A patient of 79 years suffering from an abdominal aortic aneurysm has been the beneficiary of this pioneering operation, impossible until now due to the angularity of the patient's arteries.

The Hospital Clínic de Barcelona has implanted what can be considered the lowest-caliber prosthesis on the market to a 79-year-old patient suffering from an abdominal aortic aneurysm -with a dilatation of 52 mm in the aorta- difficult to access due to angularity and narrowness of its arteries, in a pioneering operation in the world, only carried out simultaneously in Germany.

The head of Vascular Surgery of the Clinic and leader of the operation, Vicenç Riambau, has explained that it is a minimally invasive intervention to which the patient could not have been subjected without this application, so it would have required an open surgery with more risk, complications and postoperative.

This technological evolution represents a breakthrough for vascular surgeons who treat patients whose arteries have difficult access being more angular and narrow, as is the case of women and some men, especially older, explained Riambau.

The surgeon has also stressed that this innovation is positive for all patients candidates to receive a stent, since in the smallest caliber of the implanted catheter - six millimeters (equivalent to a pencil), "one less than those used until now - can reduce the damage, "he added.

The patient of 79 years was diagnosed in another center the aneurysm of 52 mm in diameter and another associated with the right iliac artery of 33 mm. However, his femoral arteries and the external iliac arteries were of marked tortuosity and small caliber - only six millimeters. His pathological background included an ischemic heart disease that required two coronary bypasses and a chronic lung disease under medical treatment with bronchodilators.

Given the clinical and anatomical complexity of the case, the patient was referred to the Clínic for endovascular treatment. The surgery was carried out with a type of anesthesia that allowed the patient to remain conscious all the time and was discharged at 36 hours. The intervention, of 55 minutes, consisted in the introduction by the groin of the catheter -innovation of the American Cook Medical- to make it ascend to the area of ​​the aneurysm through a guided camera. Upon reaching the area blocked by a more lubricated layer, the medical team deployed the 'stent' - nitinol tube - coated with fiber and cloth - polyester - as if it were an umbrella to prevent a rupture of the artery.

At the end of the intervention, the patient remained in the recovery room for six hours and was later transferred to the normal hospital ward where he could dine slightly. After 36 hours he left the hospital by his own feet.

What is an aneurysm?

It is the dilatation of the arteries, a consequence of the weakening of its walls by arteriosclerosis. The aorta, the main artery of the body, originates in the thorax and down to the abdomen.

Abdominal aortic aneurysms are the most frequent, between five and ten percent of men over 65 suffer from it. The most important complication is the rupture of the aorta, which is associated with a very high mortality, close to 90 percent of cases.

EUROPE PRESS
Photo: HOSPITAL CLÍNIC DE BARCELONA

Prometheus and I: building new body parts from stem cells (15 Nov 2011) (November 2019).

Un patient de 79 ans souffrant d'un anévrisme de l'aorte abdominale a bénéficié de cette opération pionnière, impossible jusqu'à présent en raison de l'angularité de ses artères.

L’hôpital Clinique de Barcelone a implanté ce qui peut être considéré comme la prothèse de bas calibre sur le marché chez un patient de 79 ans souffrant d’un anévrisme de l’aorte abdominale - avec une dilatation de l’aorte de 52 mm - difficile d’accès en raison de l’angularité et l'étroitesse de ses artères, dans une opération pionnière dans le monde, réalisée simultanément en Allemagne.

Vicenç Riambau, responsable de la chirurgie vasculaire de la clinique et responsable de l'opération, a expliqué qu'il s'agissait d'une intervention peu invasive à laquelle le patient n'aurait pas pu être soumis sans cette application. Elle aurait donc nécessité une chirurgie ouverte comportant plus risque, complications et postopératoires.

Cette évolution technologique représente une avancée pour les chirurgiens vasculaires qui traitent les patients dont les artères ont un accès difficile, étant plus anguleux et plus étroits, comme c'est le cas des femmes et de certains hommes, en particulier des plus âgés, a expliqué Riambau.

Le chirurgien a également souligné que cette innovation était positive pour tous les patients candidats à une endoprothèse, car dans le plus petit calibre du cathéter implanté - six millimètres (équivalent à un crayon), "un de moins que ceux utilisés jusqu'à présent - réduire les dégâts ", at-il ajouté.

Le patient de 79 ans a été diagnostiqué dans un autre centre l'anévrisme de 52 mm de diamètre et un autre associé à l'artère iliaque droite de 33 mm. Cependant, ses artères fémorales et ses artères iliaques externes étaient de tortuosité marquée et de petit calibre - seulement six millimètres. Ses antécédents pathologiques incluaient une cardiopathie ischémique nécessitant deux pontages coronaires et une maladie pulmonaire chronique sous traitement médical par bronchodilatateurs.

Compte tenu de la complexité clinique et anatomique du cas, le patient a été dirigé vers le Clínic pour un traitement endovasculaire. L'intervention chirurgicale a été réalisée sous une forme d'anesthésie qui a permis au patient de rester conscient tout le temps. Elle est sortie à 36 heures. L’intervention, de 55 minutes, a consisté en l’introduction par l’aine du cathéter - innovation de l’American Cook Medical - pour le faire remonter au secteur de l’anévrisme à l’aide d’une caméra guidée. Après avoir atteint la zone obstruée par une couche plus lubrifiée, l’équipe médicale a déployé le «stent» - tube en nitinol - recouvert de fibre et de tissu - en polyester - comme s’il s’agissait d’un parapluie empêchant la rupture de l’artère.

À la fin de l'intervention, le patient est resté dans la salle de réveil pendant six heures et a ensuite été transféré dans le service hospitalier normal où il pouvait dîner légèrement. Après 36 heures, il a quitté l'hôpital par ses propres pieds.

Qu'est-ce qu'un anévrisme?

C'est la dilatation des artères, conséquence de l'affaiblissement de ses parois par l'artériosclérose. L'aorte, l'artère principale du corps, prend naissance dans le thorax et jusqu'à l'abdomen.

Les anévrismes aortiques abdominaux sont les plus fréquents, entre 5 et 10% des hommes de plus de 65 ans en souffrent. La complication la plus importante est la rupture de l'aorte, qui est associée à une mortalité très élevée, proche de 90% des cas.

EUROPE PRESSE
Photo: HOSPITAL CLÍNIC DE BARCELONA

La historia de Rosa y su Trasplante Capilar con Sanantur Clinic en Estambul (Septembre 2019).