Morbid obesity has increased 200 percent in Spain, according to a study by the Spanish Society of Cardiology (SEC), which is published in the 'Revista Española de Cardiología'. In only 13 years, from 1993 to 2006, there has gone from having 1.8 inhabitants out of every 1,000 with morbid obesity, to 6.1.

A normal Body Mass Index (BMI) is between 18 and 24, while a person with morbid obesity has an ICM equal to or greater than 40. This problem continues to affect women more (6.8 of every thousand women and 5.4 of each thousand men), although the relative growth among men has been three times higher.

A person with morbid obesity has an ICM equal to or greater than 40

The president of the SEC, Carlos Macaya, associates obesity with an "educational and social culture problem", and warns that in our country "food is very bad in terms of quality and quantity", since there is a "clear tendency to overeat and choose a carbohydrate-based diet (...), which are the easiest molecule to burn, but if you do not move and you do not burn it, it turns into fat. " Obesity not only produces cardiovascular disorders, but problems in the joints or in the respiratory system such as apneas.

The research that has revealed these figures, carried out by the University of Navarra, also concludes that the growth of the prevalence of morbid obesity is faster than that of a milder obesity (more than 200 percent in the first versus 65 percent). one hundred of the second).

"Morbid obesity has increased more because the obese with milder pathology have exceeded the limit of the morbid," explains Macaya, who warns that this situation is "a serious public health problem", which, with "all safety will go on the increase if serious interventions are not made ".

We are getting too close to the obesity figures that the United States had twenty years ago

"The results of this study force us to urgently take effective preventive measures, because we are getting too close to the obesity figures that the United States had twenty years ago." At present, the North American country has a prevalence of morbid obesity of between 5 and 6 percent of the population. At the moment we do not reach 1 percent, but we are tending to reach these figures in a few years ", adds the professor of Preventive Medicine and Public Health of the University of Navarra, Miguel Ángel Martínez.

Source: SEC / EUROPA PRESS

"Oye Mi Canto" N.O.R.E & Daddy Yankee, Nina Sky & Big Mato, Beat by SPK (Follow @SPKilla) (November 2019).

L'obésité morbide a augmenté de 200% en Espagne, selon une étude de la Société espagnole de cardiologie (SEC), publiée dans la Revista Española de Cardiología. En seulement 13 ans, de 1993 à 2006, l’obésité morbide est passée de 1,8 à 1 000 habitants sur 1 000, à 6,1.

Un indice de masse corporelle (IMC) normal se situe entre 18 et 24, tandis que une personne souffrant d'obésité morbide a un ICM égal ou supérieur à 40. Ce problème continue de toucher davantage les femmes (6,8 femmes sur 1 000 et 5,4 hommes sur 1 000), bien que la croissance relative chez les hommes ait été trois fois plus élevée.

Une personne atteinte d'obésité morbide a un ICM égal ou supérieur à 40

Le président de la SEC, Carlos Macaya, associe l'obésité à un "problème de culture éducative et sociale" et avertit que dans notre pays "la nourriture est très mauvaise en termes de qualité et de quantité", car il y a tendance à trop manger et à choisir un régime à base de glucides (...), qui sont la molécule la plus facile à brûler, mais si vous ne bougez pas et que vous ne le brûlez pas, il se transforme en graisse. " L'obésité entraîne non seulement des troubles cardiovasculaires, mais aussi des problèmes articulaires ou respiratoires tels que les apnées.

La recherche qui a révélé ces chiffres, menée par l’Université de Navarre, conclut également que la prévalence de l’obésité morbide augmente plus rapidement que celle d’une obésité moins sévère (plus de 200% au début contre 65%). cent de la seconde).

"L'obésité morbide a augmenté davantage parce que les obèses présentant une pathologie bénigne ont dépassé la limite du morbide", explique Macaya, qui avertit que cette situation est "un grave problème de santé publique" qui, avec "toute la sécurité ira en augmentation si des interventions sérieuses ne sont pas faites ".

Nous nous rapprochons trop des chiffres d'obésité que les États-Unis avaient il y a vingt ans

"Les résultats de cette étude nous obligent à prendre d'urgence des mesures préventives efficaces, car nous nous rapprochons trop des chiffres relatifs à l'obésité que les États-Unis avaient il y a vingt ans". À l'heure actuelle, la prévalence de l'obésité morbide dans le pays d'Amérique du Nord se situe entre 5 et 6% de la population. Pour le moment, nous n'atteignons pas 1%, mais nous avons tendance à atteindre ces chiffres dans quelques années ", ajoute le professeur de médecine préventive et de santé publique de l'Université de Navarre, Miguel Ángel Martínez.

Source: SEC / EUROPA PRESS

ESPAGNE : La troisième plus grande mosquée du monde à Barcelone ? - #FOCUS (Août 2019).