The memory and other cognitive functions of our brain, like to reason or understand could begin to deteriorate sooner than previously thought, at 45 years of age, according to the results of an investigation that has been published in the British Medical Journal.

In the opinion of the authors of the study, Center for Research in Epidemiology and Public Health (France), and the University College London (United Kingdom), it is essential to know how aging affects cognitive processes to intervene early when the deterioration of brain functions begins to occur, and thus achieve a better prognosis of these disorders in the long term, since the increase in Life expectancy It will also increase the number of people who develop some kind of dementia in the long term.

It is essential to know how aging affects cognitive processes to intervene early when the deterioration of brain functions begins to occur

The study began in 1997, and had the participation of 5,198 men and 2,192 women between 45 and 70 years, all of them officials, who were evaluated three times, over 10 years, by the group of scientists led by Archana. Singh-Manoux The researchers analyzed the ability to understand, the vocabulary and the memory of the participants, taking into account their level of personal education, and found that cognitive functions decreased in all aspects, with the exception of vocabulary. Specifically, the ability to reason was reduced by 3.6 percent in men between 45 and 49 years old, and reached 9.6 percent in those between 65 and 70 years of age. In the case of women, the decreases in these same age groups were 3.6 and 7.4 percent respectively.

The authors of the study consider that the fact that cognitive decline begins before age 60 shows how important it is to promote the adoption of a healthy lifestyle and pay special attention to the prevention of cardiovascular diseases, as studies show that the health of heart It is directly related to brain health. And is that measures aimed at preventing or controlling certain conditions that increase the possibility of suffering cardiovascular disorders, such as hypertension, obesity, or hypercholesterolemia, may also protect against the development of dementia.

Muscle Loss and Aging (November 2019).

Le mémoire et d'autres fonctions cognitives de notre cerveau, comme raison ou comprendre pourraient commencer à se détériorer plus tôt que prévu, à 45 ans, selon les résultats d’une enquête publiée dans le magazine British Medical Journal.

De l'avis des auteurs de l'étude, Centre de recherche en épidémiologie et en santé publique (France) et le University College London (Royaume-Uni), il est essentiel de savoir dans quelle mesure le vieillissement affecte les processus cognitifs pour pouvoir intervenir tôt lorsque la détérioration des fonctions cérébrales commence à se produire et obtenir ainsi un meilleur pronostic de ces troubles à long terme, car durée de vie Cela augmentera également le nombre de personnes qui développent une forme de démence à long terme.

Il est essentiel de savoir comment le vieillissement affecte les processus cognitifs pour intervenir tôt lorsque la détérioration des fonctions cérébrales commence à se produire.

L'étude a débuté en 1997 et a réuni 5 198 hommes et 2 192 femmes âgés de 45 à 70 ans, tous fonctionnaires, qui ont été évalués à trois reprises, sur 10 ans, par le groupe de scientifiques dirigé par Archana. Singh-Manoux Les chercheurs ont analysé la capacité de comprendre, la vocabulaire et la mémoire des participants, en tenant compte de leur niveau d’éducation personnelle, et a constaté que les fonctions cognitives diminuaient sous tous les aspects, à l’exception du vocabulaire. Plus précisément, la capacité de raisonnement a été réduite de 3,6% chez les hommes âgés de 45 à 49 ans et de 9,6% chez les hommes âgés de 65 à 70 ans. Dans le cas des femmes, les diminutions dans ces mêmes groupes d'âge étaient respectivement de 3,6 et 7,4%.

Les auteurs de l'étude considèrent que le fait que le déclin cognitif commence avant l'âge de 60 ans montre à quel point il est important de promouvoir l'adoption d'un mode de vie sain et d'accorder une attention particulière à la prévention des maladies cardiovasculaires, comme le montrent des études. que la santé de coeur Il est directement lié à la santé du cerveau. Et est-ce que les mesures visant à prévenir ou à contrôler certaines conditions qui augmentent le risque de souffrir de troubles cardiovasculaires, telles que l'hypertension, l'obésité ou l'hypercholestérolémie, peuvent également protéger contre le développement de la démence.

Lasik: récupération visuelle et réinterventions (Août 2019).