The hiccup, which in medicine is called singul, consists of an inspiratory sound that is produced as a result of the abrupt, involuntary, and intermittent contraction of the diaphragm (a muscle that is at the base of the lungs) that causes the epiglottis to close, causing the typical soundhic.

Hiccups, which usually begin for no apparent reason and usually go away in a few minutes, can affect people of all ages; in fact, even fetuses can have hiccups, and it is very common in babies up to six months of age, which is often of concern to first-time parents.

Why do we have hiccups?

The diaphragm descends when we inhale so that the lungs fill with air, and it rises when we exhale to facilitate the release of air from the lungs. When this mechanism is altered and the diaphragm rises or falls earlier than normal, breathing becomes different, causing hiccups.

Hiccups are usually a transient and benign disorder, which lasts only a few minutes and resolves spontaneously, but in exceptional cases can last for days, weeks, or months, becoming thenpersistent hiccups, that needs medical attention because it can have its origin in gastric, thoracic, metabolic or neurological alterations, and even be a symptom of diseases such as stomach ulcer, esophagitis or pancreatitis, among others.

Some possible causes of hiccups are:

  • Eat excessively.
  • Eat very fast.
  • Abusing alcohol
  • Irritation of the diaphragm.
  • Alterations of the stomach.
  • States of nervousness or excitement.
  • Abdominal surgery
  • Consume spicy or spicy foods or liquids.
  • Having any disease or disorder that irritates the nerves that control the diaphragm.

How to stop the hiccups

There are no specific or scientifically proven measures to stop hiccups, and what for some people is effective, others do not help at all, but some suggestions you could try are:

  • Take a glass of cold water.
  • Drink water by crouching the body forward.
  • Hold your breath and breathe out slowly, repeating the process several times.
  • Take a spoonful of sugar.
  • Breathe repeatedly in a paper bag.
  • Take a teaspoon of lemon or a little vinegar.
  • That give you a shock when you find yourself unprepared (although this may not be recommended for some people, and should not be done with children).
  • Medications (only should be administered in case of persistent hiccups and under medical prescription).

In the case of babies, experts explain that there are no remedies to stop hiccups and you have to wait patiently for them to pass spontaneously. It is considered harmless for children, but if the child has frequent or very prolonged hiccups (half an hour or more) it is advisable to consult with the pediatrician to rule out that it is a digestive, respiratory or neurological problem.

SML Short: Jeffy Has Hiccups! (November 2019).

Le hypo, qui en médecine s'appelle singul, consiste en un son inspiratoire produit à la suite de la contraction abrupte, involontaire et intermittente du diaphragme (un muscle qui se trouve à la base des poumons) qui provoque la fermeture de l'épiglotte, provoquant le son typiquehic.

Le hoquet, qui commence habituellement sans raison apparente et disparaît généralement en quelques minutes, peut toucher des personnes de tout âge; En fait, même les fœtus peuvent avoir le hoquet, et il est très courant chez les bébés jusqu'à l'âge de six mois, ce qui inquiète souvent les parents pour la première fois.

Pourquoi avons-nous le hoquet?

Le diaphragme descend lorsque nous inspirons afin que les poumons se remplissent d'air et il se soulève lorsque nous expirons pour faciliter la libération de l'air à partir des poumons. Lorsque ce mécanisme est modifié et que le diaphragme monte ou tombe plus tôt que la normale, la respiration devient différente, ce qui provoque un hoquet.

Le hoquet est généralement un trouble transitoire et bénin, qui ne dure que quelques minutes et se résorbe spontanément, mais dans des cas exceptionnels, il peut durer des jours, des semaines ou des mois.hoquet persistant, qui nécessite des soins médicaux car il peut provenir d'altérations gastriques, thoraciques, métaboliques ou neurologiques, et même être le symptôme de maladies telles que les ulcères d'estomac, l'œsophagite ou la pancréatite.

Certains possible causes du hoquet ils sont:

  • Manger excessivement.
  • Mange très vite.
  • Abus d'alcool
  • Irritation du diaphragme.
  • Altérations de l'estomac.
  • États de nervosité ou d'excitation.
  • Chirurgie abdominale
  • Consommez des aliments épicés ou épicés ou des liquides.
  • Avoir une maladie ou un trouble qui irrite les nerfs qui contrôlent le diaphragme.

Comment arrêter le hoquet

Il n'y a pas de mesures spécifiques ou scientifiquement prouvées pour arrêter le hoquet, et pour certaines personnes, ce qui est efficace, d'autres ne permettent pas du tout, mais voici quelques suggestions que vous pouvez essayer:

  • Prenez un verre d'eau froide.
  • Buvez de l'eau en accroupissant le corps.
  • Retenez votre souffle et expirez lentement en répétant le processus plusieurs fois.
  • Prenez une cuillerée de sucre.
  • Respirez à plusieurs reprises dans un sac en papier.
  • Prenez une cuillère à café de citron ou un peu de vinaigre.
  • Cela vous choque lorsque vous vous trouvez non préparé (bien que cela puisse ne pas être recommandé pour certaines personnes et ne devrait pas être fait avec des enfants).
  • Médicaments (ne doivent être administrés qu'en cas de hoquet persistant et sous prescription médicale).

Dans le cas de les bébés, les experts expliquent qu’il n’existe aucun traitement pour arrêter le hoquet et qu’il faut attendre patiemment qu’ils passent spontanément. Il est considéré comme inoffensif pour les enfants, mais si l'enfant a un hoquet fréquent ou très prolongé (une demi-heure ou plus), il est conseillé de consulter le pédiatre pour écarter le risque qu'il s'agisse d'un problème digestif, respiratoire ou neurologique.

COMMENT FAIRE PASSER LE HOQUET À TOUS LES COUPS (Août 2019).