In its latest report, the Joint United Nations Program on HIV / AIDS (UNAIDS), reveals that the AIDS epidemic is beginning to stabilize, and that there has been a noticeable decline in new infections and deaths associated with HIV. around the world.

The report collects data on the evolution of AIDS and show that in 2009 there was a decrease of almost 20% in the number of people infected -2.6 million - compared with the figures of 1999, when they were infected 3.1 millions. In addition, while 2.1 million patients died in 2004, 1.8 million people affected by AIDS died in 2009.

Although experts have estimated that 33.3 million people were infected with HIV at the end of 2009, more than 32.8 million in 2008, this is attributed to the fact that the life expectancy of those affected is now greater thanks to that they are more what they access to the treatment with antiretroviral therapies.

Between 2001 and 2009, the rate of new infections stabilized or decreased more than 25% in at least 56 countries, 34 of which are located in sub-Saharan Africa, the area where the greatest number of affected people is concentrated worldwide.

Despite these positive data, from UNAIDS they warn that in seven countries, most of which are in Eastern Europe and Central Asia, the rates of new HIV infections have increased by 25%.

AIDS treatment more accessible

The report corroborates that those infected with HIV now have a longer life expectancy and that deaths due to their cause also decrease, thanks mainly to the fact that the treatment of AIDS is accessible to a greater number of patients.

According to the data handled by UNAIDS, the number of people treated has increased 7.5 times in the last five years, from 700,000 people in 2004 to 5,200,000 in 2009. Only in the last year, 1.2 million of more people agreed to the therapies, which constitutes an increase of 30% compared to 2008.

On the other hand, and thanks to the adoption of precautions when having sex, new infections among young people in the 15 countries most affected by the epidemic, have fallen by more than 25%.

AIDS in Africa

The new report refers especially to the AIDS situation in Africa, as this is the continent most affected by the disease, since only 69% of all new infections in the world accumulate in sub-Saharan Africa. On a positive note, UN experts point out that HIV infections in children have fallen by 32% in sub-Saharan Africa.

In four of the five countries with the highest infection rates in the area - Ethiopia, South Africa, Zambia and Zimbabwe - new HIV infections have fallen by more than 25%, while in Nigeria the epidemic has stabilized.

In South Africa, where the largest number of infected people on the planet -5.6 million, more than 10% of the population- is concentrated, the rate of new infections in 18-year-olds has fallen from 1.8% in 2005 to 0 , 8% in 2008, while among young women between the ages of 15 and 24, it went from 5.5% to 2.2% percent between 2003 and 2008.

EUROPE PRESS

MaximsNewsNetwork: WORLD AIDS DAY 01 DECEMBER: UNAIDS' MICHEL SIDIBE (November 2019).

Dans son dernier rapport, le Programme commun des Nations Unies sur le VIH / sida (ONUSIDA) révèle que l'épidémie de sida commence à se stabiliser et que le nombre de nouvelles infections et de décès liés au VIH a sensiblement diminué. Dans le monde entier.

Le rapport recueille des données sur l'évolution du sida et montre qu'en 2009, le nombre de personnes infectées a diminué de près de 20% (-2,6 millions), par rapport aux chiffres de 1999, où elles avaient été infectées. 3.1 des millions En outre, alors que 2,1 millions de patients sont décédés en 2004, 1,8 million de personnes touchées par le sida sont décédées en 2009.

Bien que les experts aient estimé à 33,3 millions le nombre de personnes infectées par le VIH à la fin de 2009, ils étaient plus de 32,8 millions en 2008, ce qui s'explique par le fait que l'espérance de vie des personnes touchées est désormais plus grande, grâce à: qu'ils ont plus accès au traitement antirétroviral.

Entre 2001 et 2009, le taux de nouvelles infections s'est stabilisé ou a diminué de plus de 25% dans au moins 56 pays, dont 34 situés en Afrique subsaharienne, la région où le plus grand nombre de personnes touchées est concentrée.

Malgré ces données positives, l'ONUSIDA a averti que dans sept pays, situés pour la plupart en Europe orientale et en Asie centrale, les taux de nouvelles infections à VIH ont augmenté de 25%.

Le traitement du sida plus accessible

Le rapport corrobore que l'espérance de vie des personnes infectées par le VIH est désormais plus longue et que les décès dus à leur cause diminuent également, notamment grâce au fait que le traitement du SIDA est accessible à un plus grand nombre de patients.

Selon les données traitées par l’ONUSIDA, le nombre de personnes traitées a été multiplié par 7,5 au cours des cinq dernières années, passant de 700 000 en 2004 à 5 200 000 en 2009. Seulement l’an dernier, 1,2 million plus de personnes ont accepté les traitements, ce qui représente une augmentation de 30% par rapport à 2008.

En revanche, et grâce à l’adoption de précautions lors des relations sexuelles, le nombre de nouvelles infections chez les jeunes des 15 pays les plus touchés par l’épidémie a diminué de plus de 25%.

SIDA en Afrique

Le nouveau rapport fait référence en particulier à la situation du sida en Afrique, car il s’agit du continent le plus touché par la maladie, puisque seulement 69% de toutes les nouvelles infections dans le monde s’accumulent en Afrique subsaharienne. Sur une note positive, les experts des Nations Unies soulignent que les infections à VIH chez les enfants ont diminué de 32% en Afrique subsaharienne.

Dans quatre des cinq pays ayant les taux d'infection les plus élevés de la région - l'Éthiopie, l'Afrique du Sud, la Zambie et le Zimbabwe - les nouvelles infections à VIH ont diminué de plus de 25%, tandis qu'au Nigéria l'épidémie s'est stabilisée.

En Afrique du Sud, où se concentre le plus grand nombre de personnes infectées de la planète - 5,6 millions d'habitants, plus de 10% de la population -, le taux de nouvelles infections chez les 18 ans est tombé de 1,8% en 2005 à 0%. , 8% en 2008, alors que chez les jeunes femmes âgées de 15 à 24 ans, il est passé de 5,5% à 2,2% entre 2003 et 2008.

EUROPE PRESSE

Hans Rosling on HIV: New facts and stunning data visuals (Août 2019).