A new test to detect HIV, which can be performed at home and offers the result in a short period of time, between 20 and 40 minutes, has just been authorized by the American Agency for Medicine (FDA). This home test will be marketed in the United States from October with the name of 'OraQuick In-Home'.

Experts estimate that there are approximately 1.2 million people in the United States who have been infected by the AIDS virus, but that one in five infected is unaware of it, and they hope that the new test made available to the general public will serve to favor an increase in the number of people who take the test.

It is estimated that there are 1.2 million people in the United States infected with the AIDS virus, and that one in five infected does not know

That the carriers of the virus know their status would allow early initiation of the treatment of AIDS when necessary and, above all, establish preventive measures to prevent the spread of HIV to other people.

In the United States there are other tests that can be performed at home, but to know the result has to resort to the laboratory, while 'OraQuick' allows you to get it quickly, with only a sample of saliva, and without leaving the home.

According to previous clinical trials, in which the test reached an accuracy of up to 92%, it should only give a false positive result every 5,000 tests. However, from the FDA they warn that, in the case of obtaining a positive result, it is essential that the affected person goes to a medical center to perform other additional tests that confirm or rule out the infection.

Medical Animation: HIV and AIDS (November 2019).

Un nouveau test de détection du VIH, qui peut être effectué à domicile et offre le résultat dans un court laps de temps, entre 20 et 40 minutes, vient d'être autorisé par l'Agence américaine pour la médecine (FDA). Ce test à domicile sera commercialisé aux États-Unis à partir d'octobre sous le nom de «OraQuick In-Home».

Les experts estiment qu’environ 1,2 million de personnes aux États-Unis ont été infectées par le virus du sida, mais qu’une personne infectée sur cinq ne le sait pas, et elles espèrent que le nouveau test mis à la disposition du grand public servira à favoriser une augmentation du nombre de personnes qui passent le test.

On estime qu’aux États-Unis, 1,2 million de personnes sont infectées par le virus du sida et qu’une personne infectée sur cinq ne le sait pas.

Le fait que les porteurs du virus connaissent leur statut permettrait d’instaurer rapidement le traitement du sida lorsque cela serait nécessaire et, surtout, de mettre en place des mesures préventives pour empêcher la propagation du VIH à d’autres personnes.

Aux États-Unis, d'autres tests peuvent être effectués à la maison, mais pour connaître le résultat, il faut recourir au laboratoire, alors qu'OraQuick vous permet de l'obtenir rapidement, avec seulement un échantillon de salive, et sans quitter votre domicile.

Selon des essais cliniques antérieurs, dans lesquels le test atteignait une précision de 92%, il ne devrait donner un résultat faussement positif que tous les 5 000 tests. Cependant, la FDA avertit qu’en cas d’obtention d’un résultat positif, il est essentiel que la personne concernée se rende dans un centre médical pour effectuer d’autres tests supplémentaires confirmant ou infirmant l’infection.

Sicko (Sous-titres Français & Anglais - French & English Subtitles) (Août 2019).