Some nerve cells of the brain of a person who is awake, but suffers from lack of sleep, can be 'out of order', in a state similar to sleep, for short periods of time, while the rest of the brain is kept awake. This would explain small mistakes or forgetfulness, such as not knowing where we have placed the keys, and has been discovered by researchers from the University of Wisconsin-Madison, in the United States, who have published their findings in the journal 'Nature'.

You may have episodes of 'micro sleep' while you are awake, and this is probably the cause of driving drowsiness

As explained by Dr. Chiara Cirelli, Professor of Psychiatry at the Faculty of Medicine and Public Health of this university, signs are produced in the brain that warn of the convenience of not carrying out activities that require a state of alert, even before that we feel tired, and this is because certain groups of neurons could be sleeping, which would negatively influence the ability of the individual to act.

In fact, Cirelli points out, it is known that when we are asleep we have a hard time maintaining attention and it is easier to make mistakes, and he adds that with EEGs his team has verified that you can have episodes of 'micro dream' while you are awake, and This is probably the cause of driving drowsiness.

To conduct the study, the researchers introduced probes into certain groups of brain neurons in rats and subsequently forced them to stay awake for long periods of time; the probes registered areas of 'local dream', although apparently the rats were awake and active.

Cirelli says that the EEG measurement of rats' brains showed that they were in the waking state, even at times when some neurons were disconnected, and adds that the animals began to make mistakes when the waking period was prolonged, which they could see why they put tasks like reaching a sugar ball with a leg, and dropped the balls or could not reach them, so some neurons could have been temporarily disabled.

The researchers monitored 20 neurons, of which 18 remained awake, while in the remaining two there were periods of 'brief naps' that alternated with periods of silence. In addition, they only evaluated motor activity, so they concluded that neurons affected by 'small naps' are found in the Cortex.

 

Source: EUROPE PRESS

The Mind After Midnight: Where Do You Go When You Go to Sleep? (November 2019).

Certains cellules nerveuses du cerveau d'une personne éveillée mais souffrant de manque de sommeil, peut être "en panne", dans un état similaire à celui du sommeil, pendant de courtes périodes, le reste du cerveau restant éveillé. Cela expliquerait de petites erreurs ou des oublis, tels que ne pas savoir où nous avons placé les clés, et cela a été découvert par des chercheurs de l'Université de Wisconsin-Madison, aux États-Unis, qui ont publié leurs découvertes dans la revue "Nature".

Vous pouvez avoir des épisodes de «micro sommeil» alors que vous êtes éveillé, ce qui est probablement la cause de la somnolence au volant

Comme l'a expliqué la D re Chiara Cirelli, professeure de psychiatrie à la faculté de médecine et de santé publique de cette université, des signes sont produits dans le cerveau, signalant qu'il est commode de ne pas effectuer d'activités qui nécessitent un état d'alerte, même avant. que nous nous sentons fatigués, car certains groupes de neurones pourraient dormir, ce qui aurait une influence négative sur la capacité de l’individu à agir.

En fait, fait remarquer Cirelli, il est connu que lorsque nous sommes endormis, nous avons du mal à retenir notre attention et qu'il est plus facile de faire des erreurs. Il ajoute qu'avec son EEG, son équipe a vérifié qu'il est possible de faire C'est probablement la cause de la somnolence au volant.

Pour mener cette étude, les chercheurs ont introduit des sondes dans certains groupes de neurones cérébraux chez le rat et les ont ensuite forcés à rester éveillés pendant de longues périodes; les sondes enregistrées zones de «rêve local», bien qu'apparemment les rats soient éveillés et actifs.

Cirelli explique que la mesure de l'EEG du cerveau des rats a montré qu'ils étaient à l'état de veille, même lorsque certains neurones étaient déconnectés, et ajoute que les animaux ont commencé à commettre des erreurs lorsque la période de réveil a été prolongée, ce qui a ils pouvaient voir pourquoi ils mettaient des tâches comme atteindre une boule de sucre avec une jambe et laissaient tomber les boules ou ne pouvaient pas les atteindre, de sorte que certains neurones auraient pu être temporairement désactivés.

Les chercheurs ont surveillé 20 neurones, dont 18 sont restés éveillés, tandis que dans les deux autres, il y a eu des périodes de «brèves siestes» alternant avec des périodes de silence. En outre, ils n’ont évalué que l’activité motrice et ont donc conclu que les neurones affectés par les «petites siestes» se retrouvent dans la Cortex.

 

Source: EUROPE PRESSE

Christian Duval : "TOUT, TOUT, TOUT VOUS SAUREZ TOUT SUR … L’AME HORS DU CORPS…." (Août 2019).