New research on the harmful consequences for health that implies the consumption of tobacco has revealed that, at least in the case of men, smoking accelerates the cognitive impairment, and that this early aging of the brain manifests itself from 45 years of age.

The study that has reached this conclusion, published in Archives of General Psychiatry, has been carried out in the United Kingdom with the participation of 5,099 men and 2,137 women, who had an average age of 56 years at the beginning of the study, and who were evaluated over 25 years. Severine Sabia, from the University College of London and principal author of the work, explains that the results show that male smokers present, with only 50 years, the same deterioration of cognitive ability that is observed in a male of 60 years who has never smoked.

The executive function of the brain, which includes complex operations such as programming and organizing tasks or determining the behavior to be followed in a given situation, is the most affected by brain aging

The women, however, did not show any appreciable cognitive deterioration, although the researchers believe that this could be because they consumed a smaller amount of tobacco, or because the number of men who participated in the study was much higher.

The executive function of the brain, which includes various complex operations such as scheduling and organizing tasks, drawing up action plans and determining the behavior to be followed in a given situation, is the one that is most affected by brain aging, according to the researchers.

As in the case of other pathologies directly related to tobacco, quitting smoking in time can significantly reduce the risk of damage to the brain. However, the results of the research showed that men who had quit smoking ten years before the first control were still more likely to develop early cognitive impairment, a risk that only disappeared in those who had not smoked for many years.

High Blood Pressure | Hypertension | Nucleus Health (November 2019).

Nouvelle recherche sur les conséquences néfastes pour la santé impliquant la consommation de tabac a révélé que, du moins chez les hommes, le tabagisme accélère la déficience cognitiveet que ce vieillissement précoce du cerveau se manifeste à partir de 45 ans.

L’étude qui a abouti à cette conclusion, publiée dans Archives de psychiatrie générale, a été réalisée au Royaume-Uni avec la participation de 5 099 hommes et 2 137 femmes, âgés en moyenne de 56 ans au début de l'étude et évalués sur une période de 25 ans. Séverine Sabia, du Collège universitaire de Londres et auteur principal de l'ouvrage, explique que les résultats montrent que les fumeurs masculins présentent, avec seulement 50 ans, la même détérioration de la capacité cognitive que celle observée chez un homme de 60 ans n'ayant jamais fumé.

La fonction exécutive du cerveau, qui comprend des opérations complexes telles que la programmation et l'organisation de tâches ou la détermination du comportement à suivre dans une situation donnée, est la plus touchée par le vieillissement du cerveau.

Les femmes, cependant, n'ont montré aucune détérioration cognitive appréciable, bien que les chercheurs pensent que cela pourrait être dû au fait qu'elles consomment une quantité de tabac inférieure, ou encore parce que le nombre d'hommes ayant participé à l'étude était beaucoup plus élevé.

Selon les chercheurs, la fonction exécutive du cerveau, qui comprend diverses opérations complexes telles que la planification et l'organisation de tâches, l'établissement de plans d'action et la détermination du comportement à suivre dans une situation donnée, est la plus affectée par le vieillissement du cerveau.

Comme dans le cas d'autres pathologies directement liées au tabac, cesser de fumer à temps peut réduire considérablement le risque de lésions cérébrales. Cependant, les résultats de la recherche ont montré que les hommes qui avaient cessé de fumer dix ans avant le premier contrôle étaient encore plus susceptibles de développer une déficience cognitive précoce, un risque qui n’a disparu que chez ceux qui n’avaient pas fumé pendant de nombreuses années.

7 CONSEILS POUR REPRENDRE LE SPORT SANS SE FAIRE MAL (Août 2019).