Scientists from the Cardiovascular Research Network (RECAVA) have identified a molecule - the CCL20 - that attracts and directs the cells of the immune system to the arterial wall to form the atherosclerotic plaques that cause arteriosclerosis, a chronic inflammatory disease characterized by a progressive hardening of the arteries, which narrow so that it can lead to its occlusion, thus preventing blood flow.

It was already known that the immune system played a prominent role in the formation of cholesterol plaques that cause inflammation of the walls of the arteries but not what was the mechanism involved in the attraction of the cells of the immune system to the arterial wall to form those atherosclerotic plaques.

107 healthy people participated in the study and underwent an ultrasonographic examination of the carotid arteries to detect the presence of the disease in its early stages, which is known as subclinical atherosclerosis. The researchers found that high levels of blood cholesterol (240 mg / dL) were related to an increase in the production of a molecule called CCL20.

The CCL20 molecule has the capacity to attract and stimulate the functioning of T lymphocytes, which are the cells of the immune system responsible for the inflammation of the wall of the blood vessels.

The study has also shown that the arteries of patients with atherosclerosis synthesize and release CCL20, and that the molecule is made primarily by the muscle cells of the arteries in response to an increase in cholesterol bad or LDL.

New treatment possibilities

The discovery of the function that meets the CCL20 can serve to create new treatments that are based on avoiding the intervention of the immune system in the development of arteriosclerosis

The study of the RECAVA according to the magazine has published Arteriosclerosis, Thrombosis and Vascular Biology, of the American Heart Association, is the first scientific research that describes an early increase of the CCL20 in patients with a cardiovascular risk higher, and that analyzes the molecular mechanism that serves the LDL to stimulate its production.

According to the authors of the work, the most important thing for people who suffer arteriosclerosis is that lysophosphatidic acid or LPA acts through specific receptors, and that if it is blocked using drugs, the muscle cells' response to LDL is reduced.

This means that the CCL20 molecule could be useful as biomarker of evolution of cardiovascular disease, but above all, and according to these researchers, could open the way to the creation of new and pioneering treatments, based on which said molecule can avoid the intervention of the immune system in arteriosclerosis, and in this way delay the development of the pathology.

Source: EUROPE PRESS

Atherosclerosis (2009) (November 2019).

Des scientifiques du réseau de recherche cardiovasculaire (RECAVA) ont identifié une molécule - la CCL20 - qui attire et dirige les cellules du système immunitaire vers la paroi artérielle pour former le plaques athérosclérotiques qui provoquent de l'artériosclérose, une maladie inflammatoire chronique caractérisée par un durcissement progressif des artères, qui se rétrécit de manière à pouvoir conduire à son occlusion, empêchant ainsi le flux sanguin.

On savait déjà que le système immunitaire jouait un rôle de premier plan dans la formation de plaques de cholestérol qui provoquaient une inflammation des parois des artères mais non le mécanisme impliqué dans l'attraction des cellules du système immunitaire vers la paroi artérielle. pour former ces plaques athérosclérotiques.

107 personnes en bonne santé ont participé à l'étude et ont subi un examen échographique des artères carotides afin de détecter la présence de la maladie à ses débuts, connue sous le nom d'athérosclérose subclinique. Les chercheurs ont découvert que des taux élevés de cholestérol dans le sang (240 mg / dL) étaient liés à une augmentation de la production d'une molécule appelée CCL20.

Le Molécule CCL20 a la capacité d'attirer et de stimuler le fonctionnement de Lymphocytes T, qui sont les cellules du système immunitaire responsables de l’inflammation de la paroi des vaisseaux sanguins.

L'étude a également montré que les artères des patients atteints d'athérosclérose synthétisent et libèrent la CCL20, et que la molécule est fabriquée principalement par les cellules musculaires des artères en réponse à une augmentation du cholestérol mauvais ou LDL.

Nouvelles possibilités de traitement

La découverte de la fonction qui répond au CCL20 peut servir à créer de nouveaux traitements basés sur la prévention de l’intervention du système immunitaire dans le développement de l’artériosclérose.

L'étude du RECAVA selon le magazine a publié Artériosclérose, thrombose et biologie vasculaire, de la American Heart Association, est la première recherche scientifique décrivant une augmentation précoce du CCL20 chez des patients risque cardiovasculaire plus élevé, et qui analyse le mécanisme moléculaire qui permet au LDL de stimuler sa production.

Selon les auteurs du travail, le plus important pour les personnes souffrant d'artériosclérose est que l'acide lysophosphatidique ou le LPA agit via des récepteurs spécifiques et que, s'il est bloqué à l'aide de médicaments, la réponse des cellules musculaires au LDL est réduite.

Cela signifie que la molécule CCL20 pourrait être utile en tant que biomarqueur l’évolution des maladies cardiovasculaires, mais surtout et selon ces chercheurs, pourrait ouvrir la voie à la création de traitements nouveaux et novateurs, sur la base desquels ladite molécule pourrait éviter l’intervention du système immunitaire dans l’artériosclérose et retarder ainsi la développement de la pathologie.

Source: EUROPE PRESSE

Fritz Haber - Sauver l'humanité en cherchant à la détruire - LPPV.04 - e-penser (Août 2019).