If you have gone through menopause and want to maintain good bone health, one tip, well, two: drink green tea and practice taichi. That at least is the teaching which seems to be taken from a study by the Center for Health Sciences of the Technological University of Texas (USA), which for six months followed the effects of these two practices on 171 postmenopausal women.

The results show that the consumption of 4 to 6 cups of green tea daily - the polyphenols it contains are known for their potent antioxidant activity - and the practice of taichi - a traditional Chinese form of moderate aerobic exercise based on the body-mind philosophy , to increase bone strength - independently increased bone health markers at three and six months, respectively. A similar effect was discovered in muscle strength at six months.

The authors highlight the effect of substantial improvement of polyphenols and taichi together on the biological markers of oxidative stress. Since oxidative stress is the main precursor of inflammation, the discovery suggests that green tea and tai chi may help reduce the risks not only of serious chronic degenerative diseases such as cardiovascular disease and osteoporosis, but also of other inflammatory diseases.

In addition, participants in the study who took taichi classes also reported feeling significant benefits in their quality of life in terms of improvement in emotional and mental health.

Green Tea and Tai Chi Improve Bone Strength (November 2019).

Si vous êtes ménopausé et que vous souhaitez maintenir une bonne santé osseuse, un conseil, bien, deux: buvez du thé vert et pratiquez le taichi. C'est du moins le l'enseignement qui semble provenir d'une étude du Center for Health Sciences de la Technological University of Texas (États-Unis), qui a suivi pendant six mois les effets de ces deux pratiques sur 171 femmes ménopausées.

Les résultats montrent que la consommation quotidienne de 4 à 6 tasses de thé vert - les polyphénols qu’il contient sont connus pour leur activité antioxydante puissante - et la pratique du taichi - une forme traditionnelle chinoise d’aérobic modérée basée sur la philosophie du corps et de l’esprit , pour augmenter la résistance des os - augmentation indépendante des marqueurs de santé des os à trois et six mois, respectivement. Un effet similaire a été découvert dans la force musculaire à six mois.

Les auteurs soulignent l’effet de l’amélioration substantielle des polyphénols et du taichi sur les marqueurs biologiques du stress oxydatif. Le stress oxydatif étant le principal précurseur de l'inflammation, la découverte suggère que le thé vert et le tai-chi pourraient contribuer à réduire les risques non seulement de maladies dégénératives chroniques graves telles que les maladies cardiovasculaires et l'ostéoporose, mais également d'autres maladies inflammatoires.

De plus, les participants à l'étude qui ont suivi des cours de taichi ont également déclaré avoir ressenti des avantages significatifs pour leur qualité de vie en termes d'amélioration de la santé émotionnelle et mentale.

Qi Gong - Capturez l'énergie de la nature - niveau 1 (Août 2019).