Stress, anxiety ... we are tired of hearing that today's society is on nerves. And we already know, most of them have suffered in our own flesh, some of the manifestations of stress in the body: headaches, stomach upsets or muscle discomfort are just some of them. But, perhaps something that is paid less attention, but that is not less important, is that stress and nervousness leave a mark on the teeth and jaws.

Bruxism is one of the main consequences, which if not properly treated can lead to wear of the parts, joint discomfort or headaches. Herpes, canker sores, tooth decay or bad breath can be other problems resulting from a high level of stress or anxiety.

"Every day, and as a result of stress, there are more cases of bruxism, since it is estimated that up to 20% of adults have this symptom," says the Medical Director of Vitaldent, Dr. Gustavo Camañas. Bruxism is a harmful habit characterized by the strong contact of the upper and lower teeth, in which teeth grind unconsciously. "Although this situation can also occur during the day, it is more frequent to happen during the night, while falling asleep, since we involuntarily release the accumulation of stress of the day".

If this condition is not treated, it can lead to wear of the teeth and even to suffer pains in the neck, head, spine and in the mandibular joints. Currently there are several multidisciplinary treatments to solve it: how to place a splint of discharge to avoid contact of the upper and lower teeth or perform treatments with orthodontics in the event that bruxism is caused by poor placement of the teeth.

Tooth decay and bad breath caused by stress

And there is not the thing left, if you want to delay your appointment with the dentist, keep in mind that stress is the second cause of tooth decay after the accumulation of bacterial plaque caused by poor dental hygiene. This is because "if you suffer stress regularly, increases the acidity of saliva, in addition to reducing the amount of salivation, attacking directly the enamel, natural layer that protects our teeth", explains the Medical Director of Vitaldent.

High levels of anxiety can trigger the appearance of cold sores. According to the expert, "herpes is produced by a virus that inhabits the facial nerves. Take advantage of the moments in which the body has fewer defenses, such as those caused by episodes of stress, to reproduce. "

It can also be guilty of bad breath, especially due to stomach problems and digestion that entails. In addition, it is common that by the routine we carry, we leave aside such important habits as brushing our teeth after each meal, or visiting the dentist, so the chances of suffering from a dental condition increase considerably. You already know, if you do not want this to happen, control your stress, you will take care of your mouth.

Source: Vitaldent

We Found Out How Stressed We Are By Our Mouths • Ladylike (September 2019).

Stress, anxiété ... nous en avons assez d'entendre dire que la société d'aujourd'hui est nerveuse. Et nous le savons déjà, la plupart d’entre eux ont souffert dans notre chair, certaines des manifestations du stress dans le corps: maux de tête, maux d’estomac ou malaises musculaires en sont quelques-unes. Mais, peut-être quelque chose qui mérite moins d’attention, mais qui n’est pas moins important, c’est que le stress et la nervosité laissent des traces sur les dents et les mâchoires.

Le bruxisme est l’une des principales conséquences. En l’absence de traitement adéquat, il peut en résulter une usure des pièces, des douleurs articulaires ou des maux de tête. L'herpès, les aphtes, la carie dentaire ou la mauvaise haleine peuvent être d'autres problèmes résultant d'un niveau élevé de stress ou d'anxiété.

"Chaque jour, et à cause du stress, il y a davantage de cas de bruxisme, car on estime que jusqu'à 20% des adultes présentent ce symptôme", déclare le directeur médical de Vitaldent, le Dr Gustavo Camañas. Le bruxisme est une habitude néfaste caractérisée par le fort contact des dents supérieures et inférieures, dans lesquelles les dents grincent inconsciemment. "Bien que cette situation puisse également se produire pendant le jour, elle est plus fréquente la nuit, tout en s’endormant, car nous libérons involontairement l’accumulation de stress du jour".

Si cette affection n'est pas traitée, cela peut entraîner une usure des dents et même des douleurs dans le cou, la tête, la colonne vertébrale et les articulations mandibulaires. Il existe actuellement plusieurs traitements multidisciplinaires pour le résoudre: comment placer une attelle de décharge pour éviter le contact des dents supérieures et inférieures ou effectuer des traitements avec l'orthodontie dans le cas où le bruxisme est causé par un mauvais placement des dents.

La carie dentaire et la mauvaise haleine causée par le stress

Et il ne reste plus rien, si vous souhaitez retarder votre rendez-vous chez le dentiste, sachez que le stress est la deuxième cause de carie dentaire après l'accumulation de plaque bactérienne causée par une mauvaise hygiène dentaire. En effet, "si vous souffrez de stress régulièrement, augmentez l'acidité de la salive, en plus de réduire la salivation, en attaquant directement l'émail, couche naturelle qui protège nos dents", explique le directeur médical de Vitaldent.

Des niveaux d'anxiété élevés peuvent déclencher l'apparition de boutons de fièvre. Selon l'expert, "l'herpès est produit par un virus qui habite les nerfs du visage. Tirez parti des moments où le corps a moins de défenses, comme celles causées par des épisodes de stress, pour se reproduire. "

Il peut également être coupable de mauvaise haleine, notamment en raison de problèmes d’estomac et de la digestion que cela entraîne. De plus, il est fréquent que, par la routine que nous menons, nous laissions de côté des habitudes importantes telles que se brosser les dents après chaque repas ou consulter un dentiste, de sorte que les risques de souffrir d'un problème dentaire augmentent considérablement. Vous savez déjà que si vous ne voulez pas que cela se produise, contrôlez votre stress, vous vous occuperez de votre bouche.

Source: Vitaldent

RESPIRATION BUCCALE versus RESPIRATION NASALE (Août 2019).