A study carried out by researchers from the August Pi i Sunyer Biomedical Research Institute, the Hospital Clínic of Barcelona and the University of Barcelona, ​​which has just been presented at the international congress of the 'American Thoracic Society', held in San Francisco (United States) ), has revealed that people who suffer from sleep apnea are 8.6 times more likely to die as a result of cancer than the rest of the population.

Sleep apnea - which affects around 5% of the population - had already been linked in other previous studies with an increased risk of developing cardiovascular disorders, or metabolic or neurocognitive diseases, and according to the data obtained by scientists in this new research, apnea also predisposes to develop cancer, and worsens the prognosis of this disease.

A new study reveals that people who suffer from sleep apnea are 8.6 times more likely to die as a result of cancer than the rest of the population

The authors of the study, in which the University of Wisconsin (USA) and the Spanish Society of Pulmonology and Thoracic Surgery (SEPAR) collaborated, found in an assay with laboratory mice that when subjected to intermittent hypoxia (deficit of oxygen in the blood) to animals that had melanoma (the most aggressive type of skin cancer), tumor it developed twice as fast as usual, and the tissues also suffered a greater deterioration.

Transferring this model to 1,500 patients, who had been controlled by the University of Wisconsin for 22 years, the researchers observed that patients suffering from severe apneas - which produced more than 30 respiratory interruptions every hour - had a shorter life expectancy , and consider these results very reliable.

Sleep apnea is an increasingly prevalent disease due, above all, to the increase in overweight and obesity, which are risk factors for the onset of this disorder. In addition, many of the people who suffer from apnea are not diagnosed, and only a minority of those who are apnea-approximately 30% of patients with severe apnea-are undergoing some treatment.

Sleep Apnea Increased Cancer Risk (November 2019).

Une étude réalisée par des chercheurs de l'Institut de recherche biomédical Pi i Sunyer d'août, de l'hôpital Clinic de Barcelone et de l'Université de Barcelone, qui vient d'être présentée au congrès international de la «American Thoracic Society», tenue à San Francisco (États-Unis) ), a révélé que les personnes souffrant d'apnée du sommeil ont 8,6 fois plus de risques de mourir du cancer que le reste de la population.

L'apnée du sommeil - qui touche environ 5% de la population - avait déjà été associée dans d'autres études antérieures à un risque accru de développer des troubles cardiovasculaires, ou des maladies métaboliques ou neurocognitives, et selon les données obtenues par les scientifiques de ce nouveau recherche, l'apnée prédispose également à développer un cancer et aggrave le pronostic de cette maladie.

Une nouvelle étude révèle que les personnes souffrant d'apnée du sommeil ont 8,6 fois plus de risques de mourir du cancer que le reste de la population

Les auteurs de l’étude, à laquelle ont collaboré l’Université du Wisconsin (États-Unis) et la Société espagnole de pneumologie et de chirurgie thoracique (SEPAR), ont découvert lors d’un essai avec des souris de laboratoire que lorsqu’elles étaient soumises à une hypoxie intermittente (déficit d'oxygène dans le sang) à des animaux atteints d'un mélanome (le type de cancer de la peau le plus agressif), tumeur il s'est développé deux fois plus vite que d'habitude et les tissus ont également subi une plus grande détérioration.

Transférant ce modèle à 1 500 patients, contrôlés par l'Université du Wisconsin depuis 22 ans, les chercheurs ont observé que les patients souffrant d'apnées graves - qui produisaient plus de 30 interruptions respiratoires par heure - avaient une espérance de vie plus courte. et considèrent ces résultats comme très fiables.

L'apnée du sommeil est une maladie de plus en plus répandue, due avant tout à l'augmentation du surpoids et de l'obésité, facteurs de risque pour l'apparition de cette maladie. En outre, de nombreuses personnes souffrant d'apnée ne sont pas diagnostiquées et seule une minorité d'apnées - environ 30% des patients souffrant d'apnée sévère - suivent actuellement un traitement.

[Atout Santé #7] Les risques liés à l'obésité (Août 2019).