The University of Navarra, with the collaboration of the Carlos III Health Institute, has conducted a study over more than four years, in which 7,500 people have participated, to assess the relationship between smoking and overweight. , two important cardiovascular risk factors.

The data obtained in the research, which have been published in the Spanish Journal of Cardiology, reveal that people who stopped smoking during the study gained weight: more than a kilo and a half in the case of men, and around a kilo women. However, the group of smokers also recorded a greater weight gain compared to those who had never smoked: approximately 1 kilo and a half for men and 0.36 kilos for women.

The director of this research, Dr. Miguel Ángel Martínez-González, Professor of Preventive Medicine at the University of Navarra, explains that smokers who get fat may have less willpower when it comes to avoiding attitudes and habits harmful to their health.

The fact that the study members who continued smoking will also gain weight, has surprised this specialist a lot. However, he considers that the fact that smokers who abandoned the habit gain weight, is an acceptable drawback in front of the damages that tobacco implies.

It is proven that smoking harms health, and tobacco is associated with numerous pathologies and is considered one of the main risk factors for developing cardiovascular diseases, especially because it predisposes to arteriosclerosis and facilitates the coagulation of blood, which favors the formation of thrombi that clog the arteries.

Symptoms associated with quitting smoking

When quitting smoking, a series of symptoms associated with a lack of nicotine are manifested, due to the fact that it is a drug that generates addiction and, when addicts to this substance are deprived of the usual dose, suffer anxiety, irritability, disorders digestive, dry mouth, general nervousness, and greater desire to eat and drink than usual, among other symptoms, which usually decrease in intensity as the weeks pass.

The benefits obtained by quitting tobacco are far superior to these discomforts, which are also temporary. From the beginning, the patient will feel a generalized improvement of his physical state that translates into:

  • They refer to the daily annoyances associated with tobacco, such as cough, dark expectoration in the morning, stomach upsets, fatigue ...
  • Breathe better
  • Regain the sense of taste and smell.
  • Signs of aging slow down
  • Improves the control of blood pressure.
  • Progressively decreases the risk of suffering from conditions caused by tobacco. Thus, one year after quitting, the risk of suffering a myocardial infarction or cerebral thrombosis is reduced by half.

Top 3 Best Fish vs. Worst Fish to Eat: Thomas DeLauer (November 2019).

L’Université de Navarre, en collaboration avec l’Institut de la santé Carlos III, a mené une étude de plus de quatre ans à laquelle ont participé 7 500 personnes afin d’évaluer la relation entre le tabagisme et le surpoids. , deux facteurs de risque cardiovasculaires importants.

Les données obtenues dans la recherche, publiées dans le Journal espagnol de cardiologie, révèlent que les personnes qui ont cessé de fumer pendant l'étude ont pris du poids: plus d'un kilo et demi chez les hommes et environ kilo de femmes. Cependant, le groupe de fumeurs a également enregistré un gain de poids plus important par rapport à ceux qui n’avaient jamais fumé: environ 1 kilo et demi pour les hommes et 0,36 kg pour les femmes.

Le directeur de cette recherche, le Dr Miguel Ángel Martínez-González, professeur de médecine préventive à l'Université de Navarre, explique que les fumeurs grossissant peuvent avoir moins de volonté pour éviter les attitudes et les habitudes néfastes pour leur santé.

Le fait que les membres de l'étude qui ont continué à fumer prennent également du poids a beaucoup surpris ce spécialiste. Cependant, il considère que le fait que les fumeurs qui ont abandonné cette habitude prennent du poids constitue un inconvénient acceptable face aux dommages que le tabac implique.

Il est prouvé que fumer nuit à la santé et que le tabac est associé à de nombreuses pathologies et qu’il est considéré comme l’un des principaux facteurs de risque de développement de maladies cardiovasculaires, notamment parce qu’il prédispose à l’artériosclérose et facilite la coagulation du sang, ce qui favorise la formation de thrombi qui obstruent les artères.

Symptômes associés à l'abandon du tabac

En cessant de fumer, une série de symptômes associés à un manque de nicotine se manifeste, en raison du fait qu'il s'agit d'une drogue générant une dépendance et, lorsque les toxicomanes de cette substance sont privés de la dose habituelle, souffrent d'anxiété, d'irritabilité, de troubles digestif, bouche sèche, nervosité générale et plus grand désir de manger et de boire que d’habitude, entre autres symptômes, dont l’intensité diminue habituellement au fil des semaines.

Les avantages obtenus en arrêtant le tabac sont de loin supérieurs à ces désagréments, qui sont également temporaires. Dès le début, le patient ressentira une amélioration généralisée de son état physique qui se traduira par:

  • Ils font référence aux désagréments quotidiens associés au tabac, tels que toux, expectoration sombre le matin, maux d'estomac, fatigue ...
  • Respirez mieux
  • Retrouver le sens du goût et de l'odorat.
  • Les signes du vieillissement ralentissent
  • Améliore le contrôle de la pression artérielle.
  • Diminue progressivement le risque de souffrir de maladies causées par le tabac. Ainsi, un an après avoir cessé de fumer, le risque de subir un infarctus du myocarde ou une thrombose cérébrale est réduit de moitié.

Envoyé spécial. Jambon de Parme, une vie de cochon ! - 4 octobre 2018 (France 2) (Août 2019).