In the last decade the mortality associated with AIDS has decreased by 21%, and there are also fewer people infected by AIDS. HIV. As revealed by a report UNAIDS, if enough resources were dedicated -that the organism estimates between 16,000 and 19,000 million euros- to ensure that the inhabitants of the most economically disadvantaged countries had access to new treatments, more than 12 million infections and more than seven could be avoided. millions of deaths due to AIDS until 2020.

Thanks to the administration of antiretroviral Infected patients in recent years have achieved that the global AIDS epidemic is at its lowest level since its historic peak. In this regard, UNAIDS has stressed that preventive treatments in pregnant women have prevented the infection from being transmitted to their children, and estimate that around 400,000 babies have been free of HIV since 1995 thanks to their mothers having access to these treatments.

2011 is being key in the fight against AIDS because, despite the crisis, there has been a significant increase in the access of the most disadvantaged to antiretroviral drugs

Michel Sidibé, Executive Director of UNAIDS, explains that the year 2011 is being key in the fight against the epidemic because, despite the economic crisis, there has been a significant increase in the access of the most disadvantaged to the medicines antiretrovirals, which has had a decisive impact in halting the transmission of HIV, which has declined or remained stable in almost the entire world. And, in 2010, almost half (47%) of the patients residing in low and middle income countries were able to access treatment.

Fewer young people infected by HIV

Compared with the highest levels reached by HIV infection, the incidence of new cases has decreased by 26% in sub-Saharan Africa and, in South Africa, which has the highest percentage of new infections, it has produced a decrease of one third, the same thing that has happened in the Caribbean.

The reasons for the decline of the epidemic are mainly due to variations in sexual behavior, which have led to less promiscuity and increased employment of the preservative. In addition, young people start something later in the sexual intercourse. It has been proven that circumcision, which consists of removing the skin that covers the tip of the penis, has also helped to reduce the number of infected men in a province of Kenya, so in UNAIDS estimate that if this intervention were practiced, 20 million men in Africa would could avoid almost three and a half million new infections until 2015.

Strategies to stop HIV

Despite the achievements, in certain areas of the planet, such as Eastern Europe, North Africa, Central Asia, the Middle East and Oceania, the number of people who become infected every year continues to increase. Therefore, from UNAIDS they have an impact on the importance of improving universal access to treatments that have proven effective, and they intend to continue with information campaigns for the population to take prophylactic measures, such as the use of condoms in sexual relations and voluntary circumcision, focusing efforts on people who are part of at-risk groups such as men who practice sex with other men, people who engage in prostitution, or those who inject drugs, and on preventing the transmission of infection to children.

From UNAIDS they warn that as a consequence of the economic difficulties that we are going through at the global level, it is essential to make an effort to adequately channel the available resources if we want to ensure that the entire world population has access to treatments.

How to Survive a Plague (November 2019).

Au cours de la dernière décennie, la mortalité associée au sida a diminué de 21% et le nombre de personnes infectées par le sida a également diminué. Le VIH. Comme révélé par un rapport ONUSIDA, si suffisamment de ressources étaient affectées - que l’organisme estime entre 16 000 et 19 000 millions d’euros - pour que les habitants des pays les plus économiquement défavorisés aient accès à de nouveaux traitements, plus de 12 millions d’infections et plus de sept pourraient être évités. millions de décès dus au SIDA jusqu'en 2020.

Merci à l'administration de antirétroviral Les patients infectés au cours des dernières années ont réalisé que l'épidémie mondiale de sida est à son plus bas niveau depuis son pic historique. À cet égard, l'ONUSIDA a souligné que les traitements préventifs chez les femmes enceintes ont empêché la transmission de l'infection à leurs enfants et estime qu'environ 400 000 bébés sont exempts du VIH depuis 1995 grâce à l'accès de ces mères à ces traitements.

L'année 2011 est cruciale dans la lutte contre le sida car, malgré la crise, l'accès des plus défavorisés aux médicaments antirétroviraux a considérablement augmenté

Michel Sidibé, Directeur exécutif de l’ONUSIDA, explique que l’année 2011 est cruciale dans la lutte contre l’épidémie car, malgré la crise économique, les personnes les plus défavorisées ont de plus en plus accès aux pays les plus défavorisés. des médicaments les antirétroviraux, qui ont eu un impact décisif sur l’arrêt de la transmission du VIH, qui a diminué ou est resté stable dans presque tout le monde. Et, en 2010, près de la moitié (47%) des patients résidant dans des pays à revenu faible ou intermédiaire ont pu avoir accès à un traitement.

Moins de jeunes infectés par le VIH

Par rapport aux niveaux les plus élevés atteints par l’infection par le VIH, l’incidence de nouveaux cas a diminué de 26% en Afrique subsaharienne et, en Afrique du Sud, pays où le pourcentage de nouvelles infections est le plus élevé, produit une diminution d’un tiers, comme ce qui s’est passé dans les Caraïbes.

Les raisons de la baisse de l’épidémie sont principalement dues aux variations du comportement sexuel, qui ont conduit à une moindre promiscuité et à une augmentation de l’emploi des femmes. préservatif. En outre, les jeunes commencent quelque chose plus tard dans le rapports sexuels. Il a été prouvé que la circoncision, qui consiste à enlever la peau qui recouvre la pointe du pénis, a également contribué à réduire le nombre d'hommes infectés dans une province du Kenya. Ainsi, selon l'ONUSIDA, si cette intervention était pratiquée, 20 millions d'hommes en Afrique pourrait éviter près de trois millions et demi de nouvelles infections jusqu'en 2015.

Stratégies pour arrêter le VIH

Malgré les réalisations, dans certaines régions de la planète, telles que l’Europe de l’Est, l’Afrique du Nord, l’Asie centrale, le Moyen-Orient et l’Océanie, le nombre de personnes infectées chaque année continue d’augmenter. De par l’ONUSIDA, ils ont donc un impact sur l’importance d’améliorer l’accès universel aux traitements qui se sont avérés efficaces, et ont l’intention de poursuivre les campagnes d’information pour que la population prenne des mesures prophylactiques, telles que l’utilisation de préservatifs dans les relations sexuelles et la circoncision volontaire, en concentrant les efforts sur les personnes appartenant à des groupes à risque, tels que les hommes qui pratiquent des relations sexuelles avec d'autres hommes, les personnes se livrant à la prostitution ou les consommateurs de drogues injectables, et sur la prévention de la transmission du virus; infection aux enfants.

De l’ONUSIDA, ils soulignent qu’en raison des difficultés économiques que nous traversons au niveau mondial, il est essentiel de s’efforcer de canaliser les ressources disponibles de manière adéquate si nous voulons nous assurer que toute la population mondiale a accès aux traitements.

Stéphanie Seydoux - Innover pour garantir l’accès à la santé - Social Club 2018 (Septembre 2019).