Specialists meeting at the LXXVII National Congress of the Spanish Association of Urology (AEU), have warned of the increase in cases of nephrolithiasis - one of the main causes of nephritic colic - among young adults (around 30 years old).

Renal lithiasis consists of the formation of stones - or stones - in the kidney, which are generated from substances found in the urine, and which may have a different composition. The most frequent are those of calcium oxalate, but specialists say that uric acid stones are increasing as a result of changes in the dietary habits of the population, especially among the youngest.

In Spain, more than two million people have kidney stones, and 30% of those affected need treatment to expel them.

It is estimated that 325,079 new cases of renal lithiasis are diagnosed each year in our country, while the prevalence of this disorder is around 5%, which means that more than two million people have kidney stones. In addition, 30% of those affected will need treatment to expel them from the kidney. Dr. Juan Antonio Galán, coordinator of the Lithiasis Group of the AEU, notes that lithiasis affects men more between 30 and 50 years, although it is more frequent between 29 and 32 years.

The specialists attribute the increase of the number of people who develop calculations to the variations in the feeding, and especially to the substitution of the Mediterranean diet for what is known as 'fast food', an inadequate habit to which also they make responsible for the increase of the overweight and obesity in our country. Therefore, to prevent the appearance of stones advise to eat an adequate amount of liquid, between two and two and a half liters a day, follow a varied and balanced diet, including fruits and fiber, avoid excess salt and protein, and perform physical exercise.

Regarding the treatment of this condition, Dr. Galán explains that it is very important that people with lithiasis are treated in centers that have all the possible therapeutic options to offer each patient the most appropriate assistance depending on their characteristics. And he adds that in these centers should also perform metabolic studies and analyze the patient's stones, in order to establish preventive measures to prevent it from suffering new episodes of lithiasis.

Source: Spanish Association of Urology

mistakes in treating gout (November 2019).

Les spécialistes réunis au congrès national LXXVII de l'Association espagnole d'urologie (AEU) ont mis en garde contre l'augmentation du nombre de cas de lithiase rénale - une des causes principales de la colique néphritique - chez les jeunes adultes (environ 30 ans).

La lithiase rénale consiste en la formation de calculs - ou de calculs - dans les reins, qui sont générés à partir de substances présentes dans l'urine et qui peuvent avoir une composition différente. Les plus fréquents sont ceux de l'oxalate de calcium, mais les spécialistes affirment que les calculs d'acide urique augmentent en raison de changements dans les habitudes alimentaires de la population, en particulier chez les plus jeunes.

En Espagne, plus de deux millions de personnes ont des calculs rénaux et 30% des personnes touchées ont besoin d'un traitement pour les expulser.

On estime que 325 079 nouveaux cas de lithiase rénale sont diagnostiqués chaque année dans notre pays, alors que la prévalence de cette maladie est d'environ 5%, ce qui signifie que plus de deux millions de personnes ont des calculs rénaux. En outre, 30% des personnes touchées auront besoin d'un traitement pour les expulser du rein. Le Dr. Juan Antonio Galán, coordinateur du groupe Lithiasis de l'AEU, note que la lithiase affecte davantage les hommes entre 30 et 50 ans, bien qu'elle soit plus fréquente entre 29 et 32 ​​ans.

Les spécialistes attribuent l'augmentation du nombre de personnes qui développent des calculs aux variations dans l'alimentation, et notamment à la substitution du régime méditerranéen à ce que l'on appelle le «fast food», une habitude inadéquate à laquelle ils attribuent également la responsabilité de l'augmentation du nombre de personnes. surpoids et obésité dans notre pays. Par conséquent, pour éviter l’apparition de cailloux, il est conseillé de manger une quantité suffisante de liquide, entre deux et deux litres et demi par jour, de suivre un régime alimentaire varié et équilibré, comprenant des fruits et des fibres, d’éviter un excès de sel et de protéines, et faire de l'exercice physique.

En ce qui concerne le traitement de cette maladie, le Dr Galán explique qu'il est très important que les personnes atteintes de lithiase soient traitées dans des centres disposant de toutes les options thérapeutiques possibles pour offrir à chaque patient l'assistance la plus appropriée en fonction de ses caractéristiques. Et il ajoute que dans ces centres devraient également effectuer des études métaboliques et analyser les calculs du patient, afin de mettre en place des mesures préventives pour l'empêcher de subir de nouveaux épisodes de lithiase.

Source: Association espagnole d'urologie

mooja (maroc) : L'infection urinaire (Septembre 2019).