The intrauterine device, popularly known as the IUD, is a contraceptive method More effective than the postcoital pill, according to data obtained in a study conducted by scientists at Princeton University in the United States, which has reviewed 42 studies that evaluated the effectiveness of the IUD as an emergency contraception system.

The Spanish Society of Contraception estimates that in our country, each year, about 240,000 women become pregnant without wishing to, and some 100,000 resort to an abortion scheduled to interrupt pregnancy. Since the distribution of the emergency contraceptive pill began -which must be taken in the first 72 hours after intercourse- many women have resorted to this drug to avoid a possible pregnancy.

The study shows that the IUD is 10 to 20 times more effective than the morning after pill, because it only fails in 0.09% of cases

And it is, that in Spain, the use of the IUD is not very widespread. However, the authors of the study note that while the emergency pill has a failure rate of 1.4% in the case of ulipristal acetate or mifepristone, and reaches 2-3% for the levonorgestrel -Which is the substance that is marketed in Spain-, the IUD is between 10 and 20 times more effective because it only fails in 0.09% of cases.

The research, published in 'Human Reproduction', analyzed the cases of more than seven thousand women who had had a copper IUD between 1979 and 2011. There were ten pregnancies in total, but the researchers only considered six. -Which occurred among 5,629 women-, because the other four pregnant women belonged to a sample of only 200 women who participated in an Egyptian study, and considered that these results were abnormal and reduced the reliability of the study.

A safe method of contraception

The IUD is a copper or hormonal device (the latter releases levonorgestrel), which has to be placed by the gynecologist, and whose effects last between five and ten years depending on the case, so it can be used as a long-term contraceptive. Its price ranges between 35 and 50 euros for copper, and 150-180 euros for hormonal, but taking into account its duration does not involve a large outlay.

This contraceptive method is especially indicated for women who do not intend to become pregnant in the short term, and also for those who have already had children, because the nulliparous, and those who have a small uterus, may have discomfort. It is also not recommended for those who frequently change sex partners because if they contract a sexually transmitted infection, the use of a copper IUD could increase the risk of developing a sexually transmitted infection. pelvic inflammatory disease.

Although in Spain only 6-7% of women of childbearing age resort to this device to avoid pregnancy, specialists consider that it is an effective and safe system, either as an emergency contraceptive option or as a regular system.

Patient Education Video: Intrauterine Device (IUD) (November 2019).

Le dispositif intra-utérin, plus connu sous le nom de DIU, est un méthode contraceptive Plus efficace que la pilule post-coïtale, selon les données d'une étude menée par des scientifiques de l'Université de Princeton aux États-Unis, qui a examiné 42 études évaluant l'efficacité du DIU en tant que système de contraception d'urgence.

La Société espagnole de contraception estime que dans notre pays, chaque année, environ 240 000 femmes tombent enceintes sans le vouloir et environ 100 000 ont recours à un avortement prévu pour interrompre leur grossesse. Depuis le début de la distribution de la pilule contraceptive d'urgence - qui doit être prise dans les 72 heures qui suivent un rapport sexuel - de nombreuses femmes ont eu recours à ce médicament pour éviter une éventuelle grossesse.

L’étude montre que le stérilet est 10 à 20 fois plus efficace que la pilule du lendemain, car il n’échoue que dans 0,09% des cas.

Et c'est qu'en Espagne, l'utilisation du stérilet n'est pas très répandue. Cependant, les auteurs de l’étude notent que si la pilule d’urgence présente un taux d’échec de 1,4% dans le cas de l’acétate d’ulipristal ou de la mifépristone, elle atteint 2 à 3% pour lévonorgestrel -Quelle est la substance qui est commercialisée en Espagne-, le DIU est 10 à 20 fois plus efficace car il n'échoue que dans 0,09% des cas.

La recherche, publiée dans «Human Reproduction», a analysé les cas de plus de sept mille femmes qui avaient eu un DIU au cuivre entre 1979 et 2011. Il y avait dix grossesses au total, mais les chercheurs n'en ont examiné que six. - Survenu chez 5 629 femmes -, car les quatre autres femmes enceintes appartenaient à un échantillon de 200 femmes seulement ayant participé à une étude égyptienne et ont estimé que ces résultats étaient anormaux et réduisaient la fiabilité de l'étude.

Une méthode de contraception sûre

Le DIU est un dispositif en cuivre ou hormonal (ce dernier libère du lévonorgestrel), qui doit être placé par le gynécologue et dont les effets durent entre cinq et dix ans, selon le cas. Il peut donc être utilisé comme contraceptif à long terme. Son prix varie entre 35 et 50 euros pour le cuivre et entre 150 et 180 euros pour le traitement hormonal, mais sa durée ne suppose pas une dépense importante.

Cette méthode contraceptive est particulièrement indiquée pour les femmes qui n’ont pas l’intention de devenir enceintes à court terme, ainsi que pour celles qui ont déjà eu des enfants, car les nullipares et celles qui ont un petit utérus peuvent ressentir un inconfort. Il n'est également pas recommandé aux personnes qui changent fréquemment de partenaire sexuel, car si elles contractent une infection sexuellement transmissible, l'utilisation d'un DIU au cuivre pourrait augmenter le risque de contracter une infection sexuellement transmissible. maladie inflammatoire pelvienne.

Bien qu'en Espagne, seulement 6 à 7% des femmes en âge de procréer aient recours à ce dispositif pour éviter une grossesse, les spécialistes considèrent qu'il s'agit d'un système efficace et sûr, soit comme moyen de contraception d'urgence, soit comme système régulier.

Pilule du lendemain : mode d'emploi - Le Magazine de la santé (Août 2019).