It was already known that smoking during pregnancy was counterproductive to the developing fetus, but a new study now provides data on the influence that exposure to tobacco in the womb can have on the fertility of the baby when it reaches adulthood.

The work - 'The impact of cigarettes smoking on the health of descendants'-, which has been published in' Expert Review of Obstetrics & Gynecology ', reveals that when a woman smokes more than ten cigarettes a day during pregnancy, her baby can reach to have fertility problems in the future, since the smoking of the mother causes the concentration of sperm to decrease between 20 and 48% in the case of a male, and the oocyte reserve is limited in the case of girls.

If the pregnant woman smokes, the baby's sperm concentration, if it is male, can decrease between 20 and 48%. If you are a girl, your reserve of oocytes can be reduced

The study refers to the effects of parental smoking on the health of their descendants in the last 20 years, and shows that exposure of the fetus to tobacco is related to a high incidence of malformations and other disorders such as obesity , alterations in behavior, or hyperactivity.

Smoking is contraindicated throughout the pregnancy, but during the second and third trimesters it can be especially dangerous for the fetus because it is when its neuronal development occurs. Thus, in studies that evaluated 10-year-old children whose mothers had smoked during this stage of gestation, it was observed that the children showed a lack of attention and irritability, and that their response to auditory stimuli was reduced. They also had a delay in language acquisition if compared to children of the same age who had not been exposed to tobacco before birth.

For all these reasons, Dr. José Bellver, gynecologist at the IVI Valencia clinic, explains that both women who are already pregnant and couples who want to have a child should refrain from smoking and avoid passive exposure to nicotine. It has been shown that smoking implies a risk to the health of the descendants, both in the short and long term.

Source: IVI clinic

Pregnancy Tips : How to Help Pregnant Women Quit Smoking (November 2019).

On savait déjà que fumer pendant la grossesse était contre-productif pour le fœtus en développement, mais une nouvelle étude fournit maintenant des données sur l’influence que l’exposition au tabac dans l’utérus peut avoir sur la fertilité du bébé à l’âge adulte.

L'ouvrage intitulé "L'impact de la cigarette sur la santé des descendants", publié dans "Expert Review of Obstetrics & Gynecology", révèle que lorsqu'une femme fume plus de dix cigarettes par jour pendant sa grossesse, son bébé peut atteindre avoir des problèmes de fertilité à l’avenir, car le fait de fumer chez la mère entraîne une diminution de la concentration de spermatozoïdes de 20 à 48% chez l’homme et la réserve d’ovocytes est limitée dans l’espèce. cas des filles.

Si la femme enceinte fume, la concentration en spermatozoïdes du bébé, s'il s'agit d'un homme, peut diminuer entre 20 et 48%. Si vous êtes une fille, votre réserve d'ovocytes peut être réduite

L'étude fait référence aux effets du tabagisme des parents sur la santé de leurs descendants au cours des 20 dernières années et montre que l'exposition du fœtus au tabac est liée à une incidence élevée de malformations et d'autres troubles tels que l'obésité. , altération du comportement, ou hyperactivité.

Le tabagisme est contre-indiqué pendant toute la grossesse, mais pendant les deuxième et troisième trimestres, il peut être particulièrement dangereux pour le fœtus car il se produit lorsque son développement neuronal se produit. Ainsi, dans des études évaluant des enfants de 10 ans dont la mère avait fumé au cours de cette phase de la gestation, il a été observé que les enfants manifestaient un manque d'attention et d'irritabilité et que leur réponse aux stimuli auditifs était réduite. L'acquisition du langage était également retardée par rapport aux enfants du même âge qui n'avaient pas été exposés au tabac avant la naissance.

Pour toutes ces raisons, le Dr José Bellver, gynécologue à la clinique IVI de Valence, explique que les femmes déjà enceintes et les couples souhaitant avoir un enfant devraient s'abstenir de fumer et éviter une exposition passive à la nicotine. Il a été démontré que le tabagisme implique un risque pour la santé des descendants, à court et à long terme.

Source: Clinique IVI

Les graves dangers de la cigarette sur la fertilité! (Août 2019).