A study conducted by the Catalan Institute of Oncology (ICO-Idibell), which has just published the 'British Journal of Cancer' has shown for the first time that the tetravalent vaccine against human papillomavirus (HPV) is also effective in women adults over 26 years old. So far, only its effectiveness had been demonstrated below the age of 25 years.

This virus (there are several groups of HPV) is the main precursor factor of cervical cancer, and can cause genital and skin warts to develop. It is also related to anal cancer and, to a lesser extent, those of the vulva, vagina, penis and oropharynx.

The research, led by the researcher of the Infection and Cancer Unit of the ICO-Idibell, has been carried out for four years in about 4,000 women between 25 and 45 years, half of whom were given the vaccine and the rest a placebo. Following the application of the vaccine, the number of developed antibodies, HPV infections, preneoplastic lesions and genital warts were monitored.

So far, only the effectiveness of the HPV vaccine had been demonstrated below the age of 25 years

The ICO has been the only Spanish center to participate in the clinical trials of the two vaccines that exist so far: Gardasil and Cervarix. The first tetravalent, protects against variants 6, 11, 16 and 18 of the virus (HPV-6 and HPV-11 cause most cases of genital warts), while Cervarix, bivalent, does so alone to HPV-16 and HPV-18, the two types of HPV that cause the most cases (70%) of cervical cancer. Keep in mind that vaccines do not protect against all types of HPV that cause cervical cancer, and that they are only preventive, that is, they do not serve to treat cervical cancer as such.

In Spain, it is estimated that approximately 7% of women under 25 years of age are infected with the Human Papilloma Virus. The most effective method to prevent it is to vaccinate girls in preadolescence, before they have their first sexual relationship. However, we must remember that this vaccine should not replace other preventive measures such as the use of condoms and periodic cytologies.

Source: EUROPE PRESS

HPV vaccine: Help your kids prevent cancer (November 2019).

Une étude de l'Institut catalan d'oncologie (ICO-Idibell), qui vient de publier le «British Journal of Cancer», a montré pour la première fois que le vaccin tétravalent contre le papillomavirus humain (VPH) est également efficace chez les femmes adultes de plus de 26 ans. Jusqu'à présent, seule son efficacité avait été démontrée avant l'âge de 25 ans.

Ce virus (il existe plusieurs groupes de VPH) est le principal facteur précurseur du cancer du col utérin et peut provoquer l'apparition de verrues génitales et cutanées. Elle est également liée au cancer anal et, dans une moindre mesure, à ceux de la vulve, du vagin, du pénis et de l’oropharynx.

La recherche, dirigée par la chercheuse de l'unité Infection et cancer de l'ICO-Idibell, a été menée pendant quatre ans sur environ 4 000 femmes âgées de 25 à 45 ans, dont la moitié a reçu le vaccin et le reposer un placebo. Après l’application du vaccin, le nombre d’anticorps développés, d’infections au VPH, de lésions prénéoplasiques et de verrues génitales a été contrôlé.

Jusqu'à présent, seule l'efficacité du vaccin contre le VPH avait été démontrée avant l'âge de 25 ans.

L’OIC a été le seul centre espagnol à participer aux essais cliniques des deux vaccins existants: Gardasil et Cervarix. Le premier tétravalent, protège contre les variantes 6, 11, 16 et 18 du virus (HPV-6 et HPV-11 causent la plupart des verrues génitales), alors que Cervarix, bivalent, le fait seul HPV-16 et HPV-18, les deux types de HPV qui causent le plus de cas (70%) de cancer du col utérin. N'oubliez pas que les vaccins ne protègent pas contre tous les types de VPH qui causent le cancer du col de l'utérus et qu'ils ne sont que préventifs, c'est-à-dire qu'ils ne servent pas à traiter le cancer du col de l'utérus en tant que tel.

En Espagne, on estime qu'environ 7% des femmes de moins de 25 ans sont infectées par le virus du papillome humain. La méthode la plus efficace pour le prévenir consiste à vacciner les filles en pré-adolescence avant leur première relation sexuelle. Cependant, nous devons nous rappeler que ce vaccin ne doit pas remplacer d'autres mesures préventives telles que l'utilisation de préservatifs et les cytologies périodiques.

Source: EUROPE PRESSE

Le HPV (papilloma virus) ! C'est quoi ? #14 (+LSF) (Août 2019).