A medicine composed of two antivirals, which is administered orally in the form of a pill before maintaining a risky sexual relationship, with the aim of preventing the transmission of HIV, has received the approval of the United States Medicines Agency (FDA), and has become the first preventive treatment that reduces the risk of becoming infected with HIV.

It is a drug that was already being used to control the AIDS virus in infected people, but now it is also allowed to be used as a prophylactic measure to reduce the risk of infection. However, the US health authorities have already warned that this pill is not a substitute for other protection methods, such as preservative.

The drug was already used to control the AIDS virus in infected people, and now its use will be allowed as a prophylactic measure to reduce the risk of infection

In two previous clinical trials the use of this drug was able to reduce the cases of infection by 42% in a study in which healthy men were involved in homosexual relationships, and in 75% when the volunteers were heterosexual couples in which one of the two were infected with HIV and the other was not. This significant difference in the percentage of infection reduction could be due, although the FDA does not specify it, that anal sex is more aggressive for mucous membranes than vaginal.

Experts point out that the effectiveness of the new method is, in any case, less than that offered by the use of condoms - which exceeds 95% - and that is why some have expressed their disagreement with the approval of the drug because they believe it could be transmitted to the population the false message that it is a valid substitute for the condom.

However, the preventive pill is not indicated for the general population, nor does it pretend to replace the condom, but it is directed to certain groups, such as people who practice prostitution in violent environments where it is not always possible to use the drug. condom, for which although it will not constitute a total protection against the virus, it can reduce the risk of infection.

FDA approval for 2 HIV drugs (November 2019).

Un médicament composé de deux antiviraux, qui est administré par voie orale sous forme de pilule avant le maintien d'un relation sexuelle à risque, dans le but de prévenir la transmission du VIH, a été approuvé par la United States Medicines Agency (FDA) et est devenu le premier traitement préventif réduisant le risque d'infection par le VIH.

C'est un médicament qui était déjà utilisé pour contrôler le virus du sida chez les personnes infectées, mais il est maintenant autorisé à l'utiliser également comme mesure prophylactique pour réduire le risque d'infection. Cependant, les autorités sanitaires américaines ont déjà averti que cette pilule ne remplaçait pas d'autres méthodes de protection, telles que préservatif.

Le médicament était déjà utilisé pour lutter contre le virus du sida chez les personnes infectées et son utilisation sera maintenant autorisée comme mesure prophylactique pour réduire le risque d'infection.

Lors de deux essais cliniques antérieurs, l'utilisation de ce médicament avait permis de réduire les cas d'infection de 42% dans une étude dans laquelle des hommes en bonne santé étaient impliqués dans des relations homosexuelles et dans 75% des cas où les volontaires étaient des couples hétérosexuels dans lesquels l'un des deux étaient infectés par le VIH et l'autre non. Cette différence significative dans le pourcentage de réduction de l’infection pourrait être due, bien que la FDA ne le spécifie pas, le sexe anal est plus agressif pour les muqueuses que vaginal.

Les experts soulignent que l'efficacité de la nouvelle méthode est dans tous les cas inférieure à celle offerte par l'utilisation de préservatifs - qui dépasse 95% - et c'est pourquoi certains ont exprimé leur désaccord avec l'approbation du médicament car ils pensent qu'il pourrait être transmis. à la population le faux message qu'il s'agit d'un substitut valable du préservatif.

Cependant, la pilule préventive n'est pas indiquée pour la population en général, ni ne prétend remplacer le préservatif, mais elle s'adresse à certains groupes, tels que les personnes qui se prostituent dans des environnements violents où il n'est pas toujours possible de l'utiliser. préservatif, pour lequel, bien qu'il ne constitue pas une protection totale contre le virus, il peut réduire le risque d'infection.

The PrEP Project Ep 1: Pop! (Août 2019).