The European Union has requested that all girls between the ages of 10 and 14 years be immunized against human papillomavirus, before the onset of sexual intercourse, based on the safety and good results of this vaccine. avoid the appearance of this virus, which can lead to cervical cancer.

The two currently available vaccines act against six types of papillomavirus, so that screening tests (cytology or Pap test) are still necessary after vaccination. However, getting vaccinated significantly reduces the risks, and efforts are being made to extend vaccination campaigns to men as well.

The European Center for Disease Control advises to vaccinate all girls between 10 and 14 years old against human papillomavirus, before the beginning of sexual intercourse

Each year about 15,000 women die in the European Union as a result of gynecological cancers caused by the human papillomavirus. Despite the benefits offered by the vaccine, and that its safety has been proven, a report from the European Center for Disease Control (ECDC) indicates that the coverage of this vaccine is still insufficient in the 19 countries where the vaccine is available. has evaluated.

With respect to the vaccination of children, currently the ECDC does not consider it an effective cost, although more studies are needed, since administering the vaccine also to boys would protect them against cancer of the penis, cancer of the anus and cancer. cancer of the oral cavity and, in addition, it would prevent that they transmitted the virus to the women with whom they maintained sexual relations. In the United States, the American Medicines Agency (FDA) approved the tetravalent vaccine against virus types 6, 11, 16 and 18, for both women and men, aged between 9 and 26 years.

October 2013 ACIP Meeting -- Human Papillomavirus (HPV) Vaccines (November 2019).

L'Union européenne a demandé que toutes les filles âgées de 10 à 14 ans soient immunisées contre le papillomavirus humain avant le début des rapports sexuels, sur la base de la sécurité et des bons résultats de ce vaccin. éviter l'apparition de ce virus, qui peut entraîner un cancer du col utérin.

Les deux vaccins actuellement disponibles agissent contre six types de papillomavirus, de sorte que des tests de dépistage (cytologie ou test de Pap) restent nécessaires après la vaccination. Cependant, se faire vacciner réduit considérablement les risques, et des efforts sont également déployés pour étendre les campagnes de vaccination aux hommes.

Le Centre européen de contrôle des maladies recommande de vacciner toutes les filles âgées de 10 à 14 ans contre le papillomavirus humain, avant le début des rapports sexuels.

Chaque année, environ 15 000 femmes meurent dans l'Union européenne des suites de cancers gynécologiques causés par le papillomavirus humain. Malgré les avantages offerts par le vaccin et son innocuité prouvée, un rapport du Centre européen de contrôle des maladies (ECDC) indique que la couverture de ce vaccin est toujours insuffisante dans les 19 pays où il est disponible. a évalué.

En ce qui concerne la vaccination des enfants, le CEPCM ne considère actuellement pas que le coût soit efficace, mais des études supplémentaires sont nécessaires, car l'administration du vaccin également aux garçons les protégerait du cancer du pénis, du cancer de l'anus et du cancer. cancer de la cavité buccale et, en outre, cela empêcherait qu’elles transmettent le virus aux femmes avec lesquelles elles ont des relations sexuelles. Aux États-Unis, l'Agence américaine des médicaments (FDA) a approuvé le vaccin tétravalent contre les types de virus 6, 11, 16 et 18, tant pour les femmes que pour les hommes, âgés de 9 à 26 ans.

VPH : mieux le comprendre pour mieux le prévenir! -- Dr Marc Steben (Août 2019).