A study from the University of Illinois (United States) has discovered bacteria related to early childhood caries (ECC) in children's saliva, so pay attention to the oral hygiene of babies is fundamental to prevent this infection.

The study's principal investigator, Kelly Swanson, states that 40% of children who come to the nursery for the first time, have dental caries, a condition that, according to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, is the most infectious pathology. prevalent among children residing in the United States. Swanson adds that caries affects especially children whose families have a low socioeconomic level, and a lower level of education, and who also follow a diet high in sugar. These factors make them 32 times more likely to develop the disease.

Most studies on the incidence of caries are based on children who are in daycare or preschool, and who already have the infection; however, Swanson's research focused his interest on babies whose teeth had not yet developed.

The best prophylactic strategy to prevent cavities is to teach parents how to properly perform their babies' oral hygiene, and which foods are least harmful

And, as the researcher explains, it was thought that teeth appeared between 19 and 33 months, when the truth is that this happens much earlier and, for this reason, and following the suggestion of the American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry, It is very important that parents do not give babies fermented drinks with sugars and clean their gums to prevent the appearance of decay later on.

In fact, the expert believes that the best prophylactic strategy to avoid tooth decay is to teach parents how to properly perform oral hygiene of their babies, and what foods are less harmful.

The scientists who participated in the study found that there was a great diversity of oral bacteria in children without teeth, many more than initially expected, and managed to identify hundreds of species.

The expert believes it is necessary to identify the characteristics of the microbial evolution that occurs in the mouth from the time the child is born to the eruption of the teeth, and to observe how the different types of food affect: breast or artificial breastfeeding, the passage from the liquid diet to solid foods, and variations in the nutrient profile.

Source: EUROPE PRESS

What Lives Inside Your Mouth? (November 2019).

Une étude de l'Université de l'Illinois (États-Unis) a découvert une bactérie liée à la carie du jeune enfant dans la salive des enfants. Par conséquent, portez une attention particulière à l'hygiène buccale des bébés. fondamental pour prévenir cette infection.

L’investigatrice principale de l’étude, Kelly Swanson, a déclaré que 40% des enfants qui se présentent à la garderie pour la première fois ont une carie dentaire, une maladie qui, selon le Center for Disease Control and Prevention, est la pathologie la plus infectieuse. prévalent chez les enfants résidant aux États-Unis. Swanson ajoute que les caries touchent en particulier les enfants dont les familles ont un faible niveau socio-économique et un faible niveau d'éducation et qui suivent également un régime riche en sucre. Ces facteurs les rendent 32 fois plus susceptibles de développer la maladie.

La plupart des études sur l'incidence des caries portent sur des enfants en garderie ou en âge préscolaire et déjà atteints de l'infection; Cependant, les recherches de Swanson portèrent son intérêt sur les bébés dont les dents n'étaient pas encore développées.

La meilleure stratégie prophylactique pour prévenir les caries consiste à apprendre aux parents comment bien effectuer l'hygiène buccale de leur bébé et à choisir les aliments les moins nocifs

Et, comme l'explique la chercheuse, on pensait que les dents sont apparues entre 19 et 33 mois, alors que la vérité est que cela se produit beaucoup plus tôt et, pour cette raison, et sur proposition de l'Académie américaine de dentisterie pédiatrique, Il est très important que les parents ne donnent pas aux bébés des boissons fermentées avec des sucres et ne nettoient pas leurs gencives pour éviter l’apparition ultérieure de la carie.

En fait, l'expert estime que la meilleure stratégie préventive pour éviter la carie dentaire est d'enseigner aux parents comment bien effectuer l'hygiène buccale de leur bébé et quels aliments sont moins nocifs.

Les scientifiques qui ont participé à l'étude ont découvert qu'il existait une grande diversité de bactéries buccales chez les enfants sans dents, beaucoup plus que prévu initialement, et ont réussi à identifier des centaines d'espèces.

L’expert estime qu’il est nécessaire d’identifier les caractéristiques de l’évolution microbienne qui se produit dans la bouche depuis la naissance de l’enfant jusqu'à l’éruption des dents, et d’observer comment les différents types d’aliments affectent: l'allaitement au sein ou artificiel, le passage du régime liquide à aliments solides et variations dans le profil nutritionnel.

Source: EUROPE PRESSE

Alimentación antienvejecimiento: Qué comer para seguir sintiéndote joven por Salvador Molina (Août 2019).