People who snore while they sleep are three times more likely to develop type 2 diabetes than non-snorers. Not only snorers, but all those who suffer from sleep-related breathing disorders -which include severe airway resistance syndrome, sleep apnea and snoring- are related to suffering from this pathology.

The relationship between both complications, according to a study published in the scientific journal 'Sleep Breath', is due to the fact that people who snore have pauses in their breathing while they sleep due to the relaxation of the musculature that narrows the respiratory tract, which it hinders the entry of oxygen into the lungs and, thereby, disrupts the metabolic chain of glucose.

The dentist and expert in sleep disorders Pedro Mayoral has warned that "snoring can be the cause in healthy people to generate diabetes and, in diabetics, can complicate their clinical manifestations." In addition, it has qualified that it is "a public health problem equivalent to tobacco that has not yet been given the importance it has" and that affects more men (60 percent) than women, although the percentage is equal to starting from menopause.

Correcting these disorders is not easy, but, according to Mayoral, mandibular advancement devices are "the best alternative, the simplest and the least expensive", as they gently advance the jaw, bringing the base of the tongue closer -causante of all these problems. In case of not working, Mayoral has pointed to CPAP system (Continuous positive air pressure, in its acronym in English), a mask that injects air under pressure that hyperblocks snoring and apnea. "It is tremendously effective but very uncomfortable," he said. Finally, he mentioned surgery although he considers that it must be studied "very thoroughly" because it is only indicated "in two or three percent and for patients with severe apneas".

Source: EP

Sleep Apnea (November 2019).

Les personnes qui ronflent pendant leur sommeil ont trois fois plus de risques de développer un diabète de type 2 que les non-ronfleurs. Non seulement les ronfleurs, mais tous ceux qui souffrent de troubles respiratoires liés au sommeil, notamment le syndrome de résistance sévère des voies respiratoires, l'apnée du sommeil et le ronflement, sont liés à cette pathologie.

La relation entre les deux complications, selon une étude publiée dans la revue scientifique "Sleep Breath", est due au fait que les personnes qui ronflent ont des pauses respiratoires pendant leur sommeil en raison du relâchement de la musculature qui rétrécit les voies respiratoires, il empêche l'entrée d'oxygène dans les poumons et perturbe ainsi la chaîne métabolique du glucose.

Le dentiste et spécialiste des troubles du sommeil, Pedro Mayoral, a averti que "le ronflement peut être la cause de diabète et que, chez le diabétique, il peut compliquer ses manifestations cliniques". En outre, il a estimé qu’il s’agissait «d’un problème de santé publique équivalent au tabac auquel on n’a pas encore accordé l’importance qu’il revêt» et qui touche plus d'hommes (60%) que de femmes, bien que le pourcentage soit égal à celui des femmes. à partir de la ménopause.

La correction de ces troubles n’est pas une mince affaire, mais, selon Mayoral, les dispositifs d’avancement mandibulaire sont "la meilleure alternative, la plus simple et le moins cher", car ils avancent doucement la mâchoire, rapprochant la base de la langue - causante de tous ces problèmes. En cas de non-travail, Mayoral a souligné Système CPAP (Pression atmosphérique positive continue, dans son acronyme en anglais), un masque qui injecte de l’air sous pression qui hyperbloque le ronflement et l’apnée. "C'est extrêmement efficace mais très inconfortable", a-t-il déclaré. Enfin, il a évoqué la chirurgie, bien qu’il estime qu’elle doit être étudiée "de manière approfondie" car elle n’est indiquée que "chez deux ou trois pour cent et chez les patients atteints d’apnées sévères".

Source: EP

427 NOUVELLES APPROCHES DIABÈTE OBÉSITÉ HYPERTENSION APNÉE DU SOMMEIL ARYTHMIE CARDIAQUE ARTHROSE (Août 2019).