The 'Revista Española de Cardiología', of the Spanish Society of Cardiology (SEC) has just published a Spanish research, carried out with more than 12,000 patients, whose results reveal that the habitual consumption of tobacco is one of the main causes of myocardial infarction in young people, since it multiplies by six the possibilities of suffering this disorder. In fact, as Dr. Eva Andrés, member of the Clinical Research and Epidemiology Unit of the University Hospital 12 de Octubre and one of the authors of the study, "about 75 percent of young patients who suffer a heart attack are smokers ".

"About 75 percent of young patients who have a heart attack are smokers"

In the study it was possible to see how in younger patients the cardiovascular risk profile was different from other patients who suffer from myocardial infarction. Thus, in the former, the risk factors are tobacco, present in 76.78% of cases, and dyslipidemia (excess fat in the blood), found in 50.21% of patients. While in the case of those over 46 years of age, the risk factors are more, but in a greater percentage: hypertension, in 47.72% of the patients; dyslipidemia, at 35.79 percent; the

 

Another relevant fact that the study shows is the high prevalence of premature infarction among men, since in Spain about 90 percent of myocardial infarctions that occur in people under 46 years of age occur in men. According to Dr. Andrés, this occurs because tobacco and dyslipidemia are much more prevalent in men, although, according to the doctor, "in the next few years the percentage will tend to be equalized between men and women, as these are increasingly more smokers ".

On the other hand, mortality due to an acute myocardial infarction in patients under 46 years of age is around 3 percent, but, according to this study, have a greater chance of reinfarction in the following eight years, around 13 percent. In this sense, Dr. Andrés points out that this group of patients "has a greater chance of surviving the infarction, although it usually reappears or eventually leads to chronic coronary disease."

Source: SEC / EUROPA PRESS

Is vaping bad for your health? (10 SHOCKING FACTS about VAPING!) (November 2019).

La «Revista Española de Cardiología» de la Société espagnole de cardiologie (SEC) vient de publier une étude espagnole réalisée auprès de plus de 12 000 patients. Ses résultats révèlent que la consommation habituelle de tabac est l'une des principales causes d'infarctus du myocarde. chez les jeunes, puisqu'il multiplie par six les possibilités de souffrir de ce trouble. En effet, comme la D re Eva Andrés, membre de l'unité de recherche clinique et d'épidémiologie de l'hôpital universitaire 12 de Octubre et l'un des auteurs de l'étude, "environ 75% des jeunes patients victimes d'une crise cardiaque sont fumeurs ".

"Environ 75% des jeunes patients victimes d'une crise cardiaque sont des fumeurs"

Dans l'étude, il a été possible de voir en quoi le profil de risque cardiovasculaire était différent chez les patients plus jeunes des autres patients atteints d'infarctus du myocarde. Ainsi, dans le premier cas, les facteurs de risque sont le tabac, présent dans 76,78% des cas, et la dyslipidémie (excès de graisse dans le sang), retrouvés chez 50,21% des patients. Dans le cas des personnes de plus de 46 ans, les facteurs de risque sont plus nombreux, mais dans un pourcentage plus élevé: hypertension artérielle, chez 47,72% des patients; dyslipidémie, à 35,79%; le

 

L’étude montre également que la prévalence de l’infarctus précoce chez les hommes est élevée, puisqu’en Espagne, environ 90% des infarctus du myocarde chez les moins de 46 ans surviennent chez les hommes. Selon le Dr Andrés, cela est dû au fait que le tabac et la dyslipidémie sont beaucoup plus répandus chez les hommes, bien que, selon le médecin, "dans les prochaines années, le pourcentage tendra à être égal à celui des hommes et des femmes plus de fumeurs ".

En revanche, la mortalité par infarctus aigu du myocarde chez les patients de moins de 46 ans avoisine 3%, mais selon cette étude, avoir une plus grande chance de réinfarction dans les huit années suivantes, environ 13 pour cent. En ce sens, le Dr Andrés souligne que ce groupe de patients "a plus de chances de survivre à l'infarctus, bien qu'il réapparaisse généralement ou conduise finalement à une maladie coronarienne chronique".

Source: SEC / EUROPA PRESS

Le Tabac les principaux facteurs de risques cardiovasculaires (Août 2019).