Until now, specialists advised to administer the vaccine against the virus of the human papilloma virus (HPV) to the girls before they had their first sexual relation, although the recommendation extended to the young women, less than 26 years. A recent study revealed that prophylaxis was also effective in adult women over 26 years of age but, in the case of children, it was not considered advisable.

However, experts have found that HPV infection has been detected in a significant proportion of cancer cases. year Y vagina (at 80 percent), of penis Y vulva (40 percent), and also, although in a lower percentage, in oropharyngeal cancers in both sexes. For this reason, they consider that it would be appropriate for vaccination to be extended to children. With this measure, not only could cervical cancer be eradicated in the near future, but, in addition, the vaccinated population would benefit from additional protection against others tumors whose appearance is associated with the presence of this virus.

HPV infection has also been detected in a significant proportion of cancers of the anus, vagina, penis and vulva

Every year 2,000 new cases of uterine cancer are diagnosed in our country, a pathology that is very prevalent in women between 15 and 44 years old. The vaccine currently administered to girls in Spain protects against the four most harmful variants of the virus and, in the opinion of Xavier Bosch, head of the Cancer Epidemiology Program of the Catalan Institute of Oncology, would also serve as protection against other tumors in which HPV infection is implicated, hence the convenience of the vaccine being applied without distinction of sex.

Is My Child Too Young to Get the HPV Vaccine? - Answers from a Pediatrician (November 2019).

Jusqu'à présent, les spécialistes conseillaient d'administrer le vaccin contre le virus du papillome humain (VPH) aux filles avant leur première relation sexuelle, bien que la recommandation s'adresse aux jeunes femmes de moins de 26 ans. Une étude récente a révélé que la prophylaxie était également efficace chez les femmes adultes de plus de 26 ans mais que, chez les enfants, elle n’était pas jugée souhaitable.

Toutefois, des experts ont découvert que l’infection à HPV avait été détectée dans une proportion significative des cas de cancer. anus et le vagin (à 80%), de pénis et vulve (40%) et, bien que dans une moindre proportion, dans les cancers de l’oropharynx chez les deux sexes. Pour cette raison, ils considèrent qu'il serait approprié que la vaccination soit étendue aux enfants. Grâce à cette mesure, le cancer du col de l’utérus pourrait non seulement être éradiqué dans un proche avenir, mais la population vaccinée bénéficierait également d’une protection supplémentaire contre les autres. tumeurs dont l'apparition est associée à la présence de ce virus.

L'infection à HPV a également été détectée dans une proportion significative de cancers de l'anus, du vagin, du pénis et de la vulve

Chaque année, 2 000 nouveaux cas de cancer de l'utérus sont diagnostiqués dans notre pays, une pathologie très répandue chez les femmes âgées de 15 à 44 ans. Le vaccin actuellement administré aux filles en Espagne protège contre les quatre variantes les plus nocives du virus et, selon Xavier Bosch, responsable du programme d'épidémiologie du cancer de l'Institut catalan d'oncologie, servirait également de protection contre d'autres tumeurs l'infection à HPV est impliquée, d'où la commodité du vaccin appliqué sans distinction de sexe.

Enquête vaccination 8-L'immunité naturelle des enfants, politique de santé ou de maladie ? (Septembre 2019).