After receiving a kidney, the patient's immune system rejects the foreign organ and damages it progressively, so to avoid as much as possible the deterioration of the renal graft, and to achieve to extend its survival to the maximum, it is necessary to administer to the recipient a immunosuppressive therapy, which acts by blocking the functioning of the immune system. The drugs that are commonly used are cyclosporine and tacrolimus, but they have side effects and, over time, they are toxic and lead to kidney failure.

To try to solve the serious problem of chronic rejection in the kidney transplant, a group of scientists from the University of Xiamen (China) has conducted research to see if it is possible to improve the survival and function of the transplanted organ by modifying traditional therapy, and have used it mesenchymal cells -Which are a type of stem cells-, obtained from the bone marrow of the graft recipient. The researchers administered the patient these cells twice, ten minutes before the transplant, and two weeks after the transplant.

Patients who received mesenchymal cells recovered renal function more quickly and had a lower risk of opportunistic infections

To carry out the study, whose data is collected by the journal Journal of American Medical Association, the researchers divided into three groups patients who were going to receive a kidney from one of their relatives. The first group - composed of 53 patients - extracted stem cells from their own bone marrow and supplied them together with the classic medication (cyclosporine or tacrolimus). The second group of 52 patients received a similar therapy, with the difference that the dose of drugs was 20% lower than usual. And in the case of the third group -51 patients- they were treated only with the usual immunosuppressive therapy, and without stem cells.

Patients who received the mesenchymal cells recovered their kidney function more quickly and had a lower risk of suffering infections opportunists. In addition, the frequency of acute rejection decreased. Although it is necessary to verify its long-term safety, the new therapy increases the possibilities of treatment to renal graft recipients, reducing the adverse effects that inevitably causes immunosuppressive medication.

Stanford Kidney Transplant - No Anti Rejection Drugs on CBS 5 (November 2019).

Après avoir reçu un le rein, le système immunitaire du patient rejette l’organe étranger et le détériore progressivement afin d’éviter autant que possible la détérioration de la greffe rénale et de parvenir à une survie maximale, il est nécessaire d’administrer au receveur une greffe rénale. traitement immunosuppresseur, qui agit en bloquant le fonctionnement du système immunitaire. Les médicaments couramment utilisés sont la cyclosporine et le tacrolimus, mais ils ont des effets secondaires et, au fil du temps, ils sont toxiques et conduisent à une insuffisance rénale.

Pour tenter de résoudre le grave problème du rejet chronique dans le greffe de rein, un groupe de scientifiques de l'Université de Xiamen (Chine) a mené une recherche pour déterminer s'il était possible d'améliorer la survie et la fonction de l'organe greffé en modifiant le traitement traditionnel, et l'a utilisé cellules mésenchymateuses -Qui sont un type de cellules souches-, obtenues à partir de la moelle osseuse du greffé. Les chercheurs ont administré ces cellules au patient deux fois, dix minutes avant la greffe et deux semaines après la greffe.

Les patients ayant reçu des cellules mésenchymateuses ont retrouvé leur fonction rénale plus rapidement et couraient moins de risques d'infections opportunistes

Réaliser l'étude dont les données sont collectées par la revue Journal of American Medical Association, les chercheurs ont divisé en trois groupes les patients qui allaient recevoir un rein d’un membre de leur famille. Le premier groupe - composé de 53 patients - a extrait des cellules souches de leur propre moelle osseuse et les a fournies avec le médicament classique (cyclosporine ou tacrolimus). Le deuxième groupe de 52 patients a reçu un traitement similaire, à la différence que la dose de médicaments était inférieure de 20% à la dose habituelle. Et dans le cas du troisième groupe - 51 patients - ils ont été traités uniquement avec le traitement immunosuppresseur habituel et sans cellules souches.

Les patients qui ont reçu les cellules mésenchymateuses ont retrouvé leur fonction rénale plus rapidement et couraient moins de risques de souffrir les infections opportunistes. De plus, la fréquence des rejets aigus a diminué. Bien qu'il soit nécessaire de vérifier sa sécurité à long terme, le nouveau traitement augmente les possibilités de traitement pour les greffés rénaux, réduisant ainsi les effets indésirables qui entraînent inévitablement un traitement immunosuppresseur.

Rejet de greffe : le film inédit (Août 2019).