué en cas d'altération séminale ou d'insuffisance ovarienne, ou chez les couples échoués. implantation ou plusieurs avortements. Dans ces cas, il est pratique de réaliser des tests génétiques, qui analysent la Gène CFTR, dans le but d'identifier les mutations pouvant être à l'origine de problèmes d'infertilité.

Source: GenoClinics

Check Santé #3 - La fertilité chez l'homme (Août 2019).