The European Network for Rare and Congenital Anaemias (ENERCA) -instituted in 2002-, is the first network that aims to offer basic care to patients with rare anemias, and involves experts from 15 countries of the European Union. Spain leads this network that aims to coordinate and promote knowledge about the diagnosis and treatment of these pathologies, which are considered rare diseases because they affect less than five people per 10,000 inhabitants.

Dr. Joan Lluis Vives, director of ENERCA and head of the Unit of Erythropathology at Hospital Clinic in Barcelona, ​​explained that with this network they want to get doctors from different countries in Europe to support each other when they come across the case of a patient suffering from a rare anemia who do not know how to handle.

In cases like these, ENERCA would allow sharing the knowledge of different medical professionals, so that the diagnosis and care provided to patients can be improved.

Experts estimate that around six percent of Europeans are affected by some rare disease. It is also known that approximately 1% of couples are at risk of having a child with a severe hemoglobin syndrome and, according to recent data, 250 million people worldwide suffer from thalassemia, one of the most common hereditary diseases. common in this group.

Rare anemias, great unknown

Antonio Cerrato, president of the Spanish Association for the Fight against Hemoglobinopathies and Thalassemias (ALHETA), points out that among the main difficulties faced by those affected is that health professionals themselves are unaware of the international protocols that are followed in the treatment of this disease. type of anemia.

For this reason, ALHETA advocates that doctors receive more complete training on these treatment guidelines, especially in Primary Care, whose professionals have an absolute ignorance of these diseases.

Cerrato has also pointed out that it is necessary to offer patients psychological and social support so that they can face their illness, since currently this type of help is not available in Spanish healthcare.

The patients, for their part, request the creation of a figure that coordinates the treatments of the patients, and thus make life easier for them and their families, because those affected are obliged to be aware of the need for revisions with different specialists -hepatologists, cardiologists, etcetera-, or take charge of the control of the dates in which they will need a transfusion, and not all patients or families are prepared to assume this responsibility.

SOURCE: EUROPE PRESS

Lec 6 | MIT 7.012 Introduction to Biology, Fall 2004 (November 2019).

Le réseau européen pour les anémies rares et congénitales (ENERCA), créé en 2002, est le premier réseau qui vise à offrir des soins de base aux patients souffrant d'anémie rare et regroupe des experts de 15 pays de l'Union européenne. L'Espagne anime ce réseau qui vise à coordonner et à promouvoir les connaissances sur le diagnostic et le traitement de ces pathologies, considérées comme des maladies rares car elles touchent moins de cinq personnes sur 10 000 habitants.

La D re Joan Lluis Vives, directrice d’ENERCA et responsable de l’unité d’érythropathologie de la clinique hospitalière de Barcelone, a expliqué qu’avec ce réseau, elle souhaitait que des médecins de différents pays d’Europe se soutiennent mutuellement lorsqu’ils rencontraient le cas d’un médecin. patient souffrant d'une anémie rare qui ne sait pas comment gérer.

Dans de tels cas, ENERCA permettrait de partager les connaissances de différents professionnels de la santé, afin d’améliorer le diagnostic et les soins fournis aux patients.

Les experts estiment qu'environ six pour cent des Européens sont affectés par une maladie rare. On sait également qu'environ 1% des couples risquent d'avoir un enfant atteint du syndrome d'hémoglobine sévère et, selon des données récentes, 250 millions de personnes dans le monde souffrent de thalassémie, l'une des maladies héréditaires les plus courantes. commun dans ce groupe.

Anémies rares, inconnues

Antonio Cerrato, président de l'Association espagnole de lutte contre les hémoglobinopathies et les thalassémies (ALHETA), souligne que l'une des principales difficultés rencontrées par les personnes touchées est que les professionnels de la santé ne sont pas conscients des protocoles internationaux suivis pour le traitement de cette maladie. type d'anémie.

Pour cette raison, ALHETA préconise que les médecins reçoivent une formation plus complète sur ces directives de traitement, en particulier dans les soins primaires, dont les professionnels ont une ignorance absolue de ces maladies.

Cerrato a également souligné qu'il était nécessaire d'offrir aux patients un soutien psychologique et social afin qu'ils puissent faire face à leur maladie, ce type d'aide n'étant pas disponible dans les services de santé espagnols.

Les patients, pour leur part, demandent la création d’une figure qui coordonne les traitements des patients et leur facilite ainsi la vie, ainsi qu’à leurs familles, car les personnes concernées sont obligées de prendre conscience de la nécessité de faire des révisions avec spécialistes, hépatologues, cardiologues, etc., ou prennent en charge le contrôle des dates auxquelles ils auront besoin d’une transfusion, et tous les patients ou leurs familles ne sont pas prêts à assumer cette responsabilité.

SOURCE: EUROPE PRESSE

Europe Hebdo en campagne : l'Europe sociale - Europe hebdo (22/05/2019) (Août 2019).