A new study that has been published in the Journal of Agricultural and Food Chemistry of the American Chemical Society (ACS for its acronym in English), has found that the leaves of the tree Ceratonia siliqua, popularly known as carob tree, contain antibacterial substances capable of inhibit the proliferation of bacteria such as Listeria monocytogenes, responsible for listeriosis, a severe food poisoning.

And although human beings have been using plants for medicinal purposes for centuries, there are still many preventive and curative properties of the plant species to be discovered and exploited. In this case, the team of researchers led by Nadhem Aissani, sought to find a natural substance that would serve to conserve food and prevent the proliferation of microorganisms harmful to health, as more and more bacteria resistant to antibiotics, and is necessary find alternatives to fight them.

Extracts of the leaves of the carob tree prevented the growth of Listeria monocytogenes -bacteria responsible for listeriosis- in laboratory cultures

To carry out the research, they collected carob leaves, dried them in a dark place at room temperature, and then stored them in paper bags that they sealed and stored also in the dark and at room temperature. Later they used an extract of these leaves with different strains of microorganisms, such as Salmonella, Escherichia coli or Listeria monocytogenes to check its antibacterial effects.

The researchers observed that the extracts of the leaves of the carob tree prevented the growth of Listeria monocytogenes in laboratory cultures. Now, they want to perform new tests to see if they get the same results with meat and fish samples.

The leaves, bark and fruits of the carob tree are already used in the cosmetics and textiles industry, and also to make a chocolate substitute - carob - that lacks caffeine and theobromine (substances that chocolate does contain), and It is considered very healthy. But if its antibacterial properties are confirmed, it would also serve to develop a totally natural antimicrobial product.

Introduction and Part 1 - Hawthorn - Amanda McQuade Crawford (November 2019).

Une nouvelle étude publiée dans le Journal de la chimie agricole et alimentaire de la American Chemical Society (ACS pour son acronyme en anglais) a révélé que les feuilles de l’arbre Ceratonia siliqua, communément appelé caroubier, contiennent des substances antibactériennes capables inhiber la prolifération de bactéries telles que Listeria monocytogenes, responsables de la listériose, une grave intoxication alimentaire.

Et bien que les êtres humains utilisent des plantes à des fins médicinales depuis des siècles, il reste encore de nombreuses propriétés préventives et curatives des espèces végétales à découvrir et à exploiter. Dans ce cas, l'équipe de chercheurs dirigée par Nadhem Aissani a cherché à trouver une substance naturelle qui servirait à conserver les aliments et à prévenir la prolifération de micro-organismes nocifs pour la santé, car de plus en plus de bactéries résistantes aux antibiotiques étaient nécessaires. trouver des alternatives pour les combattre.

Les extraits de feuilles de caroubrier ont empêché la croissance de Listeria monocytogenes bactéries responsables de la listériose dans les cultures de laboratoire

Pour mener à bien leurs recherches, ils ont recueilli des feuilles de caroube, les ont séchées dans un endroit sombre à la température ambiante, puis les ont stockées dans des sacs en papier qu'ils ont ensuite fermés et conservés également à l'obscurité et à la température ambiante. Plus tard, ils ont utilisé un extrait de ces feuilles avec différentes souches de micro-organismes, tels que Salmonella, Escherichia coli ou Listeria monocytogenes pour vérifier ses effets antibactériens.

Les chercheurs ont observé que les extraits de feuilles de caroube empêchaient la croissance de Listeria monocytogenes dans des cultures de laboratoire. Maintenant, ils veulent effectuer de nouveaux tests pour voir s'ils obtiennent les mêmes résultats avec des échantillons de viande et de poisson.

Les feuilles, l’écorce et les fruits du caroubier sont déjà utilisés dans l’industrie textile et cosmétique, ainsi que pour fabriquer un substitut au chocolat - la caroube - qui manque de caféine et de théobromine (substances que le chocolat contient), et C'est considéré comme très sain. Mais si ses propriétés antibactériennes sont confirmées, il servirait également à développer un produit antimicrobien totalement naturel.

Mangez ces GRAINES tous les jours pour dire AU REVOIR au DIABÈTE (Août 2019).