Attention deficit hyperactivity disorder (ADHD) begins in childhood but, without adequate treatment, it can continue into adulthood and cause numerous complications. At present, however, there are medications that have proven effective in improving the symptoms of more than 70% of treated patients.

ADHD is a neuropsychiatric disorder, with a genetic origin in most cases (76%), which affects between 3 and 7% of school-age children and which, in many cases, is not diagnosed correctly. , so that patients do not follow the appropriate therapy and may have problems such as school failure, difficulties in their family and social relationships, and loss of self-esteem.

Although the definitive diagnosis of ADHD is established by the psychologist or the neurologist, the role of the primary care physician is key when it comes to detecting the initial symptoms early, to refer the patient to the specialist, and prevent them from taking inappropriate medications and his condition alters his quality of life and that of his family.

Normally, parents who come to the primary care pediatrician do so when the child has learning or behavioral problems, sometimes following the advice of educational professionals.

The doctor Josep Antoni Ramos, a psychiatrist at the Vall d'Hebrón Hospital in Barcelona, ​​who has participated in the National Congress of SEMERGEN held recently in Oviedo, points out that it is essential to recognize the symptoms, such as the attention deficit, which usually translates into poor school performance, and alterations in behavior, to make an early diagnosis. For this, as reported by Dr. Marcelino García Noriega, neuropediatric, there are basic questionnaires that serve to detect the presence of the disorder in children between six and eight years.

Treatment of ADHD

ADHD is an underdiagnosed condition, both in children and adults, and it is important to keep in mind that hyperactivity, which is a symptom that is visible to the naked eye, is not always present, nor to the same degree, in all patients, so that its absence does not imply that there is no problem of lack of attention.

When the disease occurs in adults, these usually present problems to organize their work and plan their daily activities

When the disease occurs in adults, these usually present problems to organize their work and plan their daily activities, or to maintain attention, depressive symptoms, impulsivity, anxiety, addiction to alcohol or other toxic substances, and difficulties in their relationships with the others, among other manifestations of the disorder.

It is also common for many adults to consult their doctor when they see that they have problems similar to those of their children, and that they have never followed a treatment to correct them.

According to Dr. Ramos, it has been proven that currently available pharmacological treatments are very effective, both in adults and children, since they have benefited more than 70% of patients, and adds that the medications, in addition, They can be combined with cognitive-behavioral treatments with excellent results.

Source: Spanish Society of Primary Care Physicians (SEMERGEN)

ADHD Treatment Phoenix Drug Free Options For ADD ADHD (November 2019).

Le trouble d'hyperactivité avec déficit de l'attention (TDAH) débute dans l'enfance mais, sans traitement adéquat, il peut persister à l'âge adulte et entraîner de nombreuses complications. À l'heure actuelle, toutefois, il existe des médicaments efficaces pour améliorer les symptômes de plus de 70% des patients traités.

Le TDAH est un trouble neuropsychiatrique, d'origine génétique dans la plupart des cas (76%), qui affecte entre 3 et 7% des enfants d'âge scolaire et qui, dans de nombreux cas, n'est pas diagnostiqué correctement. , afin que les patients ne suivent pas le traitement approprié et puissent avoir des problèmes tels que l’échec scolaire, des difficultés dans leurs relations familiales et sociales et une perte d’estime de soi.

Bien que le diagnostic définitif du TDAH soit établi par le psychologue ou le neurologue, le rôle du médecin de soins primaires est essentiel pour détecter rapidement les premiers symptômes, orienter le patient vers le spécialiste et l'empêcher de prendre des médicaments inappropriés. sa condition altère sa qualité de vie et celle de sa famille.

Normalement, les parents qui consultent le pédiatre en soins primaires le font lorsque l'enfant a des problèmes d'apprentissage ou de comportement, en suivant parfois les conseils de professionnels de l'éducation.

Le docteur Josep Antoni Ramos, psychiatre à l'hôpital Vall d'Hebrón à Barcelone, qui a participé au congrès national de SEMERGEN tenu à Oviedo récemment, souligne qu'il est essentiel de reconnaître les symptômes, tels que le déficit de l'attention, qui se traduit généralement par de piètres résultats scolaires, changements de comportement, pour poser un diagnostic précoce. Pour cela, comme rapporté par Dr. Marcelino García Norieganeuropédiatrique, des questionnaires de base permettent de détecter la présence du trouble chez les enfants de six à huit ans.

Traitement du TDAH

Le TDAH est une condition sous-diagnostiquée, tant chez les enfants que chez les adultes, et il est important de garder à l'esprit que hyperactivité, symptôme visible à l’œil nu, n’est pas toujours présent, ni au même degré, chez tous les patients, de sorte que son absence ne signifie pas qu’il n’ya pas de problème de manque d’attention.

Lorsque la maladie survient chez les adultes, ceux-ci rencontrent généralement des difficultés pour organiser leur travail et planifier leurs activités quotidiennes.

Lorsque la maladie survient chez les adultes, ceux-ci rencontrent généralement des difficultés pour organiser leur travail et planifier leurs activités quotidiennes, ou pour maintenir leur attention, symptômes dépressifs, impulsivité, anxiété, dépendance à l'alcool ou à d'autres substances toxiques, et difficultés dans leurs relations avec la d'autres, parmi d'autres manifestations du désordre.

Il est également courant que de nombreux adultes consultent leur médecin s’ils constatent des problèmes similaires à ceux de leurs enfants et qu’ils n’ont jamais suivi de traitement pour les corriger.

Selon le Dr Ramos, il a été prouvé que les traitements pharmacologiques actuellement disponibles sont très efficaces, tant chez l'adulte que chez l'enfant, puisqu'ils ont bénéficié à plus de 70% des patients, et ajoute que les médicaments, en outre, Ils peuvent être combinés avec des traitements cognitivo-comportementaux avec d'excellents résultats.

Source: Société espagnole des médecins de soins primaires (SEMERGEN)

Dr Robert Morse [En, Fr] — Fertilité, grossesse… et après ! (Août 2019).