The coach of F.C. Barcelona, ​​Pep Guardiola, is not the only one who has had to stop his daily activity and go to the hospital for a problem of herniated disc. It seems that more than 80 percent of the population will have back pain at some point in their lives. But that's not all, according to the head of Neurosurgery Service of the Hospital Niño Jesús and the Clinic La Luz in Madrid, Francisco Villarejo, in nine out of ten cases that pain will be caused by a herniated disc. A problem, that of the intervertebral disc, by which more than 20,000 interventions are carried out each year in Spain.

This pathology occurs because "over the years the column degenerates because the disc loses water and deteriorates and leaves its site," says this expert, noting that its appearance in young people is usually caused by trauma, an accident or the practice of sports, such as skiing, playing football or basketball.

Herniated disc, surgery or conservative treatment?

Unfortunately, in many cases conservative treatment (without resorting to surgery) is not effective, although it depends on many factors such as the age and sex of the patient, or the existence of other diseases such as diabetes, hypertension, obesity, the type of hernia , the time of evolution or the type of work activity performed.

In fact, it is estimated that 20 percent of hernias are reabsorbed, either because the fragment has not migrated and can return to its place, or because it has but been absorbed by the body's natural mechanisms. The problem, Dr. Villarejo adds, is in the other hernias that do not disappear on their own. For these cases there are multiple therapeutic options, although not in all cases the solution goes through the operating room. As a first measure, it is usually indicated rehabilitation and pharmacological treatment and, when the pain becomes acute and does not subside after following a rest regime, the option of surgery can be considered. Villarejo believes that "within the range of possibilities, microsurgery is the most effective technique in the treatment of herniated discs, since it can be applied in all types of hernias and has a result of 97 percent success."

In this sense, and in spite of the different current scientific current that raise doubts about whether the lumbar disc hernia should be operated, surgical treatment has shown very good results in these patients in whom the pain completely disappears. Not only that, but also, surgery allows recovering social and occupational activity prior to the illness in front of patients who choose not to have surgery.

SOURCE: EUROPE PRESS

Back Pain: Lumbar Disc Injury (November 2019).

L'entraîneur de F.C. Barcelone, Pep Guardiola, n'est pas le seul à devoir arrêter ses activités quotidiennes et à se rendre à l'hôpital pour un problème de hernie discale. Il semble que plus de 80% de la population aura mal au dos à un moment de leur vie. Mais ce n’est pas tout, selon le responsable du service de neurochirurgie de l’hôpital Niño Jesús et de la clinique La Luz de Madrid, Francisco Villarejo, dans neuf cas sur dix où la douleur serait provoquée par une hernie discale. Un problème, celui du disque intervertébral, par lequel plus de 20 000 interventions sont effectuées chaque année en Espagne.

Cette pathologie est due au fait que "la colonne dégénère au fil des années car le disque perd de l’eau, se détériore et quitte son site", explique cet expert, soulignant que son apparence chez les jeunes est généralement causée par un traumatisme, un accident ou la pratique de sports tels que le ski, le football ou le basketball.

Hernie discale, chirurgie ou traitement conservateur?

Malheureusement, dans de nombreux cas, le traitement conservateur (sans intervention chirurgicale) n'est pas efficace, bien qu'il dépende de nombreux facteurs tels que l'âge et le sexe du patient, ou l'existence d'autres maladies telles que le diabète, l'hypertension, l'obésité, le type de hernie. , le moment de l'évolution ou le type d'activité exercée.

En fait, on estime que 20% des hernies sont réabsorbées, soit parce que le fragment n'a pas migré et peut retourner à sa place, soit parce qu'il a été absorbé par les mécanismes naturels du corps. Le problème, ajoute le Dr Villarejo, réside dans les autres hernies qui ne disparaissent pas d'elles-mêmes. Pour ces cas, les options thérapeutiques sont multiples, bien que la solution ne passe pas toujours par la salle d'opération. Dans un premier temps, il est généralement indiqué un traitement pharmacologique et de réadaptation et, lorsque la douleur devient aiguë et ne disparaît pas après un régime de repos, l’opération chirurgicale peut être envisagée. Villarejo estime que "dans la gamme des possibilités, la microchirurgie est la technique la plus efficace dans le traitement des disques de hernie, car elle peut être appliquée à tous les types de hernie et a un résultat de 97% de réussite".

En ce sens, et malgré le courant scientifique différent qui soulève des doutes quant à l'opportunité d'opérer la hernie discale lombaire, le traitement chirurgical a donné de très bons résultats chez ces patients chez qui la douleur a complètement disparu. Non seulement cela, mais aussi, la chirurgie permet de récupérer une activité sociale et professionnelle antérieure à la maladie devant des patients qui choisissent de ne pas subir de chirurgie.

SOURCE: EUROPE PRESSE

Comment soulager le mal de dos ? (Août 2019).