It is estimated that around 5% of children of school age suffer from Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD), a psychiatric disorder that, being a chronic disorder, persists in some cases in adulthood in those who have it. suffered during his childhood and adolescence.

According to Dr. Celso Arango, secretary of the Spanish Society of Biological Psychiatry (SEPB), Head of Section of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry at the Gregorio Marañón University Hospital and Scientific Director of the Center for Biomedical Research in the Mental Health Network (CIBERSAM), "ADHD, being a chronic disorder, persists into adulthood. Up to 60% of those who have suffered in childhood and adolescence can maintain some isolated symptoms, although only 30% still meet the diagnostic criteria. " And he adds that "It is important to emphasize that it is a disorder that always begins in childhood so it should not be diagnosed in someone who did not have clear symptoms at this stage. "

The fundamental symptoms presented by those affected are the inability to maintain attention in a task for a minimum of time, restlessness, impulsivity, the defective concept of time and precipitation in the answers.

However, although it is a pathology that can have important consequences, ranging from school failure in childhood, and labor difficulties in adulthood, to be able to be the source of social difficulties (more likely to use drugs or suffer traffic accidents, for example), and that has a high prevalence in the child population, "Is marked by a great social stigma, determined by the ignorance of the population, the lack of specialized professionals, the delay and errors in diagnosis, and the absence of prevention programs", says Dr. Arango.

Need for a comprehensive treatment for ADHD

Early detection is fundamental in this disease, since "It improves its evolution and prognosis and, what is more important, it improves the quality of life of the child and the family", Dr. Arango emphasizes, adding that "Although the first symptoms can manifest in children of 4 or 5 years, and even before, it is not until around seven when parents usually consult the doctor".

However, and despite its importance, there is still a very significant percentage of children and adults who are not diagnosed and who, therefore, are deprived of receiving the corresponding treatment, with the risks that this implies.

"Like the rest of the mental disorders, treatment must be comprehensive, including pharmacological and psychotherapeutic treatment. Intervention with the family and the school is very important. Stimulant drugs are the most effective pharmacological treatments of all that we have in psychiatry, if we take into account the size of the effect ".

Dr. Arango warns that "More specialized psychiatrists are needed in children and adolescents. And is that, diagnose and treat well requires the doctor to be well trained and have knowledge and experience, in addition to a full dedication to the child psychiatry.

"Child-Juvenile Psychiatry is a complex and extensive specialty that requires the doctor's exclusive dedication. One of the greatest shortcomings of Spanish medicine has been the absence of the specialty of Child Psychiatry "concludes Dr. Arango.

Sources: Spanish Society of Psychiatry, Spanish Society of Biological Psychiatry and Spanish Foundation of Psychiatry and Mental Health

ADHD As A Difference In Cognition, Not A Disorder: Stephen Tonti at TEDxCMU (November 2019).

On estime qu'environ 5% des enfants d'âge scolaire souffrent du trouble d'hyperactivité avec déficit de l'attention (TDAH), un trouble psychiatrique qui, étant un trouble chronique, persiste parfois à l'âge adulte chez ceux qui en sont atteints. souffert pendant son enfance et son adolescence.

Selon le Dr Celso Arango, secrétaire de la Société espagnole de psychiatrie biologique (SEPB), chef de la section de psychiatrie de l'enfant et de l'adolescent à l'hôpital universitaire Gregorio Marañón et directeur scientifique du Centre de recherche biomédicale du réseau de santé mentale (CIBERSAM), "Le TDAH, étant un trouble chronique, persiste à l’âge adulte. Jusqu'à 60% des personnes ayant souffert dans l'enfance et l'adolescence peuvent conserver certains symptômes isolés, bien que 30% seulement répondent toujours aux critères de diagnostic. " Et il ajoute que "Il est important de souligner que c'est un trouble qui commence toujours dans l'enfance il ne devrait donc pas être diagnostiqué chez une personne qui ne présentait pas de symptômes évidents à ce stade. "

Les symptômes fondamentaux présentés par les personnes touchées sont l’incapacité de maintenir l’attention dans une tâche pendant un minimum de temps, de l’agitation, l’impulsivité, le concept défectueux de temps et de précipitation dans les réponses.

Cependant, bien qu’il s’agisse d’une pathologie pouvant avoir des conséquences importantes, allant de l’échec scolaire pendant l’enfance à des difficultés de travail à l’âge adulte, le fait d’être à l’origine de difficultés sociales accidents de la route, par exemple), et qui a une prévalence élevée dans la population des enfants, "Est marqué par un grand stigmate social, déterminé par l'ignorance de la population, le manque de professionnels spécialisés, les retards et les erreurs de diagnostic, et l'absence de programmes de prévention"dit le docteur Arango.

Besoin d'un traitement complet pour le TDAH

Le dépistage précoce est fondamental dans cette maladie, car "Cela améliore son évolution et son pronostic, mais surtout la qualité de vie de l'enfant et de la famille", Souligne le Dr Arango, ajoutant que "Bien que les premiers symptômes puissent se manifester chez les enfants de 4 ou 5 ans et même avant, ce n'est pas avant sept ans que les parents consultent habituellement le médecin".

Cependant, malgré son importance, il existe encore un pourcentage très important d'enfants et d'adultes non diagnostiqués, qui sont donc privés du traitement correspondant, avec les risques que cela implique.

"Comme le reste des troubles mentaux, le traitement doit être complet, y compris un traitement pharmacologique et psychothérapeutique. L'intervention auprès de la famille et de l'école est très importante. Les stimulants sont les traitements pharmacologiques les plus efficaces de tout ce que nous avons en psychiatrie, si nous tenons compte de l'ampleur de l'effet ".

Dr. Arango avertit que "Des psychiatres plus spécialisés sont nécessaires chez les enfants et les adolescents. Et est-ce que, pour bien diagnostiquer et traiter, le médecin doit être bien formé et avoir des connaissances et de l'expérience, en plus d'un dévouement total à la psychiatrie infantile.

"La psychiatrie infanto-juvénile est une spécialité complexe et extensive qui requiert la dédicace exclusive du médecin. L’un des plus grands défauts de la médecine espagnole a été l’absence de spécialité en psychiatrie infantile "conclut le Dr Arango.

Sources: Société espagnole de psychiatrie, Société espagnole de psychiatrie biologique et Fondation espagnole de psychiatrie et de santé mentale

LAÏCITÉ : LIBERTÉ OU SERVITUDE ? (Août 2019).