According to data from the Spanish Society of Emergency Pediatrics, the incidence of bronchiolitis has increased by 16% in 2009. The transmission of respiratory syncytial virus (RSV), which causes this disease, has been facilitated by low temperatures and rain. Dr. Octavio Ramilo, director of Infectious Diseases in the Nationwide Children's Hospital of Columbus, and professor of pediatrics at the Ohio State University, warns, in addition, that it is very possible that the virus remains active until May or June, so preventive treatment should not be abandoned until the danger disappears.

According to Ramilo, bronchiolitis is the first cause of hospitalization in the world in children under one year of age and the first cause of severe respiratory infections in the first years of life. Dr. Raúl Ortiz de Lejarazu, head of the Microbiology and Immunology Service of the Valladolid Hospital, affirms that the percentage of children suffering from bronchiolitis has doubled in the last seven years.

Babies, the most vulnerable to bronchiolitis

Bronchiolitis is a disease caused by an acute viral infection of the respiratory tract, which becomes inflamed and filled with mucus, making it difficult to breathe. It especially affects babies and young children, especially during the first two years of life. The most common symptoms are cough, mucus, respiratory distress (fatigue, wheezing ...) and loss of appetite.

Dr. Enriqueta Román, head of the Pediatrics Service at the Puerta de Hierro hospital in Madrid, explains that babies are the most vulnerable, especially during the first twelve months, because at this age they have not yet developed the necessary defenses, and it is in this period when they have their first contact with the virus.

Although the disease is usually mild, it can be aggravated in certain patients with other associated pathologies, such as premature babies with lung or heart disease, or a weakened immune system. Dr. Roman warns that, in these patients, the risk of hospitalization for RSV is ten times higher than that of children who were born at term.

Bronchiolitis on the rise in children (November 2019).

Selon les données de la Société espagnole de pédiatrie d'urgence, l'incidence de la bronchiolite a augmenté de 16% en 2009. La transmission de virus respiratoire syncytial (VRS), qui cause cette maladie, a été facilitée par les basses températures et la pluie. Dr Octavio Ramilo, directeur des maladies infectieuses dans le Hôpital national des enfants de Columbus et professeur de pédiatrie à la Université d'État de l'Ohio, prévient en outre qu'il est fort possible que le virus reste actif jusqu'en mai ou juin, de sorte que le traitement préventif ne doit pas être abandonné jusqu'à ce que le danger disparaisse.

Selon Ramilo, la bronchiolite est la première cause d'hospitalisation au monde chez les enfants de moins d'un an et la première cause d'infections respiratoires graves au cours des premières années de la vie. Le Dr Raúl Ortiz de Lejarazu, chef du service de microbiologie et d'immunologie de l'hôpital de Valladolid, affirme que le pourcentage d'enfants atteints de bronchiolite a doublé au cours des sept dernières années.

Les bébés, les plus vulnérables à la bronchiolite

La bronchiolite est une maladie causée par une infection virale aiguë des voies respiratoires, qui s'enflamme et se remplit de mucus, ce qui la rend difficile à respirer. Il affecte particulièrement les bébés et les jeunes enfants, en particulier au cours des deux premières années de la vie. Les symptômes les plus courants sont la toux, le mucus, une détresse respiratoire (fatigue, respiration sifflante ...) et une perte d'appétit.

Enriqueta Román, responsable du service de pédiatrie de l'hôpital de la Puerta de Hierro à Madrid, explique que les bébés sont les plus vulnérables, en particulier au cours des douze premiers mois, car ils n'ont pas encore développé les défenses période où ils ont leur premier contact avec le virus.

Bien que la maladie soit généralement bénigne, elle peut être aggravée chez certains patients présentant d'autres pathologies associées, tels que les bébés prématurés souffrant de maladie pulmonaire ou cardiaque ou le système immunitaire affaibli. Le Dr Roman avertit que, chez ces patients, le risque d'hospitalisation pour le VRS est dix fois supérieur à celui des enfants nés à terme.

Réponse à une maman Antivax - Tronche de Fake #2 (Septembre 2019).